New AMD drivers enable Smart Access Memory on Radeon RX 5000

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 14, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,885
    Likes Received:
    9,930
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    DeskStar likes this.
  2. AlmondMan

    AlmondMan Master Guru

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    179
    GPU:
    5700 XT Red Devil
    I guess the whole "fine wine" meme continues on. Looking forward to trying this out. Hopefully I won't need any VGA BIOS updates.
     
    doorspaulo and Cryio like this.
  3. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,795
    Likes Received:
    444
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    It's nice that you can enable it from driver level now , not from BIOS :)
     
  4. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,570
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    Considering I can't buy a new video card without paying scalper prices in the current situation, likely to continue into the foreseeable future, I'll just keep waiting for AMD to enable smart access memory for my museum card.
     

  5. AlmondMan

    AlmondMan Master Guru

    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    179
    GPU:
    5700 XT Red Devil
    You still have to enable it in BIOS? If you had a 5000 series card before, you could enable it, but gain no benefit. Don't see a note in the drivers saying they enabled enabling a BIOS level feature through this.
     
  6. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,795
    Likes Received:
    444
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    After last update i have option in drivers to enable or disable smart memory .
    Not sure what happens if its disabled in BIOS .
    Anyway it's good that you can now clearly see its ON or OFF.
     
  7. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    2,758
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT/ MAC M1
    It has to be enabled in BIOS for it to appear and work in Windows.
     
  8. Pinstripe

    Pinstripe Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 Super
    Okay and now why can't Nvidia do the same with Turing cards? That VBIOS requirement just seems a bogus to me, since RX 5000 doesn't need it either.
     
    Volteron likes this.
  9. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    424
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    On the patch note of this driver they said it work ONLY with chipset serie 500...
    I confirm that it work with B450 (and so X470 i think) the same way with Zen3 CPU.
     
    kanenas and Embra like this.
  10. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    Yea it's embarrassing for Nvidia, this should of been done for us to, I guess that's what you get for paying premium.
     

  11. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    424
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    You have to disable CSM on some board (B450 for me), in CPU you should found something "above 4G decoding" enable it, and then found something like "enable Resizable BAR" (the real name of it) and enable it too, save the change and enjoy.
     
  12. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    2,758
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT/ MAC M1
    Because that's Nvidia for you - everything they will do is to limit the user down to only their ecosystem and then further segment it. They always want to create an obstacle for their own use that will force them to upgrade to newer hardware.

    AMD (at least for now) doesn't do that, hence why they will get my money for the next generation.
     
  13. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    842
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Too bad nVidia has already abandoned Turing...
     
    DanielRX likes this.
  14. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,570
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    They are possibly re-releasing 2060 as a brand new card (with more memory). That's the opposite of abandoning it.
     
  15. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    842
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    We are talking about ReBar support.
     

  16. Krizby

    Krizby Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    3090 Watercooled
    TBH the only thing re-bar did for my 3090 is having constant crashing in WD Legion :p, had to disable it with NV inspector. The only games that have some performance improvement are AMD sponsored games, so yeah, what is the point? I would rather have Nvidia reserving software engineers to expand DLSS game library

    rebar.png
     
  17. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    842
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    The point is having a performance increase. Especially at a time when it's almost impossible to buy a GPU at decent prices.
    I don't care about Death Stranding, FC New Dawn and Watch Dogs Legions.
    But a performance increase, even if small, would be welcome in HZD, CP2077 and Borderlands 3.
    So it would be a net positive for me.
     
  18. Cryio

    Cryio Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    AMD RX 5700 XT
    Tested HZD with driver 21.8.2 (ReBar not officially supported, but enabled in BIOS anyway) and 21.9.1 (Rebar now officially supported in driver) on my 5700 XT.

    Close to zero differences. Same average. Max FPS some 14 fps higher (130 vs 144 I believe? with my tested settings), min FPS increased from 2 fps to 42.

    Meh overall.
     
  19. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    842
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    WTF. You just got a huge increase in minimum frame rate, but you say it's the same.
    That's the most important metric for smooth gameplay.
     
    Keitosha, insp1re2600 and kanenas like this.
  20. Krizby

    Krizby Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    3090 Watercooled
    Nvidia has whitelisted a total of 19 games in the driver, outside of those 19 games you might experience negative scaling with Re-Bar enabled in the BIOS, even some whitelisted games have negative scaling like WD Legion and Hitman3
    I think Nvidia just ditched the whole Re-bar overall, the whitelist games grew 2 titles in the past 5 months (from 17 to 19 games)
     

Share This Page