New AMD Agesa Combo V2 1.0.8.1 update potentially improves latencies between CPU cores

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 14, 2020.

  1. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    How safe is it to flash in Windows? I've heard mixed opinions.
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,699
    Likes Received:
    2,576
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i don't think theres much safety difference these days. a freeze or power outage would brick it either way.
     
  3. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce 1060 6gb
    i flashed from @Bios gigabyte yesterday no problem . i don't think it is much risk these days also.
     
  4. magiQx

    magiQx Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    vega 64
    i never load from previous settings. always do the settings manually after each update and a bios reset after the update which got tiresome in the last days. i will try your suggestion for ram OC. Thanks.
     

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Worth checking out, thanks!
     
  6. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,197
    Likes Received:
    593
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    I've been on AGESA 1.0.8.0 for a while now with zero issues.

    I did have a problem when updating using Asus EZ flash, the update would fail before it started. I was trying to update from 3 versions old so I tried updating to an old BIOS but newer than the one I had. And that would just stick on reading file......

    This is the first time I had to use USB flashback. Nothing broke, everything was still functional but it simply would not update through EZ Flash. But through USB Flashback it flashed to the latest BIOS within a minute or two.

    I set my XMP 3600MHz CL16, enabled preferred cores, global and df cstates, enabled pbo set manual power limits of 300/230/230/4X, and then enabled 1usmus Universal Power Plan. Everything is perfectly fine and with these setting I get higher boosts during gaming and more stable boosts during all core loads.

    EDIT:

    I ran the test 4 times to get a better overall result.

    TEST1: 54.4ns
    TEST2: 54.7ns
    TEST3: 54.2ns
    TEST4: 53.9ns

    Using AGESA 1.0.8.0 latest for Crosshair VIII Hero on a 3900X, 3600MHz CL16 RAM.

    Seems that this new AGESA could be a winner, I am getting better results than 1.0.6.0 but this new 8.1 seems better still. Hoping for a new BIOS soon. Gonna see if a beta has been released on the ASUS forums.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
    Embra and Fediuld like this.
  7. GSDragoon

    GSDragoon Master Guru

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon VII
    If resetting the bios to default doesn't load the new cvars, then what does?
     
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,699
    Likes Received:
    2,576
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    No bios to my knowledge has an option to wipe the cmos table that stores all variables, just the load optimal or load safe default settings.

    These do not purge the nvram, they write known good values to the fields that they know exist, do nothing for the ones they don't know.

    the jumper to clear cmos wipes the data.
     
    GSDragoon likes this.
  9. Fediuld

    Fediuld Master Guru

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT AE
    Also don't forget the X570 Taichi second and third CAS are the other way around on the DRAM Calculator :)
     
    magiQx likes this.
  10. geogan

    geogan Master Guru

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    117
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Yeah.

    I finally updated using ASUS BIOS from 2010 version to this 2206 version and then redid my memory settings using DRAM-Calculator-for-Ryzen-1.7.3

    For last few months I was just running memory at base default of 2400MHz since some previous crash reset the BIOS

    Got stable now at 3400CL14 as first try. Probably will go higher but haven't bothered trying yet.

    Previously would not go higher than 3466CL14 without being unstable. Could never get the optimum 3600Mhz which the 3900X should be able to get to.
     

  11. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce 1060 6gb
    how did you go that low with memmory latency ? I'm best at 63ns ....
    TEAMGROUP 2x8GB
    4000MHz CL18 1.35V
    TF2D416G4000HC18EDC01. Samsung B-die
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    What timings? Tighten them.

    I'm still on 1.0.0.2 as the thought of setting up my BIOS again frustrates me. I should do some benchmarks and see if there's any improvements with my system with the latest one. If I don't report back, it probably means my memory OC is no longer stable...
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
    GSDragoon likes this.
  13. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce 1060 6gb
    only basic timings changed . geard down mode on.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    3800MHz? Get that to 4000 or higher. They should hit 4200/4400 I'm sure. B-die want more volts. Otherwise I would try get CL14 3600/3800.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
  15. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce 1060 6gb
    its 1.41v now . going above 3800 is mistake on this cpu ? max inf fabric is 1900 ?
     

  16. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Which CPU/board mate?
     
  17. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,197
    Likes Received:
    593
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    I have TEAMGROUP 2X8GB 3600MHz CL16 1.35V kit

    Don't go above 3600MHz (3800MHz max) as performance can be worse if you go above this on AMD platform. Going higher speed would also require looser timings to reach, lower speeds with lower timings within the AMD spec is recommended.
     
    Undying likes this.
  18. ManofGod

    ManofGod Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
    You could be right but, I prefer to reset my bios and then use the bios flash utility to take care of it. I also have a UPS on my machines to prevent power issues well flashing.
     
  19. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce 1060 6gb
    3300x + GB b550 elite
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,699
    Likes Received:
    2,576
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    amazing, someone who CHOOSES to have an unstable platform because of laziness.
     

Share This Page