(Need Help) 1080 Ti Black Screen after Installing Driver

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by kimdonghwan, Aug 17, 2020.

  1. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    Core i9-9900 / RAM 8GB / 1080 Ti / Gigabyte B365M Aorus Elite (Latest BIOS) / PSU Corsair TX-850M

    My 1080 Ti went blank after installing any driver..but the Windows is still there..it still can shutdown by pressing Power Button..

    Things i have done:

    1. Fresh Install Win10 2004
    2. Fresh Install Win10 1909
    3. Fresh Install Win10 1903
    4. Fresh Install Win10 1903 then update to 1909
    5. Tried many versions of Nvidia Drivers (newest to 39x)
    6. Tried Studio Drivers, GameReady Drivers, WHQL, Non WHQL, and Microsoft's one
    7. Using DDU to clean NVIDIA everytime it fails
    8. Disconnect Internet to prevent Microsoft Updates (disconnect cable, disable the device)
    9. Using GPEdit to exclude Drivers from Microsoft Updates, using Regedit too
    10. Install Nvidia drivers RightAfter Win10 Installation is finished
    11. Install Nvidia drivers after installed Mainboard drivers
    12. Googling & Read many posts from several forums for two weeks
    13. Tried different HDMI cable, tried DVI too
    14. Tried different Monitor (19"and 24")

    It can run in Win7 June 2016 update..but Win7 Jan 2020 update had same problem..i didnt want to use Win7..for testing purpose only..

    Is there anything i can do? My GPU is still fine..i borrowed another one from my friend..same problem..

    Any help and suggestions will be much appreciated..Thanks
     
  2. Dark360

    Dark360 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    What make/model was the graphics card you borrowed?

    Can you post your DDU logs?
     
  3. oli3

    oli3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC
    I'm afraid to be the bearer of bad news but it may mean cards gone bad.

    Does it work without a driver installed? So uninstall nvidia driver and reboot into Windows does it work, have picture, then (as basic display driver)? and then if you install nvidia driver its black screen?

    I had this exact case happen to me on an EVGA 1080 and had to RMA a couple of years ago.
     
  4. Dark360

    Dark360 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    If the Op can get it to display using the Microsoft Basic Driver, then he may be able to re-flash the BIOS. May be worth a try, otherwise you are correct.
     

  5. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    Yes it works fine with Microsoft Basic Adapter no problem with 1920x1080..
    Unfortunately the DDU logs folder is empty..
    When it runs with 1080 Ti, Windows also detect Intel UHD 630 in Device Manager..
    But when using Intel UHD 630, the 1080 ti is not there..

    i flashed the ROM with NVFlash64 which i downloaded from t***pow*rup website..before the flash, i saw it was 100% the same..the build, the version, the release date..everything is the same..
    but i did save to a backup file, and flash it..
    and the problem persists..

    but as i mentioned earlier, Windows 7 June 2016 update (cracked ISO) works fine..

    Anyway thanks for the replies
     
  6. Dark360

    Dark360 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    You mention that the Intel UHD 630 is visible in Device Manager, have you tried disabling the Internal Graphics under Chipset in the BIOS?

    Where are you getting your ISO's for Windows 10?
     
  7. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    @Dark360

    FYI, i flashed it later when i have tried every solution i read..i did uncheck the save log files..thats why the logs folder is empty..my bad..
    but i borrowed another 1080 Ti from my friend, same problem..i thought it was my monitor, so far i tried two only (19" and 24")..
    i even set the BIOS MaxLink speed to Gen1, Gen2, Gen3, Auto..Disable and Enable Above 4G Decoding..i tried everything..

    Months ago i'm still using it on my Mining Rig (4x 1080 Ti..2x 1070 Ti, 1x 1070) with Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (June 2016) cracked ISO
    i sold all everything except this one..out of curiosity, i installed Win7 (June 2016) again, it works fine..

    i even tried Windows 10 LIVE ISO using USB Flashdisk, it works fine..if it doesnt work i wont post a thread..

    Thanks for the reply
     
  8. Dark360

    Dark360 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    @kimdonghwan Do you have access to any cards without external power requirements?
     
  9. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    it is set to Auto..okay i will try to Disable it..

    i download the ISO using MediaCreationTool..i have previous 1903 and 1909 ISO, i have around 60 TB HDD..i love to collect things..
    i bought the activation key..it is 100% legally activated, the digital key is now stored in my email..
     
  10. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    no i dont have any card remain, this is the only one..Inno3D X4 iChiLL 1080 Ti..
     

  11. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    @Dark360

    Did you suggest me to Disable the Onboard Graphic? after Clean and Restart with DDU? should i Clean the Intel Driver also?
     
  12. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    Oh and one thing i didnt mention earlier:

    Everytime after installed Nvidia Driver, the screen went black, and all of the GPU fans are spinning (3 big fans, 1 mini fan)..
    The Windows is still there (no hang, no freeze)..
     
  13. Smiley_ie

    Smiley_ie Master Guru

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    INNO3D RTX3090 X3
    Does it work in the 2nd PCI express slot.
     
  14. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    SS1.png

    i disabled the Intel UHD 630..Now working fine with Microsoft Basic Adapter
     
  15. Dark360

    Dark360 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    I would clean the Intel Driver and NVIDIA driver at the same time using DDU.
     

  16. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
  17. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    Unfortunately my case is way too small and there are fans at the bottom, so i haven't tried the 2nd slot..
    thanks for the suggestion..maybe one day i will try it..

    -----------------------

    Thank you guys for the replies, i will wait for Microsoft next update, i gave up now.. :p
     
  18. oli3

    oli3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC
    Don't hold your breath for MS update to fix your issue. One more suggestion is to reach out to Inno3D customer support to see what they say about this problem as it is their card after all.
     
  19. johnny_walker

    johnny_walker Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 570 8GB
    Did you try with another cable? I had a similar problem with an AMD card ( black screen after the drivers are installed ) - replacing the HDMI cable fixed the issue. Worth a try i guess.
     
  20. kimdonghwan

    kimdonghwan Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    iChiLL X4 1080 Ti
    Thanks i did already, no reply so far... :)

    Yes, i did change the HDMI cable, i even tried the DVI port..as i mentioned at the 1st post..Thanks btw :)
     

Share This Page