Need For Speed SHIFT 2 Unleashed

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Xzibit, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. ThatDelirium

    ThatDelirium Master Guru

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD5850 1GB
    Not sure what to think, on one hand the handling looks bad, on the other hand, it could just be that the guy is bad, but it really looks like... well, not sure how to describe it, it looks like the car is too heavy?

    I don't particularly care about it being a hardcore sim or not, hell, I wouldn't be able to use a racing wheel, but I'd like if the cars actually handled/felt right.

    That was kind of my beef with Grid, Grid is cool but the handling with all the assists off is ridiculous.
     
  2. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
  3. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
  4. KodY

    KodY Master Guru

    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 280X Vapor-X
    thats pretty cool. He should have turned the best line off for the ultimate challenge
    night races definitely look challenging

    Controls look a bit arcady though. Can you tune the game to be a bit more realistic or is it set in stone?
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011

  5. ThatDelirium

    ThatDelirium Master Guru

    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD5850 1GB
    X-speed69 said you had 5 different settings for handling and that you could also adjust vibration strenght, steering, throttle, deadzone, sensitivity, etc.

    So maybe it would be possible.
     
  6. brlunchkfast

    brlunchkfast Banned

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS ATI 5770 1GB
    That video... made me hate life.
     
  7. Nbz

    Nbz Master Guru

    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD6850 1000/1150
    Game seems to have the same slipping and sliding problem as the first Shift...
     
  8. serbicu

    serbicu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    418
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
  9. FaM

    FaM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 2GB GTX 560
    if its arcade youre looking for youve found it

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNXWPQCdmGg

    pure utter crap physics..not even pretending to be a front wheel drive car going in hard in a corner...im just...let down...honestly thought this might be more realistic...here's to hoping this is on idiot mode and not realistic at all.
     
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    lol what did you expect, its NFS..


    Like i said Grid is 10x better and Shift tries to be Grid so hard but it fails in every aspect, especially car handling is a joke - hoover tanks xD




    Btw what physics engine are they using, still physx lol?
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011

  11. seero

    seero Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 660Ti DirectCU II TOP
    what can i say car handling is total garbage :bang:
     
  12. NoviceRei

    NoviceRei Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D 460 825/1079/1650
    well.. test it out with on the demo first, if you know what i mean. :D
     
  13. Mr.Bigtime

    Mr.Bigtime Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,794
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080TI
    abit arcade never hurts the game for me.. but not like TDU 2 pls..ffs i paid full price to that game and dont play it anyway after the day 1..ffs.
     
  14. Liniuxs

    Liniuxs Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD5770
    My small comparison with shift 1, on both settings is max.
    Shift 1
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Shift 2
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  15. x-speed69

    x-speed69 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti Lightning
    umm lol wtf is this? Trees look worse in shift2 and spectators are removed...
     

  16. CDMC

    CDMC Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX560 2GB
    :bang: no multi gpu support...
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  17. Liniuxs

    Liniuxs Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD5770
    Yep dude, shift 2 graphics on some parts really dissapointing(thanks to consoles) and even with high AA, still missing on cars. But overall game really good.

    You can find in My documents graphicsconfig.xml file, all settings you can find in it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  18. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,500
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    There are various settings CDMC, here's a image some Russian took.
    http://www.shareimage.ro/viewer.php?file=kcm2z9bjp70ml9l9uh89.jpg
    (From the leaked version there, apparently works on other editions of the game from what I've read so it's spreading but might be a bit wonky or dodgy, I won't get the game until tomorrow if I understand the release date correctly, preload might be active already though.)
     
  19. CDMC

    CDMC Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX560 2GB
    yes, i just found the settings! im very sorry, my mistake :/

    Thanks "JonasBeckman"
     
  20. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,500
    Likes Received:
    2,890
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    I didn't mean anything with my post, it's easy to miss at times depending on when or where the game activates or hides said menu, didn't Shift work in a similar way at first?
    (Start directly at a test race and then you can go to the main menu afterwards and adjust options and the like, might have been F1 2010 or some other title though.)

    Also from what I've read the default settings for controllers and wheels are a bit weird so those would need some tuning or I guess it'll just feel odd playing the game.
    (Auto-translated post on a message board, apparently sensitivity or zone something is at 90 / 100 by default.)
     

Share This Page