Navi RDNA Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,289
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Possible Black screen fix on Navi:

    Pre-19.12.2 drivers go to

    Display tab -> Specs (top right corner) -> Override tab -> Adjust Voltage Swing 1 & Adjust PreEmphasis 2.

    For 19.12.2 drivers

    Settings (gear top right corner) -> Display tab -> Extend the Overrides section (right side bottom) -> Voltage Swing 1 & PreEmphasis 2.

    try it :D

    Make sure with 19.12.2 you have to use latest DDU, in windows safe mode (is paramount) and then install the drivers.
    Without using DDU in safe mode had issues upgrading from 19.11.1.

    Source:
    -> https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/commen...on_a/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share

    Can go in details tbh about black screens, but if you see past 4 months about this issue, black screen is directly related to DP cable and issue exaggerated by the Pulse model, which issue resolved by going to the driver settings on monitor section and up the power the card is delivering to the ports.
     
    MaCk0y likes this.
  2. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    1,955
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Seems undervolting might be a bit buggy too for the Adrenaline 2020 drivers, need to do some checks but so far it seems to be pretty accurate.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/ekw7vi/5700_xt_oc_on_latest_2020_driver/

    Which yeah the reported GPU wattage is indeed around 180 after comparing when the GPU is under load so it might be a bit stuck since it should go down by a fair bit when reduced in voltage or up if pushed further.
    It still can scale down depending on overall load and it does report a scaling voltage value as well but the power draw doesn't seem to change once the card is loaded up and maintaining near 98 - 99% utilization.
    (And as also noticed lower values or utilization rather and the clock speeds very quickly drop down.)

    EDIT: Or to just use the older Crysis video again which shows wattage.


    EDIT: It might still work to reduce the power limit slider but from my own testing even a -1% has a noticeable impact on GPU clocks to where it's around 1700 - 1750 Mhz when it should be capable of 1900 - 1950 and then above that requires pushing it into +5 - 15% or so depending on the GPU bios and it's base power target and factors for how well the card clocks up and where it starts requiring a lot more power for limited return and higher core clock speeds. :)

    (Well Wattman needs work and not just for Navi but it's starting to show that it's more than just the fan speed now and getting worse.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
    OnnA likes this.
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,056
    Likes Received:
    1,955
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/es5zt7/apparently_n10xle_5600xt_is_a2_stepping/

    Interesting. :)

    And there's at least improvements to efficiency from what it looks like.
     
  4. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,289
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

  5. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Anyhow I have been sick all month since new years day...finally better. First day sitting in front of my pc. I was messing with 5700XT voltage, with one of the tools I have available to me I am able to adjust the memory voltages. Well now my 5700 XT will hit Firestrike 32700 graphics all day long with +50mV bump to the memory voltage. There is a drawback though as it will raise some of the gpus temps. I spent most of the day trying to tweak some of the voltage to bring my temps down as it raised my junction temp about 12 degrees to 82 after this first run. Was a bit higher on this first run.

    So I thought I would share one of the things holding the 5700 XT back and it is indeed the memory voltage that AMD has set it at. I have Samsung GDDR 6 which the specs sheet state it can run safely up to 1.45 mV stock on the 5700 XT is .850 mV. With my +50mV bump to .900 mV allows the core to actually run at a higher clock. Also the vram can be clocked higher then what I did in this run.

    /edit Before anyone says I have two 2 5700 XT, yes I do, however crossfire does not work with Firestrike. Firestrike is DX 11, navi does support DX 12 explicit mGPU so the 2nd card is not being used.

    [​IMG]

    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21616626

    /edit update now graphics is at 33020
    https://www.3dmark.com/fs/21618188
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
    SpajdrEX likes this.
  6. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    Hmmh here I am thinking about going water on my pc. Bought miself 3900x and my 5700xt is reference. Could maybe do a custom loop.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  7. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
  8. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    I flashed mine with the 5700XT mech bios and the EvokeXT bios, the evoke had better power usage but both produced high temps

    for now im just using more power tool as it can do the same job

    I asked this before but does anyone know what msi's stance is on repasting the gpu?
    it has a warranty sticker on one screw
     
  9. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    521
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX5700XT
    mtrai : Welcome back mate, good to hear you feel better, can say same for myself :)
    btw. nice score you got there
     
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,289
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

  11. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega

    Thanks man...While I have had this particular non public tool for a while I never touched several of the voltage controls it gave me access to. I think I am understanding AMD reasoning on setting the vram voltage to the level they did and it is due to the heat. Even though Samsung GDDR6 is safe to 1.45 does not mean you should actually run it at that. It needs some beefy cooling. I not in the danger zone and still have some head room thanks to full waterblock. Though this has gotten me wondering what nvidia is setting the default on their samsung 14gb GDDR6 vram to.

    I use 3 loops in my system. One for each GPU and one for my cpu. My scores are all based on things being overvolted. I tend to drop my cpu overclocks a lot and voltage when I am benching GPUs to eliminate that as a possible stability issue during benching stability testing of the gpu overclocks. 2 d5 pumps with 360 rads with full waterblocks and hate to say just an corsair aio 115 something with a 280 rad. I had a custom loop on the cpu but it did not perform any better then this particular AIO.
     
  12. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    What country are you in? This is the part that really matters for repasting etc. If in the USA those stickers are void under federal law and cannot be enforced. It does vary by country.

    Truth to that....if you are using soft power play table there is no reason to flash it especially if you are using morepowertool
     
    Passus likes this.
  13. Oline8992

    Oline8992 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD RX 5700 XT
    Is there a Navi10 bios editor out there yet? I want to undervolt my RX 5700 XT in bios..
     
  14. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
  15. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC

  16. MustangIsBoss

    MustangIsBoss New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5700XT (ref)
    Read through all of this thread over the past few days, been interesting. My 5700XT is like yours, a reference (Sapphire) that can only really run 1815mhz on the memory. What I found really surprising, was when I started Superposition after changing the core clock and voltage limits in MPT, it firstly ran at those settings as a new default (2300mhz target and 1350mv), boosting to around 2150mhz max on my reference cooler. I didn't have baselines to compare properly to, so I don't really know how well it scaled, but I didn't see a huge improvement compared to my current settings.

    As part of my investigation, I found a comment of yours about how the performance only really scales if the memory frequency is increased. Obviously I didn't want to run that voltage daily, so it's now at 2100mhz target and 1180mv, which is just something I chose for solid stability, could tweak it for lower voltages eventually. As well, which memory timing control setting should I run if I suspect I have Samsung memory due to it being a reference card?

    Been wondering how to change the memory voltage to see if I could get higher clocks without ECC kicking in, but none of the tools I've tried so far have the option for me. I tried AMDMemoryTweak, I read someone's comment on reddit on how they changed their VRAM voltage with it, saw screenshots of the options. But when I downloaded the tool, none of the options are available other than timings.
    [​IMG]
    I was suprised when I saw the option in your screenshot here, double-check my MPT and there isn't an option for the two memory voltages, nor a clear way to enable them in the feature menu. Are these options available in the public release, or do you have a beta version?
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2020
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,289
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Tests (New drivers & Price drops):
    5600XT + 5700



     
  18. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    1,956
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Rx5700 is insanely good deal. I would definetely flash the XT bios on it. :p
     
    OnnA likes this.
  19. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    230
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    No need to flash .. more power tool does exactly the same job with nearly zero risk, just dont go mad on power
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2020
    Undying likes this.
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,289
    Likes Received:
    2,239
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Max OC

     
    SpajdrEX likes this.

Share This Page