Navi RDNA Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Undying and JonasBeckman like this.
  2. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,044
    Likes Received:
    1,943
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    It will be fun to see what Adrenalin 2020 does though I expect a few other features and hopefully also assuming this is a more significant driver branch change more bug fixes and focus on existing longer known issues across GCN and RDNA.
    Expecting RDNA and GCN and compatibility for how RDNA works and how much GCN is still in there to remain at least until RDNA2 and further changes in the actual hardware but who knows, don't have a full understanding of exactly how "Next" works but AMD likely has some interesting plans for expanding RDNA and what improvements can be wrought via refinements to the 7nm process and what was it EUV?
    (The performance silicon and not the power efficiency or something like that, need to read up on it again.)

    Going to be fun to see how things go next year plus what the start of this driver set will deliver. :)
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,482
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
  4. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    /edit just realized this is not best score lol gotten over 32k previously. https://www.3dmark.com/fs/20663386

    New high FS on 5700 XT just now only looking at graphics. I am now able to consistently hit above 30k on my 5700 XT more details in the coming days.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
    jimpsar likes this.

  5. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    5700XT/290X
    So I got my 5700 XT running 2GHz at 1,151v.

    Is overclocking the RAM going to see any real benifts? I'm going to try it this weekend but thought I'd see whats up.

    mtrai nice score.
     
  6. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,044
    Likes Received:
    1,943
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    The GPU is somewhat memory bottlenecked but the GDDR6 has two types mainly only visible by removing the cooler and looking at the RAM modules so it's either Samsung or Micron.
    A 30 - 50 Mhz increase up or above 900 Mhz instead of 875 is helpful if it's stable but error correction might kick in and lower performance instead so some testing is required and earlier reports mentioned sometimes certain speeds were crash prone but above those even if it might take soft modding to hit above 950 it could be stable again.

    No voltage control over this in Wattman either and for 19.12.2 the big change for RAM is that it's showing double-data rate speeds so instead of 900 Mhz it'll be 1800 Mhz but still no additional settings though other than voltage I guess there wouldn't be much more anyway. :D
     
  7. pharma

    pharma Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    149
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
     
    OnnA likes this.
  8. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    2,232
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    7nm o_O (is still too expensive).
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
    pharma likes this.
  9. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    229
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    All navi is 7nm

    I dont get your comment?
     
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    2,232
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Expensive to make, so Perf->Price is bad.
     

  11. Alpaone

    Alpaone New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    Is it possible to flash e.g. a XFX BIOS on my RX 5700 XT 50th Anniversary to enable fan stop while idle or will that brick my card?
     
  12. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    229
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    probably different subsystem id's so ati flash wont work
     
  13. Alpaone

    Alpaone New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT
    Can't i force flash using the command line?
     
  14. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,195
    Likes Received:
    229
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    Maybe yes but unless you have a dual bios then i wouldnt try it
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    2,232
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

  16. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    While yes you can force it, however I highly recommend against this since the VRM and controllers are different. You can use a soft power play table to enable 0 fan however then you cannot use the tuning tab in the Adrenalin 2020 drivers as it will auto close radeon settings.
     
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    2,232
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  18. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    5700XT/290X
    I see MorePowerTool lets you set memory to 1T, does it work?
     
  19. pharma

    pharma Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    149
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    2,232
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

Share This Page