Natural & Realistic Lighting for Watch_Dogs

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by Danvsw, May 6, 2016.

  1. commentcava

    commentcava New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 480 8G
    Great it works,i feel like it's an other game with those clean and colored graphics.

    Thank you so much :) ans have a very nice day.
     
  2. tonyDuong

    tonyDuong New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gtx 950m 4gb
    Hi, your mod is so awsome, but i have a problem.
    i'm having issue with your sweetfx/rashade. When i tried to rename dxgi to d3d9, the game didn't run. When i renamed it to d3d11, the game ran, but sweetfx/reshade didn't work(i tried the scroll lock key). I really don't know what to do, im using win 10 64bit. plz help :(
     
  3. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    In Windows 10 it should work as it is (without renaming) if you downloaded the "Windows 8/10" version, which uses Reshade. What happens exactly if you run the game with the dxgi.dll? Error message? Check the log file if you have it (should be in the bin folder).
    Also, have you downloaded the DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010) that I linked in the main post?
     
  4. tonyDuong

    tonyDuong New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gtx 950m 4gb
    hey, thx for replying so soon.
    yes, i've done exactly what u've instructed in the main post, install directx, use windows 8/10 version, close unecessary background programs, monitor sofwares ....., but it didn't work. This is my log file:
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:335 [04820] | INFO | Initializing crosire's ReShade version '2.0.3.1121' built on '2016-04-03 19:21:12' loaded from "E:\Watch Dogs\bin\dxgi.dll" to "E:\Watch Dogs\bin\Watch_Dogs.exe" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d8.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d9.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d10.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d10_1.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d11.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Libraries loaded.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:397 [04820] | INFO | > Found 2 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 2 hook(s).
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d12.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\dxgi.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | > Delayed.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\opengl32.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | > Libraries loaded.
    31/01/2017 00:26:15:413 [04820] | INFO | > Found 360 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:918 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 360 hook(s).
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:918 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\user32.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:918 [04820] | INFO | > Libraries loaded.
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:918 [04820] | INFO | > Found 5 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:981 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 5 hook(s).
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:981 [04820] | INFO | Registering hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\ws2_32.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:981 [04820] | INFO | > Libraries loaded.
    31/01/2017 00:26:19:981 [04820] | INFO | > Found 8 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:20:074 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 8 hook(s).
    31/01/2017 00:26:20:074 [04820] | INFO | Initialized.
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:120 [04820] | INFO | Redirecting 'RegisterClassExA(000000000035FC60)' ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:120 [04820] | INFO | > Adding 'CS_OWNDC' window class style flag to 'DisruptSplash'.
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:120 [04820] | INFO | Installing delayed hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\dxgi.dll" ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:120 [04820] | INFO | > Found 7 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:120 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 7 hook(s).
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:198 [04820] | INFO | Installing delayed hooks for "C:\Windows\system32\d3d9.dll" (Just loaded via 'LoadLibraryA("systemdetection64.dll")') ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:198 [04820] | INFO | > Found 9 match(es). Installing ...
    31/01/2017 00:26:22:322 [04820] | INFO | > Installed 9 hook(s).


    when i start the game, it didn't show any error message, it didn't respone.
     

  5. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Sorry mate, I really don't know, there doesn't seem to be anything that indicates what the problem is except the fact that the log stops at "Installed 9 hook(s)" when it should keep going. Has Reshade ever worked for you with any game? Maybe try downloading a fresh Reshade from the original site and see if that works.
     
  6. LolKekChebureck

    LolKekChebureck New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GeForce GTX 1070
    Main Version for Windows 7 is not available :(
     
  7. TheCrasher

    TheCrasher Master Guru

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080ti 11g
    What are you talking about, you have to read it in order to find the DL.
     
  8. The Silver

    The Silver Master Guru

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    GTX 770 2GB
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
  9. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Yeah, the link was disabled for some ToS violation, I don't know why.

    Anyway, I've re-uploaded it and replaced the link. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  10. MOJ98

    MOJ98 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 760 2Gb
    Hello Danvsw!

    Im a great fan of your mod, for me it's one of the best graphical mods ever made for any game.

    But i'm having problems right now. It may seem very weird, but all of a sudden your pack started showing fog and noticeable bloom in-game (although i know that you didn't put it like that, first because it wasn't even there when i first downloaded your mod).

    It was very random and i can't find a logical reason to it. I am 100% sure that the fog/bloom that i'm having right now was not there before. Do you have any ideas about what may be causing that? I never messed with your files here, all i did was to change your .patch files for others, when i was trying other mods.

    Now it seems that i can't get it to look as intended no matter what i do, i tried deleting files, downloading your mod again, and i just reinstalled the game, but it still shows strong bloom and fog which are not present even in your videos and screenshots.

    What do i do???

    EDIT: I'm analysing stuff a bit and i noticed that actually not only fog and bloom are different, but overral visuals are too, at least a bit. The colors aren't exactly as they were here/are in your videos, and the only conclusion i can get from all of this is that the ".patch" files aren't being taken as a "patch" anymore and the game is simply ignoring/confusing the modded files, i may be wrong though...
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2017

  11. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    That is weird. Maybe your save file is glitched? Have you tried sleeping in a hideout for a few days? Or restarting the game (new save file)?
    As long as my modded patch.dat and patch.fat are in your data_win64 folder, the game should recognize it as the patch.
    Can you post a screenshot or something?
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017
  12. MOJ98

    MOJ98 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 760 2Gb
    This. I think i solved it.

    Turns out that the game apparently suffers from "fallout 3 syndrome".

    What i mean is that if a mod causes a bug or any kind of confusion in general, it "sticks" to the savegame even if you revert changes or even restore the entire vanilla files. I just started a new save and everything is working fine again. I just wonder what exactly caused this and why it happened at a specific moment, there is no logic. I have always been swapping modded files and that never happened until now, it was totally random.

    For now everything seems fine, but i'm afraid that trying other mods will cause it again :/

    Thanks for the help, it's great that you are still giving support in your mod page.

    Also, i'd like to ask: Is the "interior-exterior" lightning bug unfixable? Did you ever manage to do anything about it? For me it's pretty much the only downside of your mod, and the only thing that "reveals" that the game is modded. Apart from that, all of your other "Known Issues" aren't a problem for me, everything works/looks fine.
     
  13. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    No problem. Yeah it's annoying that some mods stick to the save file, though I've never personally had to make a new save. See if you can back up your save before trying other mods.
    About interior/exterior lighting bug, unfortunately I don't know why it happens and never figured out a way to fix it. Sorry mate.
     
  14. MOJ98

    MOJ98 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 760 2Gb
    I'll start backuping saves.

    No problem.

    Thanks for your support, and keep up!

    Do you have any other project ongoing? It's been some time since you last posted anything on your YT channel, Twitter and Flickr. I wonder what are you working on now.
     
  15. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Yeah, GTAV. My last tweet is still relevant, it's just taking me a while. Still working on it every day.
     

  16. mlleemiles

    mlleemiles Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    What is the interior-exterior bug?
     
  17. KookMaster5000

    KookMaster5000 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC
    It's the change in brightness when exiting or entering interior. It's caused by the change in exposure values between two areas, interior and exterior. Some see it as a bug, but I really think it's supposed to be that way. vanilla does it as well. Not only that, bot most games with unified lighting systems contain some kind of "exterior interior lighting bug". GTA V for example, does this exact same thing.

    It's really, from what I understand, meant to replicate that "light at the end of the tunnel" look. When you're in a dark tunnel, the light at the end looks significantly brighter than it does when you actually approach the outside. This also allows for the brightness of the interior to increase while inside it, that way you can better see what's inside than you could while you were outside.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  18. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Nah mate, it's not the exposure. When entering interiors/tunnels, the lighting outside changes completely and things like fog, reflections and other shaders disappear entirely. Here's an example (right after exiting a tunnel):

    [​IMG]
     
  19. txgt

    txgt Master Guru

    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1060 6G
    Never saw the sunlight pop up on the exit from a tunnel during rain in Vanilla.
    Check these interior xmls:
    E3_2013.Clear_Lighting.Clear_Lighting_interior.xml
    E3_2013.Clear_Lighting.Clear_Lighting_IntWithWindows.xml
    There should be a setting like this:
    <field name="bSunLightIntensityOverride" type="Boolean">False</field>

    If it's already on "False" then I suspect this happens because you use only 2 weather presets Clear and Storm. You should've made the corresponding changes in Automatic Weather section.
    And because you didn't that may happen when current weather state is hanging somewhere in between Clear and Storm.

    Also check/compare with Vanilla all the "interior" Environment Containers in windycity.xml. Maybe restoring them will help.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2017
  20. Danvsw

    Danvsw Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Hey thanks man, I compared the windy_city xmls like you said and found this "InteriorWindows" container that for some reason had a different value in "envlightingsettingsEnvironmentLighting", no idea why. But it was the culprit apparently. It looks much better now:

    [​IMG]

    Fog and some other shaders still disappear when entering interiors/tunnels, but I guess this is a thing in the vanilla game that can't be fixed.

    Here are the updated XMLs:
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/5cliedu5ee9b9g8

    By the way txgt, random question, do you happen to know how to increase the distance of fog during rainy weather?
     

Share This Page