my new gaming rig

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by prescient, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,668
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I disabled it here some time ago, if a game still wants pagefile then I add this command to .exe shortcut

    -disablepagefilecheck


    If you want to know what bsod then set in both (min/max) at 1024, that's more then enough...
    Although I set my bsod to not to restart, so i can see what bsod if anything.



    @Wormwood
    ah ok cool, I think later when you get more familiar with gpu 1150-1215mhz (total boost freq.) should be doable np :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
  2. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
  3. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Hmm I ran Kombustor with my 560ti for 15mins and it was fine.
     
  4. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    i never said its not ok to use it . i always have it anyway but i was on forums
    and few people dose not see a need to use the burn tests on a gpu .
    just to mention .
     

  5. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,818
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Yeah that is what benchmarking programs are for such as 3dmark.
     
  6. neoglow

    neoglow Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX670 FTW SLI x2
    Nice rig! Im guessing your mobo will also allow for SLI of your 780 in the future too. It should run the latest games nice and smooth.

    Is 16gb RAM needed/recommended these days? Ive only got 8gb.
     
  7. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080 Ti FTW3
    @-Tj- hope so, thats my biggest fear,to have a low overclocking card.

    @neoglow 8gb is still ok for now but in some games you must use HDD pagefile. With 16gb you can disable pagefile without worries.
     
  8. thinktwice

    thinktwice Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club 3D HD 7950
    I also had the 6870 before i bought an highend card and to be honest i was in the same situatiin as you, thought that plus 4 5 fps is nothing but with high end cards is a different story, you can achieve much more performance out of it. 6870 is
    Nit ment for overclocking...
     
  9. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    when games start asking for 8 gb its a good idea to go ahead of them .
    like in vram they start asking for 3 gb vram and you just dont feel safe
    buying a good 2 gb vedio card i didnt think much of it actually i just grabbed those
    2 ram sticks , most gamers are going 16 gb these days .

    i really dunno about paging files . i asked around and they say different things
    if i disable it would be better ? and faster ?
     
  10. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,558
    Likes Received:
    989
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Glad you finally were able to get it up and running great rig you built there. The 780 is the perfect 1920x1080 card for the money IMHO.
     

  11. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    yes thanks guys i like every post you make here you are such great community
    and the 780 is better , but its high on price even for me but i pushed my self
    far to play star citizen .


    :cheers::cheers::cheers::cheers::cheers::cheers:

    here is to all the guys who cheered me
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014
  12. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    diabeling page files i guess gave me volmgr error with a couple a freeze as it happens
    i dunno if i should put it at 2 gb min max
     
  13. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    now ive set min and max to 2gb errors stopped and the pc felt faster
     
  14. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    i really dont think disabling page files is a good idea . it made win 8.1 very unstable
    beside the above error it prevented windows from booting
    [​IMG]

    was that a trick tj? :wanker:

    could it be a ram issue
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2014
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,668
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    idk Im ok with disabled pagefile.


    Kernel Power41 could be bios issue, update it :p
     

  16. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    lol no need to be extreme tj . am not gonna start fiddling with stuff .
    thing is you guys dose not have 2400 hz ram . i test it on 1333 hz ram
    and it went fine , i tried to tell this to those guys but they insisted there
    is an issue with my ram , when there isnt . i installed operating systems
    and gamed star citizen at high for hours . the ram is great . it just dose
    not gose with page files off at 2400 hz .

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=747562&page=2

    as you see things went wrong yesterday . i have had a few pms with them
    also :micro:

    all i did is putting the page files on system manged and went back to 2400 hz
    all went healthy again ..

    btw

    http://www.egprices.com/en/product/thermaltake-water-3-0-extreme-water-cooler-compu-art

    the cooler is in stock again . ill instal it soon so we can oc . am closing my
    account at that forum .
     
  17. Citizen47

    Citizen47 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 680 GTX 2 GB OC
    Nice rig man, I like it, but why not get a 3930k (6 cores, 12 threads) instead of a 4770k (4 cores 8 threads) ? Multitasking goes a long way even games support it. :)

    Anyway nice rig I hope it will bring many hours of joy :)
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,668
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Old - stock bios doesnt have proper 2400mhz support, mobo sets timings wrong. No wonder its fine stock 1333mhz non xmp.


    Just update it,
    set bios to optimized defaults
    now load its .cab file in Asus EZ flash utility 2 and let it update (in advanced menu, there where you load optimized defaults).

    now when finished, it will restart and turn off/on 2-3 times, after that, re-open UEFI and set XMP again.
     
  19. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    thanks it looks too expensive tho and the 4770k is newer it has the proper
    power i guess . and thanks . its a good rig and working well too .

    tj the bios is not that old at all it says 9/2013
    bios is not so urgent in my case to go updating it .
    i dont trust bios updates at all and i dont like it unless its necessary
    i can set the timing and vram my self no need for bios to do it at all
    but i dont see a need for it . i dont see where is the timings went wrong
    its set as in ram profiles .
    am not feeling so well and i dont want the scare of bios flashing
    i was just fighting at overcloackers web after one told me to use
    prime95 on my cpu stock heat sink and the admins approved him
    am going to get the cooler today :wanker:
     
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,668
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Well Im not a fan of bios flashing either and here I am updated this Z87 mobo with each new update, atm @ no10.


    If you still have some ram issues and boot off issues then new bios WILL help. Gl :)
     

Share This Page