my new gaming rig

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by prescient, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    hello everyone
    [​IMG]
    maximums hero vl / i7-4770k /gtx 780 windforce /16gb dual hyper beast ram 2400/WD cB 1tb FZEX/cm storm
    trooper/SAMSUNG 2333SW lcd/corsair 750 tx/ win8 64bit pro
    i finally made it . am still to get a cpu water cooler . it was out of stock.
     
  2. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,881
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GT 840M
    Nice rig. Should keep you going for a couple of years at least.
     
  3. Arend.C

    Arend.C Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming
    If he puts that 780 in SLI later on thn yea, it will last a good while.

    May need some more vram in the future tho.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,868
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
    lol So you finally build it, also see you opt for 780GTX instead :D


    Which cooler will you get?


    what cpu batch is it? how much does it need @ stock 3.5ghz in bios? :nerd:
     

  5. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    yes thanks :wanker:

    not that , when its time i will replace the gpu with the latest one at that time . and try to push the cpu further . we will see . thanks

    yes i made my move to the stores i sold the old stuff and assembled the
    pc in the shop , it was cool . we did not find the water 3 extreme in stock
    and i did not want to delete and lose the last maximums hero board they had. they will buy new coolers next week i reserved one . then i install it .
    after that we try to test .
    lol i have no idea what batch the cpu is , i never though to ask and i left
    the boxes at the shop . i can see it in windows?
    am on stock fan now . i see core voltage at cpu z

    [​IMG]

    it was only 120 $ to the 780 it sounded silly to buy the 2 gb 770
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2014
  6. ShadowMyth

    ShadowMyth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GByte GTX 980 G1 Windforc
    Nice rig, we had similar ideas in mind. I just pre-ordered the new i7-4790k w/ the Thermaltake Water 3.0 Extreme. I went with the Gigabyte z97 Gaming 7 board and some G-skill 2400MHz RAM Happy gaming :)
     
  7. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
  8. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
  9. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    nice man 780 is a great card
     
  10. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    yes too much talk should i get the 770gtx or the 280x? or the 290?
    and benchmarks and crap it was only a 150 usd difference and i got a new edition
    of windforce
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4621#ov

    i tell you this thing is really cold . and the fans are really quite and never bother
    to go beyond 27 % its a good deal .

    3 gb ram to get over with it and a gpu that can use them .
    a system made to play star citizen the 770 was pushed hard to last with its
    next year launch . logic was needed . so happy to get back to nvidia .
    and its good to be cool with you again tk . i will oc my hardware soon and can
    use some good company
     

  11. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,868
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
    ^
    Gpu score looks good 3dmark2011 with 14100, I get 14100 too at stock 1084mhz boost.


    Btw if you mean shared system ram then it should be 8192mb, total ~ 11300mb

    btw CoolerMaster Nepton 280L is good too


    About batch its on the box, or on the chip itself. Dunno about anything else :D

    Anyway 1.12v is ok, i think you will be able to OC 4.5 -4.6ghz bellow 1.30v
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2014
  12. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga

    what is shared system ram ? i was talking about paging files .
    in advanced system settings . before i had it set to 4095 min and max.

    yes nepton is good but am limited to the market here . they only have
    thermal take water 3 extreme and they even ran out of stock .
    am waiting for it .


    you really think i got lucky with the chip?

    [​IMG]

    that is the idle temp

    funny how our rigs are similar :wanker: i will try to oc like u
     
  13. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    sorry about the batch thing i didnt know .

    in that day i had to travel 50 kilometers to buy the mb and sell the old rig then travel
    another 50 kilos to assemble the rest of the pc then 50 kilometers back home then i left
    the boxes at the shop and carried only the machine . i never thought of getting the batch.
     
  14. DSparil

    DSparil Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG StriX RX480, 8GB
    Wrong section of the forum I believe? Nothing hardware related in the pub! Unless you bring us a beer ;)
     
  15. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    So what? Guy is proud of his rig.
     

  16. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
    yes proud i must say it looks awesome
    i was telling tj the story of the batch and if i got a good chip or not .
    not so hardware related .

    btw i went to bios and

    cpu 1.008
    cpu cash 1.16
     
  17. nico1981

    nico1981 Active Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 670GTX
    You may also want a 144Hz monitor:)
    780gtx @ 60Hz = fail
     
  18. prescient

    prescient Master Guru

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Evga
  19. DerSchniffles

    DerSchniffles Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080ti
    120/144hz is pretty friggin sweet...I strongly recommend you try one at a shop/store or friend if you can and see for yourself. Some people honestly dont see what the big deal is. I personally dont really notice the reduction in motion blur like alot of people say but I really feel the difference is smoothness/frames running vsync @120hz. And with my setup, any new high end graphic game does not run at 120 fps lol, but its still over 60 most of the time and its nice to have that freedom. Games that do run at 120 fps feel fantastic. And half the input lag? Yes please.

    A few months back, my best buddy asked for a recommendation on a new monitor. He "blindly" took my advice (he trusts me) and ordered a 144hz monitor. He plays Starcraft 2 and Dota2 pretty seriously/competitively and when we got it all set up I had to pick his jaw up off the floor. Hes happy ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2014
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,868
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GX980Ti Amp!Extreme
    Nvm then. You can disable pagefile with 16gb ram.

    Nope that chip is in ilde with those volts any haswell has the same voltage there 0.712v.

    btw I saw your post @ techpowerup,
    you can forget 5ghz :D, like I said 4.6 - 4.7ghz should be doable.

    You will find quickly by setting 1.25v @ 4.6ghz if it boots & loads, passes anything then you can lower its voltage a bit, also 4.7ghz should be guarantied bellow 1.30v.
    1.35+ gets really hot, and 1.3-1.35v could be 4.8 -4.9ghz area, but only if your cpu will do 4.6ghz @ ~ 1.225v.

    Btw there is almost no difference between 4.6 & 4.7ghz, I run mine at 4.7ghz just because its still possible with reasonable volts & temps @ H90 cooler., otherwise I would just stick with 4.5 -4.6ghz.
     

Share This Page