My Geforce GTX 480 is beginning to show its age

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by khohne, Apr 2, 2012.

  1. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,172
    Likes Received:
    2,004
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    im going mad i think :bang:
     
  2. Cryengine

    Cryengine Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Strix 1080 Ti oc
    I am playing Skyrim with everything maxed out even 8MSAA and FXAA at 1080p with a high resolution textures pack and the fps are 60-70 avg it rarely drops to 50 and with my old Q6600 which is slower than your CPU.

    It can be a problem of driver !!!
     
  3. GiNaJuIcE

    GiNaJuIcE Master Guru

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 1080 AMP
    highly doubt its your cpu bro. Running skyrim everything maxed with hd textures and never goes below 50fps.
     
  4. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Absolutely no problems running Skyrim maxed out with 4xAA on my rig.
     

  5. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    sorry for my bad.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
  6. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    +1 True story,

    He should get a cheap second GTX480 and SLI them ...

    Running Skyrim here @1080P, 8xAA, 16X AF, All high/Ultra ...... 100+ FPS :)
     
  7. IKnowJack

    IKnowJack Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX470
    run out and buy quad SLIed 680s....



    and then cry coz skyrim still runs like a dog with 2 broken legs!

    no problems here with a gtx470....

    "I am now no longer able to run stuff flat out with all options turned on and up"
    umm wouldnt that be somethin to do with crap runnin in the background? or maybe your card is full of dust and is working harder than previous?
     
  8. Vxheous

    Vxheous Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 X
    If the OP wants to gimp a GTX 680 with his Core I7 870 2.93 GHz, who's to stop him? He'll figure out the CPU bottleneck is real eventually....
     
  9. The Chubu

    The Chubu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
    My age is beginning to show its GTX480.
     
  10. Mda400

    Mda400 Master Guru

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    3080Ti 1950/21.4G
    [​IMG]
     

  11. khohne

    khohne Master Guru

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 480 Asus
    well i went out an bought a GTX 680 just cause i could anyway, what can i say im a sucker for new graphics cards and i will sell my old GTX 480.

    And yes i know my CPU is a bottleneck im looking into better cooling for it first as I cant overclock it on the stock cooler it gets way to hot (nearly 100c)

    I must say im quite enjoing the GTX 680 and i can feel major improvments from the 480, i didnt bother with 500 series cards for obvious reason (barely any improvment to warrant the cost) I believe the GTX 680 was a good move and it will do me for the next 2 -3 years of gaming.
     
  12. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,836
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    GPU:
    .
    Cooler and quieter operation is as big a bonus as the increased fps, have fun! :D
     
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    get an aftermarket cpu cooler, read some oc guides and oc when you feel comfortable your 680 will thank you for it
     
  14. TheReproducer

    TheReproducer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 660 ti Jetstream
    You spent 400 quid on a new graphics card but you don't even have a proper HSF for your CPU? Talk about priorities...
     

Share This Page