MSI releases BIOS update for MSI X299 and Z370 to support CPU-Attached RAID

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 31, 2018.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,831
    Likes Received:
    5,914
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    1070Ti OC
    MSI Owners beware: I updated my Z370 Bios (SLI Plus) And Voltages went from requested voltage (1.25 at the time) to 0.1 (sometimes more) beyond requested voltate. So I was asking for 1.25 on my stable OC, this was giving me 1.37 Vcore! To get 1.25 I had to dial it down to 1.15. Reverted back to A2 bios and voltages went back to normal
     
  3. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    That sure is very noble of MSI to provide such a service to it's customers.

    Did you try resetting the BIOS through the jumper/push button on the motherboard (if applicable) while you were on the latest release? From my experience, whenever such issues occurred, it happened because of a profiles created using an older version of BIOS and the settings had to be changed from scratch to avoid such issues. I recall GIGABYTE did this a few times. But nonetheless, your experience with the newer BIOS should be made viral, or else a lot of people are going to end up with fried CPUs, CPU sockets and what not.
     
    Irenicus likes this.
  4. asturur

    asturur Master Guru

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    I have a question for those MB. Provided that z370 gives me 16 pciEx lines, adding 2 nvm disk at 4 lines each, does it gives me just 8 lines for the videocard?

    I need to buy a whole new system, and now between x299 and z370 and x470 ( amd ) i m really undecided.
     

  5. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    1070Ti OC
    Yes CMOS completely reset and you cannot use profiles from older BIOS with MSI boards, it literally won't let you. I reset everything then manually entered voltages and multipliers but every time it resulted in a 0.10v increase (showing in bios itself and in Hardware info/CPUtemp) compared to entered voltage. I just reverted to the older bios (A2) instead of the latest A3 bios. I messaged MSI in regards to this as yes, some may not notice this if they default voltages are increased and they haven't checked in BIOS
     
    Romulus_ut3 likes this.
  6. urbancamper

    urbancamper Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Quicksilver gtx1070
    https://valid.x86.fr/llddmv This is my current overclock. It is on bio 7B46vA2

    I had the same issue on my z370 sli plus mb. The new bios pushed my vcore which I set at 1.325v to 1.448v. Yes I reset the bios first. No I did not use a profile. I set it exactly the same as I did in the previous 2 bios to get my
    i5 8600k to 5.0ghz.

    To put this in perspective, my 8600k overclocks to 46ghz just by changing the multiplier. The vcore never goes above 1.224v at load. With the new bios at rest the vcore was 1.288v. No idea what it is at load, since I reverted back to the old bios.

    I just hope that 1.448v did not ruin my i5 8600k. Though I am seeing no effects of it yet.

    DO NOT USE THE NEW MSI BIOS 7B46vA3, IT IS TOXIC.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2018
  7. excer

    excer New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Hello..

    I would like to ask if this new BIOS is already for download for MB- MSI Z370 Gaming M5. If yes, where, because its not present neither on american nor european support sites. Thank You..
     
  8. urbancamper

    urbancamper Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Quicksilver gtx1070
    https://us.msi.com/Motherboard/support/Z370-GAMING-M5#down-bios

    Be very careful. The new bios has been raising the vcore on various MSI motherboards. If you decide to install this, first go into your bios and make note of your vcore(cpu voltage). Also check with whatever monitoring software you use. I personally prefer CPUID. Also reset the bios.

    After installing the new bios make sure the vcore is the same as before. Issues have been reported on the new MSI bios across several different websites on a variety of MSI z370 motherboards.
     
  9. excer

    excer New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Thx for reply..Sorry I missed my BIOS is factory default without any update yet. CPUID value of CPU voltage is 1,328
    So my few questions..1. shoud I start also with reseting bios with clearing CMOS memory ? 2. if update doesnt increase voltage should I reinstall my current RAID configuration with M.2 Genie to achieve declared advantage of CPU attached RAID or this raid configuration would be automatically destroyed after BIOS update.. 3. If everything is fine then the same question as asturur asked before : adding 2 nvm disk at 4 lines each, does it give us just 8 lines for the videocard perpetually ?

    Thank You again..
     
  10. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild Master Guru

    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    256
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 1080
    Set the bios to defaults, then flash the bios in the bios. Then clear CMOS, then set defaults, then adjust settings as desired. Boot n monitor CPU voltage...............
     
    excer likes this.

  11. Thunk_It

    Thunk_It Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    Asus 2080ti Turbo
    The latest bios for my MSI X299 motherboard, had the necessary micro code to fix the Spectre vulnerability - I was glad to see this finally happen!
     
  12. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild Master Guru

    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    256
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 1080
    When you flash a raid, the disk/s hold the info. But, you'll have to re-set the raid in the bios for the system to see it.
     
    excer likes this.
  13. excer

    excer New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    So I dont want to bother You..But here is my result..Flashed according to your advice..Voltage seems to be fine. ..Than update Raid drivers which appeared in MSI Live update.. RAID has stayed undestroeyed :cool:.... But crystaldiskmark results the same than before 3. Do I need reinstall RAID and all system or is this final settings for my PC..Thanx a lot.. / see Pic1 - [​IMG]https://imgur.com/a/ywIBO
     
  14. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    You'll need m.2 nvme ssds. Or optane.
     
  15. excer

    excer New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Hello..of course..both of them they are..samsung 960 pro nvm m.2.ssd..but no similar settings to intel vroc in bios not found..maybe reset and rebuild raid array with m2 genie will show..o_O
     

  16. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    On Asus Rampage vi Apex x299 I had to set pci-e slots to "storage" or something. Suddenly "vroc" settings came in bios. Can't remember exactly. Easter vacation now, and using the phone :p

    Ps: I'm using 3x Aic 900p 480GB optane. 2x in raid-0 vroc (temp storage, scratch etc) , and one for OS
     
  17. excer

    excer New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Thx..Probably I will have to find out such settings then...One question.. Have You noticed any decreasing of power of GPU due to using of PCIexpress lines or it has nothing to do with that..
     
  18. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    1070Ti OC
    So an update on the BIOS situation for the MSI Z370 Sli Plus. MSI responded to my email where I outlined the issues with VCore voltage and my concerns. They have sent me a beta bios! Which I have not seen listed anywhere else. Very good of them and quick response also. I will test this in a moment and see how it goes.

    EDIT: ok! Everything is back to normal. I assume this new BIOS I was sent by MSI includes the updated code, but also has voltages back to normal. I have 1.24Vcore currently with LLC set to 5 and in Core temp I get 1.238 under load, so it seems to be fine now :)

    This is A4 bios. I would share it but not sure that's a good idea considering it's a BETA and not released to the public. However, if someone really wants it I can give you a link
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018
  19. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,641
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Really goes to show how needlessly greedy Intel was about this. Seriously, it's firmware RAID that they expect you to pay for. For the price tag Intel wanted, you could get a hardware RAID controller instead. Or, you could just do software RAID for free. I'm glad MSI opted to favor the customers.

    Meh, everything nowadays is considered a beta. Besides, the BIOS you have is arguably more stable than the official one.
     
  20. glawrung56

    glawrung56 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070ti 8gb X2
    So with this new cpu attached raid , can we use the m.2 slots to create the array or do we need to get a PCIe adapter card / expander ? only have a single 960 evo m.2 but thinking about getting another to set this up
     

Share This Page