MSI product slides leaks - Confirms GeForce RTX 3070 Ti en RTX 3080 Ti

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 17, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,120
    Likes Received:
    9,372
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    4,718
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    Can I just get a regular 3060 please?
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    3070ti 8gb? That is just silly.
     
  4. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    4,718
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    The entire last year of GPU marketing and pricing is ridiculous. Guys like us are basically screwed.
     

  5. FM57

    FM57 Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 2070
    So now, the virtual RTX 3XXX portfolio is complete. Marketing ahead of production as usual in the tech industry.

    If BTC crashs (go Elon, go), 3080Ti is tempting
     
  6. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    It will end and when it goes back to normal what gpu would you buy? With nvidia lineup being such a mess.
     
  7. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    4,718
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    I would spend $329 - $400 on a 3060/ti and sell current my current card to a friend like Airbud for $150 at the most. But I'm afraid those days are no longer happening.
     
  8. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    8GB vram is still enough for most games in 1440p, even 4k.

    If you NEED more vram, buy 3080/3080ti/3090.
    3070ti is 8GB for holding the cost down. Great for most people.

    If you don't like it, don't buy it ;)
     
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Its enough but few games already require more than 8gb even at 1440p. 3070ti would probably make use of more than 8gb, it has enough gpu power.

    Anyway if i need more vram i'd go amd which i will do when all this is over.
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  10. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    So what game does not work with 8GB vram in 1440p? I'd like to try them :)
     

  11. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Most recently resident evil villlage.
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  12. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Why are you lying Undying?
    Looks like it works with 3070 8GB....
    2080ti and 3070 is on par in performance in pretty much every game. 2080ti has 11GB vram and 3070 has 8GB.
    If your statement should be right, 2080ti should have a BIG performance advantage over 3070 in 1440p in this game. It doesn't ;)

    The game even works with 6GB vram in 1440p


    Resident eviil gpu.PNG
     
    jbscotchman likes this.
  13. asturur

    asturur Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    nizzen likes this.
  14. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Basically moving from area to the next you will encounter a stutter each time if set the bar to high. Alex from DF said in his video (tested the 2060) and 6gb is not enough. Raytracing uses some extra vram.

    I encourage you to try. Install the game, set everything to max, enable raytracing and tell us how flawless the experience is on the 8gb card.
    [​IMG]
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  15. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    I doesn't know the word "require".

    Many games use more vram than it "needs". Some games caching high amount of vram, but it doesn't mean that it REQUIRE it.
    One example of this is Call Of duty games. It caches almost everything with 12GB vram, but it doesn't "lag" og "stutter" with 6GB vram.
     

  16. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    This game doesn't REQUIRE more than 8GB vram in 1440p. End of story.
     
  17. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,813
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    It does. Most games allocate more than they use becouse it helps, less swap with system ram the better, no stutter.
     
    Cave Waverider and Dragam1337 like this.
  18. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    1,538
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Your time and effort is wasted on the "VRAM DOESNT MATTER!!!!!111" crowd.
     
    Undying likes this.
  19. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Require means it doesn't work. Using more than 8 GB is another story. A big difference.

    So pleace tell me why 3070 8GB has the same performance as 2080ti 11GB IF the game REQUIRE over 8GB Vram ;)

    PS: I have 3090 24GB.
     
  20. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    The question wasn't "vram doesn't matter"
    Undying said the game REQUIRE more than 8GB in 1440p, which is false...

    Are you too member of the "spam on the forum" crowd?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2021

Share This Page