1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MSI afterburner bug report & suggestion

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by msi-afterburner, Oct 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. De-M-oN

    De-M-oN Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080
    Please remove the normalization out of the "mix multiple audiotracks" or make it at least OPTIONAL.

    A friend doesnt need to edit the audiotracks later, but doesnt want the normalization by afterburner either.

    So he has to record in seperated tracks and mix it later together, just because afterburner forces you to use the normalization if you want them mixed together.

    Please make that optional.
     
  2. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,434
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    possibility of a Monitor for CPU temperature not the actual individual core temps?
     
  3. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    Use HWInfo alongside RTSS

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  4. WILDMAKC

    WILDMAKC Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R7 260X
    In-game Dark Souls 2. There is a flashing strip . how to solve the problem ?

    [​IMG]
     

  5. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,263
    Likes Received:
    1,318
    Disable FCAT overlay and don't enable unknown options blindly.
     
  6. WILDMAKC

    WILDMAKC Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R7 260X
    Oh, really :) . Thank you !
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2014
  7. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,434
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I am aware i can do that just like I knew I could get CPU temp in Precision X by doing the same thing. I didnt want to do that then either.

    Was asking if possible to add it to AB I switch from Precision X to AB to get the CPU temps to begin with.
     
  8. cookieboyeli

    cookieboyeli Master Guru

    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 @2126
    I found a tiny bug.

    When you attach Fan tachometer to Fan speed fan speed automatically changes it's color to yellow and ignores further color change settings!

    And here's another bug

    Setting the OSD to refresh at <250ms makes it unreadable due to the numbers right alignment. If they shift from 3 to 2 digit quickly it becomes unreadable. This also makes it impossible to function like fraps with it's instant update.

    I think it would be best if numerical values were left aligned with their ones, tens, and hundreds place columns fixed to one spot. :)
     
  9. Gabkicks

    Gabkicks Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 290 Tri-x OC Crossfire
    Is there a way to get the power limit % to work properly for both of my R9 290s in MSI afterburner? i have to manually go into CCC and set it to 50% for each card, otherwise i get lots of throttling.
    I have two Sapphire R9 290 Tri-x OC cards
     
  10. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    That is what is right alignment:
    123
    23
    3

    when right aligned, the ones, tens and hundreds are placed the same spot everytime. No matter if the number has 1, 2 or 3 digits.

    Therefore I don't get what's your problem with the readability?
     

  11. roothorick

    roothorick New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 470 @785Mhz
    RTSS detects Razer Synapse and the OwnCloud client as "3D" applications. If either are running, even in the background, automatic profile management will stop working, and get stuck on the 3D profile.

    A quick and dirty workaround is to simply add RzSynapse.exe and owncloud.exe as exceptions in RTSS, with detection set to "None".
     
  12. PsychicHigh

    PsychicHigh New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x XFX R9-290X Black Edit
    I'm not sure if this is just me, even though it usually is, but I am running into an issue where the overclocking is not applied during startup/boot even though it is checked.

    I am running Windows 8.1, updated to the latest patches. Currently I have two XFX R9-290X Double Dissipation Black Editions installed, though I'm using liquid cooling on both of them. Current drivers are Catalyst 14.7 Beta, Driver 9.14.10.0.1044, from Aug. 12.

    Stock core is 1050 MHz and Memory is at 1250 MHz. My settings are Core upped to 1125, Memory upped to 1450, Power Limit at 30% with Core Voltage upped by 19 mV.

    MSI Afterburner and AMD CCC both report that core and memory run at stock, so I have to hit Reset twice and then reselect profile 1 and then Apply before over clocking will be applied correctly.

    I have performed some troubleshooting, and I am looking for further troubleshooting steps or possibly filing a bug report.

    Completed a full downgrade of the drivers by uninstalling and removing all current drivers for these cards and installed the latest stable, 14.4. Upgraded 14.6 Beta (May 23), RC2 (June 23) and 14.7 (Aug 12). With each of these attempts I have tried setting everything to stock, uninstalling MSI Afterburner and then re-installing afterwards.

    Current version of MSI Afterburner that I am using is 4.0.0.4604 (compiled Aug 31).

    As a note, I have tried setting the switches to both silent mode and uber mode for the firmware to be used but have not made a difference as according to MSI the fans the cards are missing due to phantom limb syndrome are usually around 20%.

    System Info from MSI Afterburner
    Code:
    CPU
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Model                : AMD FX(tm)-9590 Eight-Core Processor
    Logical cores        : 8
    CPUID                : AuthenticAMD family F, model 2, stepping 0
    
    GPU1
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Display device       : AMD Radeon R9 200 Series on Hawaii GPU
    Display driver       : 9.14.10.01044, Catalyst 14.7
    BIOS                 : 015.041.000.001
    GUID                 : VEN_1002&DEV_67B0&SUBSYS_92901682&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0
    Multi-GPU role       : master
    Registry key         : \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{BBF256F4-6EFF-4883-81EF-E229F4D4AFB6}\0000
    VDDC controller      : IR3567B on I2C bus 6, device 30h
    AUX controller       : IR3567B on I2C bus 6, device 30h
    
    GPU2
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Display device       : AMD Radeon R9 200 Series on Hawaii GPU
    Display driver       : 9.14.10.01044, Catalyst 14.7
    BIOS                 : 015.041.000.001
    GUID                 : VEN_1002&DEV_67B0&SUBSYS_92901682&REV_00&BUS_5&DEV_0&FN_0
    Multi-GPU role       : synchronized with master
    
    On-Screen Display server
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    Path                 : C:\Program Files (x86)\RivaTuner Statistics Server
    Version              : v6.2.0
    Active client(s)     : On-Screen Display module
    Active 3D process    : not detected
    SystemInfo CLI
    Code:
    C:\Users\Liquid D>systeminfo
    
    Host Name:                 NEBULA
    OS Name:                   Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro
    OS Version:                6.3.9600 N/A Build 9600
    OS Manufacturer:           Microsoft Corporation
    OS Configuration:          Standalone Workstation
    OS Build Type:             Multiprocessor Free
    Registered Owner:          Liquid D
    Registered Organization:
    Product ID:                00178-10299-17403-AA916
    Original Install Date:     10/17/2013, 9:25:27 PM
    System Boot Time:          9/16/2014, 11:57:30 PM
    System Manufacturer:       To be filled by O.E.M.
    System Model:              To be filled by O.E.M.
    System Type:               x64-based PC
    Processor(s):              1 Processor(s) Installed.
                               [01]: AMD64 Family 21 Model 2 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD ~5117 Mhz
    BIOS Version:              American Megatrends Inc. 2101, 4/17/2014
    Windows Directory:         C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory:          C:\WINDOWS\system32
    Boot Device:               \Device\HarddiskVolume2
    System Locale:             en-us;English (United States)
    Input Locale:              en-us;English (United States)
    Time Zone:                 (UTC-07:00) Mountain Time (US & Canada)
    Total Physical Memory:     32,681 MB
    Available Physical Memory: 29,659 MB
    Virtual Memory: Max Size:  67,497 MB
    Virtual Memory: Available: 63,632 MB
    Virtual Memory: In Use:    3,865 MB
    Page File Location(s):     C:\pagefile.sys
    Domain:                    WORKGROUP
    Logon Server:              \\MicrosoftAccount
    Hotfix(s):                 90 Hotfix(s) Installed.
                               [01]: KB2899189_Microsoft-Windows-CameraCodec-Package
                               [02]: KB2843630
                               [03]: KB2868626
                               [04]: KB2883200
                               [05]: KB2887595
                               [06]: KB2889543
                               [07]: KB2891214
                               [08]: KB2893294
                               [09]: KB2894029
                               [10]: KB2894179
                               [11]: KB2894852
                               [12]: KB2894856
                               [13]: KB2898868
                               [14]: KB2900986
                               [15]: KB2901125
                               [16]: KB2901128
                               [17]: KB2903939
                               [18]: KB2904440
                               [19]: KB2911106
                               [20]: KB2912390
                               [21]: KB2913152
                               [22]: KB2918614
                               [23]: KB2919355
                               [24]: KB2919394
                               [25]: KB2919442
                               [26]: KB2920189
                               [27]: KB2923528
                               [28]: KB2928680
                               [29]: KB2931358
                               [30]: KB2931366
                               [31]: KB2939153
                               [32]: KB2939576
                               [33]: KB2950153
                               [34]: KB2954879
                               [35]: KB2955164
                               [36]: KB2956575
                               [37]: KB2957189
                               [38]: KB2958262
                               [39]: KB2959626
                               [40]: KB2959977
                               [41]: KB2961072
                               [42]: KB2962140
                               [43]: KB2962409
                               [44]: KB2962872
                               [45]: KB2964718
                               [46]: KB2964736
                               [47]: KB2965142
                               [48]: KB2965500
                               [49]: KB2965788
                               [50]: KB2966804
                               [51]: KB2966826
                               [52]: KB2966828
                               [53]: KB2967917
                               [54]: KB2969339
                               [55]: KB2969817
                               [56]: KB2971203
                               [57]: KB2971239
                               [58]: KB2971850
                               [59]: KB2972094
                               [60]: KB2972213
                               [61]: KB2972280
                               [62]: KB2973114
                               [63]: KB2973201
                               [64]: KB2973351
                               [65]: KB2973448
                               [66]: KB2974008
                               [67]: KB2975061
                               [68]: KB2975719
                               [69]: KB2976627
                               [70]: KB2976897
                               [71]: KB2977174
                               [72]: KB2977629
                               [73]: KB2977765
                               [74]: KB2978668
                               [75]: KB2979500
                               [76]: KB2979582
                               [77]: KB2980654
                               [78]: KB2981580
                               [79]: KB2981655
                               [80]: KB2982791
                               [81]: KB2982794
                               [82]: KB2984006
                               [83]: KB2987114
                               [84]: KB2988948
                               [85]: KB2989647
                               [86]: KB2990532
                               [87]: KB2993100
                               [88]: KB2993651
                               [89]: KB2994897
                               [90]: KB2995004
    Network Card(s):           3 NIC(s) Installed.
                               [01]: Fortinet virtual adapter
                                     Connection Name: Local Area Connection
                                     Status:          Media disconnected
                               [02]: PPPoP WAN Adapter
                                     Connection Name: Local Area Connection 2
                                     DHCP Enabled:    No
                                     IP address(es)
                               [03]: Intel(R) 82583V Gigabit Network Connection
                                     Connection Name: Ethernet 2
                                     DHCP Enabled:    Yes
                                     DHCP Server:     10.128.1.1
                                     IP address(es)
                                     [01]: 10.128.1.200
                                     [02]: fe80::b81b:78fc:dc32:4d8a
                                     [03]: 2001:4978:f:8669:99f8:f068:795e:50ef
                                     [04]: 2001:4978:f:8669:b81b:78fc:dc32:4d8a
    Hyper-V Requirements:      VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
                               Virtualization Enabled In Firmware: Yes
                               Second Level Address Translation: Yes
                               Data Execution Prevention Available: Yes
     
  13. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    Don't own an AMD card, never used CCC. IIRC something in CCC is overriding. Search these forums.
     
  14. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    This "workaround" is quick, but it isn't dirty. It is the way it's meant to be.
     
  15. luke76bg

    luke76bg Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 boost edition
    RTSS doesn't work properly with the vanishing of ethan carter, show incorrect fps, and it can't frame limiter the game, because if you try, the game hang at start up!
     

  16. Line40

    Line40 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970, 4GB
    Afterburner NVENC capture support for Maxwell 130Mbps bitrates

    Hello

    I'd like to request Afterburner NVENC video capture support for the higher bitrates (130Mbps) that the recently released GTX 970/980 cards support.

    I do a lot of 4k recording, and for that I'd like a little more bitrate for my "raw" footage than the 50Mbps Afterburner supports at the moment.

    Cheers

    Line40


    PS: I'd be happy to beta test and donate if that speeds up things :)
     
  17. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,263
    Likes Received:
    1,318
    You may fix it by copying OLGame.exe to AstronautsGame-Win64-Shipping.exe.cfg in .\ProfileTemplates folder.
     
  18. zerowalker

    zerowalker Master Guru

    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 380
    I would like to see a change to fix the noise floor problem.
    Currently Audio is being captured directly at 16bit via Wasapi, and this causes some issues as it's automatically resampled and processed at 16bit (Wasapi does some fancy stuff all the time), this causes the noise floor to increase to more audible levels (Even though 16bit itself is clean).

    There is a very easy way to solve this, and it's pretty much what all audio software does, and some recording ones (Dxtory).

    Simply Record the Audio with Wasapi 32bit Float (24 bit may even work), then just truncate it (preferably dither, but that's another complexity) to 16bit, then save that.

    32bit Float -> 16bit -> File

    Simply story, you have extra space to do the calculation Wasapi wants to do so the noise floor is non-existant, then go back to 16bit and Voila, clean audio:)

    (If you need more information just PM me)

    Hope to see this, as it's just one thing that really bothers me, even though most probably don't care. But it's such an easy thing to fix that, well just fix it;P!
     
  19. cookieboyeli

    cookieboyeli Master Guru

    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 @2126

    Yes that's what I'm asking for. They are NOT all aligned that way. Frametime is left aligned so when moving from double digit to single digit it shifts place. Thus, setting a polling rate faster than 250ms makes the frametime readout completely illegible.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
  20. psychic717

    psychic717 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    This was probably already said, but Afterburner conflicts with steam overlay on 64bit games.
    Right now every new game is 64bit, so we either have steam overlay or afterburner overlay, we can't have both...
    Will this be fixed in the future?

    Also, regarding 64bit games, D3DOverrider doesn't work on this type of games.
    Is there a solution available or being worked on? I know this isn't related to Afterburner, but still...
    There are a few that require triple buffering (Shadow of Mordor is one) but I can't force it on them because of 64bit exe.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page