1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MSI afterburner bug report & suggestion

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by msi-afterburner, Oct 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    I hooked MSI Aft. with SWEET FX 1.5.1 but SweetFX could not be seen in captured videos only on my screen when gaming.
    What to do so that sweetfx can be seen on captured videos?
     
  2. azxb2b

    azxb2b New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680
    anyone know what could be causing this?

    whenever afterburner is started (after a reboot etc) it cranks the overclock settings to max causing everything to freeze with artifacts. the fans ramp up and eventually the display driver resets which allows me to go into the settings and reset the overclock settings to normal.

    card: 680
    drivers: 331.40 beta
    afterburner: 3.0 b14
     
  3. Smellyead

    Smellyead New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R7870 OC
    Hi,

    Since updating to the latest beta version, I cannot get screen capture or video capture to work? Using RTSS v5.3.2

    Anyone any idea, I have tired changing the keys and directory to see if it helped.
     
  4. BarboneNet

    BarboneNet Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 HIS X1900 Crossfire LiquidCooling
    hi guys, were can i find msi afterburner extreme? i'm a ln2 user, please;)
     

  5. Mr.Joe

    Mr.Joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    670DC2-1333/3915-EK~H20
    Just a simple question:

    Is there any chance we can add the option to monitor our CPU Package-temerature as well?

    Curious as at least on my system that is the one you'd want to watch, would also be nice to save some space in the monitoring window.


    Same goes for cpu usage.

    I believe this would also benefit from being available as the total cpu load rather than being displayed on a "per-core" basis.
     
  6. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
  7. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 6950 2GB + S. T260
    Just updated to Windows 8.1 and RTSS.exe is repeatedly crashing, with a "stopped working" dialogue from windows.
    (Win8.1 Pro with Media Centre x64, MSI AB 2.3.1)
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,350
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    Use search!
     
  9. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 6950 2GB + S. T260
    Sorry, but I used search and found this post, uninstalled fully, including settings, then installed 3.0 beta 16 with RTSS 5.4 separately. However, when I go to AB settings and on the "monitoring" tab, select "framerate" or "show in OSD" on any of the options & click okay, it immediately gives me a dialogue box that says RTSS stopped working & keeps doing so until I go back and disable the OSD function.
    Did I miss something or have I done something wrong?
     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,350
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    I'd like to see full crash message with crash module/address info.
     

  11. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 6950 2GB + S. T260
    I replicated the event to get this from Event Viewer:

    Code:
    Faulting application name: RTSS.exe, version: 5.4.0.5544, time stamp: 0x5267c294
    Faulting module name: d3d8.dll, version: 6.3.9600.16384, time stamp: 0x52158c3f
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000323cc
    Faulting process id: 0x6cc
    Faulting application start time: 0x01ced430f2ada705
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\RivaTuner Statistics Server\RTSS.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d8.dll
    Report Id: 31b569d5-4024-11e3-bf06-002421b3acfe
    Faulting package full name: 
    Faulting package-relative application ID: 
    
     
  12. Xitro

    Xitro New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    XPS17 problem

    Hello everyone,

    I have a strange problem with Afterburner I use the latest version at the moment beta 16.
    Whenever Afterburner is running, my GPU/CPU fan is going on and off the whole time, quite annoying.
    When I close Afterburner the problem dissapears. It is not possible for me to adjust Fan curves or anything as Afterburner do not support it for my system I guess. The problem also occurs when I didn't overclock anything, it's just the program that's messing something up with my fan.

    Here are some details about my laptop atm:
    Dell XPS17 L702X-2013
    Windows 8.1 64bit (problem occured with Windows 7 64bit as well)
    Nvidia Geforce GT555M
    MSI Afterburner 3.0.0b16 (problem occured with beta 15 as well)

    The temperature for the CPU and GPU both idle at around 50 degrees, so there is no reason for the fan to go louder.

    Does anyone have a possible solution for this?

    Thank you.
    Chris
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013
  13. zoliiiii

    zoliiiii New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd 3850 512mb
    Hello!
    I use the latest stable afterburner, and my problem is when i start a game the gpu clock and the memory clock is going back to the default values. I've set profile in the profiles menu (2d and 3d), but there no things changed.

    What can i do?
     
  14. SlazsH

    SlazsH Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Trio X
    MSI R9 280X Core voltage

    Hello guys! Just to report that MSI R9 280X Core voltage in 3D clocks are not being changed not unless i force "constant voltage".

    I can move the vCore slider, apply it but 3D clocks are still unchanged, under load, it only works when i force constant voltage but i don't want my card being stuck at 3D volts.

    Tried using TrixX and changing the 3D voltage works just fine without forcing it.


    Windows 7 SP1 64bit
    MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 17
    13.11 BETA 9.2 Drivers



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2013
  15. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Anyone know what the deal is with the erratic GPU usage on the R9s?
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,350
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    People able to read forums knows the reason. The rest can keep blaming AB for that.
     
  17. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i never implied it was AB, i just havent found the reason.

    Thank you for the link, and your usual snarky response.

    Ive been searching for the answer for a week.

    I will spread the word.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2013
  18. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    Hiya..

    This is a strange one.. In Microsoft FSX MSI will report triple the actual FPS but only if I have my HDMI monitor hooked up.. (triple monitors)

    This is FSX's native internal overlay

    [​IMG]

    30FPS locked (and that's accurate, FRAPs reports the same thing)

    This is what MSI afterburner reports.

    [​IMG]

    If I unplug the HDMI monitor and play the game out on one of my other two monitors hooked up to it (DVI) it will then display the correct FPS..

    * Ignore the strange VRAM report. I had just disabled SLI to eliminate that as a possibility and that's just a side affect from it until I close down and restart it.. It reports triple regardless anyway.. FSX see's all 3 of my monitors as graphics card options, so MSI seems to be taking that and doing the x3 on the FPS..

    On Beta 17
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2013
  19. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,350
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    It was discussed and mentioned several times that total sum FPS is being displayed for applications displaying multiple 3D windows (3 windows in application displaying 30 FPS in each one will result in 90) . And no, it won't change, it is not typical scenario for a gaming application and too much efforts to detect / calc independent framerate for each window.
     
  20. CoolHwip

    CoolHwip New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 280x DD
    I am having the same issue with my XFX DD R9 280x. Didn't realize you could use force constant voltage to make it do that though. Should work well enough for my purposes for now, mainly undervolting while mining ltc when I'm not using my pc for gaming/movies.

    Windows 8.1 x64
    MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 17
    13.11 BETA 9.5 Drivers
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page