MSI afterburner bug report & suggestion

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by msi-afterburner, Oct 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    926
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    How is the testing going?

    Release soon? Or....
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,003
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    It will be released when it is done.
     
  3. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,758
    Likes Received:
    821
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    any guide for 1080 OC with the curve panel thing ?!

    i'm not passing the 2065core clock
     
  4. QuantumAI

    QuantumAI New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    After restart it fixed itself. I guess it's happen rarely. Thx for info
     

  5. pstlouis

    pstlouis Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Aorus Xt
  6. kx11

    kx11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,758
    Likes Received:
    821
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    thnx man
     
  7. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    309
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    This is suggestion , it might be helpful to have an indication of what profile is loaded and being used.

    On the MSI system tray menu on profile part, have a check-mark next to one running.
    On MSI GUI maybe a outlined box around the profile number which is in use.
    Its minor thing, not needed so much with GUI is up but if minimized the tray profile indicator would help.
     
  8. Haldi

    Haldi Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    R9-290 CF
    The RTSS and OSD work pretty well in a VM with RemoteFX GPU. That's cool.
     
  9. Tomas Vrbada

    Tomas Vrbada New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 960m (4GB)
    I have a problem with AfterBurner... Sometimes it bugs out, the core clock and memory clock raise to 17678. The only overclock I do its core clock +135. It has changed by itself like two times now and given me problems. I am scared that it may damage my gpu. Any advice?
     
  10. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    Read the Readme.pdf?
    => If it works, ok. If not, bad luck.
     

  11. dinaiz

    dinaiz New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 4GB
    Not sure it's a bug or a misusage from me, so feel free to insult me if I was wrong to post this here ;)

    Afterburner is slowing down my graphics card, I'm not joking !!

    I wanted to try to overclock my MSI GTX 970, so I naturally tried afterbruner.

    Without it, I achieve 60 FPS in assasin's creed unity in high mode (1920*1200)
    With it I have less than 30 FPS, now matter how much I push the cursors !!!

    Intrigued by this result, I ran GPU-Z on my secondary screen and, without AB, the GPU is used at 100%. With AB, it's used only around 50% ?!

    Can anyone explain me what I'm missing please ?
     
  12. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    Did you set the frame rate limiter?
     
  13. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    I noticed that i can't check on ''Apply overclocking at system startup'', is there a solution? Gtx 1070 Gainward Phoenix Golden Sample.
     
  14. dinaiz

    dinaiz New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 4GB
    The problem is now solved and I have no idea how it was solved ??!!

    By the way, what do you mean by frame rate limiter ? If you mean vsync, it's always been off. If you mean some setting AB, I have no idea where to find it but I'm sure I didn't touch it...
     
  15. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    A setting in RTSS allows global or individual.exe profile frame limiter.
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,003
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    Solution is to read last version's release notes carefully.


     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    309
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I am not really following this, I always had all porfile edited and then locked (to migrate change of being altered).
    Then use one for startup with applying "appy OC at startup", so now how do you use/run a locked profile at startup?

    I guess the workaround would be to use 2d and 3d profile, if you have them locked.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,003
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    You don't seem to understand the meaning if that option. It doesn't prevent you from applying a profile at windows startup. It is protecting statrup settings from sudden/unwanted modification while "Lock profiles" button is pressed.
     
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    309
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Ok, for sure I am misunderstanding. I will read the manual again.

    But from your above statement, I take it, its protecting the startup OC setting (profile) even though lock is not enabled.

    PS: I have never had a issue with startup OC not working right, but i guess about yr ago or so set locked enabled thinking it might help prevent any issue , after I saw few reports from users having reported.

    Edit: Duh, my bad I see what is happening, and yes i didn't fully understand or test it before posting, sorry.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  20. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,003
    Likes Received:
    3,507
    Wrong. And I don't know what to add to the things I posted above.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page