MSI Afterburner 4.3.0 Final is Released

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 27, 2016.

  1. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Yes put application detection to none. Works but the frame rate was killing me. Hopefully Nvidia sort out the flickering on DX11 but thats incidental
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    Reproduced that, seem to be result of changes in DX12 renderer of BF1 Fall Update. I'll investigate it deeper during weekends.
     
  3. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    Saw this at Nv forums. FYI. I'm not seeing the "abnormally low 8xxMHz memory clock" issue and I'm using 4.3.0. !

    https://forums.geforce.com/default/...read-released-11-15-16-/post/5019575/#5019575
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    Nope, that's not the case, what he describe is a throttling cured by reboot and it is not about recently released 375.86. Stuck 8xx memory clocks on 375.86 is seen on the systems with no oc tools installed and with GPU-Z only.
     

  5. Joakim

    Joakim New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX Titan X Pascal
    Well I have tested the new Afterburner with 375.70/375.76/375.86 and after the new patch my BF1 is flickering all over the place. I have repaired it, updated(not that I needed just hit the button), my system is GTX980Ti SLI and all tests I did was with DX11.

    Just uninstalled Afterburner and installed Firestorm (Zotacs fancontrolsoftware without onscreen features) and the problem is the same. All started with the fall patch it seems.
     
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    What's a purpose of posting it here? Flickering in DX11 on multi-GPU systems is a known and documented issue of BF1 Fall update, it doesn't depend on NV driver version, it is not NV specific issue and having place on Crossfire systems as well. And furthermore it has zero relation to AB.
     
  7. Joakim

    Joakim New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX Titan X Pascal
    I have reverted to 375.76 and are using MSI Afterburner and the game flicks as usual(BF1), I then tried BF4 and BF3, no issues what so ever............Fall Patch piece of ****......
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    Dear forum visitors!

    Good news, happily I could fit the investigation of BF1 Fall Update crashing in DX12 mode in my work schedule and work on it earlier than I promised before. I think I identified the root cause of BF1 Fall Update crashing in DX12 mode with OSD enabled and hopefully got the RTSS update to address that. Heh, I could actually release it yesterday, but thanks to one "polite" developer in steam community, I killed a lot of time on useless "battle" there instead. :) Anyway, here is new build of RTSS featuring the following changes:

    Please try it any let me know if it address BF1 Fall Update startup issues in DX12 mode for you. Once we confirm that the fix is working, we'll put RTSS 6.5.1 in downloads and make it visible to update servers.

    http://office.guru3d.com/afterburner/RTSSSetup651Build8791.rar
     
  9. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    Until DICE address that and restore multiGPU support with a new patch, there are two ways to solve it:

    - Disable SLI/CF to play BF1 in DX11 mode on a single GPU
    - Enable DX12 renderer instead of DX11 in BF1. There is no explicit multiGPU support in their DX12 renderer yet so this way you'll also effectively use a single GPU config only
     
  10. fpollan

    fpollan Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 1080GLH
    Big thanks!!!

    Perfect here. Battlefield 1 fall dx12 runs!!!

    Im use Logitech LCD and Msi Abterburner 4.3. And my ring if you need.

    Sistema operativo
    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.00GHz 16 °C
    Skylake 14nm Tecnología
    RAM
    16,0GB Doble-Canal Desconocido @ 1071MHz (15-15-15-35)
    Placa base
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. MAXIMUS VIII HERO (LGA1151) 20 °C
    Gráfica
    Acer X34 (3440x1440@100Hz)
    GainWard GLH GeForce GTX 1080 (CardExpert Technology) 27 °C
    Almacenamiento
    223GB KINGSTON SH103S3240G (SSD) 22 °C
    447GB OCZ-TRION150 (SSD) 22 °C
    223GB TOSHIBA-TR150 (SSD) 22 °C
    596GB Western Digital WDC WD6402AAEX-00Z3A0 (SATA) 26 °C
    1863GB Seagate ST2000DX001-1CM164 (SATA) 23 °C
    Unidades ópticas
    Ninguna unidad óptica detectada
    Audio
    Logitech G633 Gaming Headset

    Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2016

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks for confirming. I think we'll wait for a couple days to collect some feedback then launch the update officially.
     
  12. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290 ACIV 1120/1300
    Yup, AB/RTSS now work fine, tested@DX12 with the 16.11.4s

    The same cannot be said for the game itself...nice mess they created with the fall update.
     
  13. anth_15

    anth_15 Master Guru

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 1070 Strix 8GB

    Thank you it works for me fine no crash on startup.
     
  14. Kol12

    Kol12 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Is the RTSS update irrelevant for Battlefield 1 DX11 users?
     
  15. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,291
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury OC
    The compatibility setting (BF1.exe.cfg having "HookDXGISwapChainRelease = 0" , default is 1 ) might have a use in future DirectX 12 games I guess, or possibly anything using DXGI and doing this swap-chain multiple-rendering thread thing though for all I know that might be DX12 only having such functionality.

    Improved localization might be useful too and the frame rate denominator for those who need that.
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,969
    Likes Received:
    52
    The only known and fixed BF1 related issue is Fall Updated crashing on startup in DX12 mode with RTSS active. The update doesn't address anything besides that an doesn't affect DX11 rendering path.
     
  17. Kol12

    Kol12 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Thanks @JonasBeckman @Unwinder

    Have just updated to 4.3.0 and noticed that RTSS doesn't open up with AB... Both have to be opened and closed separately.
     
  18. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,291
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury OC
    Make sure you have enabled RTSS if it's a clean install with a blank config, in Afterburner click the cog like icon to go to properties and then monitoring, place a check mark in anything you want displayed in the graphs (e.g Framerate.) and then under that there's other properties which for each of the ticked monitoring graphs make sure "Show in On-screen display" is also checked.

    Then under the OSD tab if you have no need of adjusting the hotkey combination just click "More" to open RTSS and set detection level to low globally (Or on a per-profile if you'd rather do that.) with "on-screen display support" also set to on along with "show on screen display" and finally click the wrench icon and tick the "Enable 64-bit application support service." check box. :) (So many games these days are using 64-bit but it's a good option to have if you have little need of this say for a older machine.)
     
  19. ultraex2003

    ultraex2003 Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Amd 2x290 Cfx
    same here bro !! Battlefield 1 fall dx12 runs ok !!! thanks a lot !!
     
  20. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,855
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    If all else fails -> restart
     

Share This Page