MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 5(2013-02-25)

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by msi-afterburner, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. msi-afterburner

    msi-afterburner Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI N275GTX Lightning
  2. laimis911

    laimis911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    I can't change fps color in OSDServer with this new version .

    I had to change manually C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\Bundle\OSDServer\Profiles\Global BaseColor=00FFFF00 to be yellow . I'm using Windows 8 64-bit
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  3. max883

    max883 Banned

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 780Ti SLi
    Yes now i can overclock my watercooled gtx 690 voltage from 1.75 to 2.35
     
  4. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    Hi Alex,

    Can you check the time value in the shared memory headers? Maybe it changed with the new compiler (not forcing 32-bit time)? I'm getting 0 for time and something invalid for the following values (dwCommand for MACM and dwNumGpuEntries/dwGpuEntrySize for MAHM).

    When trying to run the included SDK sample for MAHM, it opens a window without drawing any content and just hangs taking CPU resources. The MACM sample opens, but I have not tried applying anything thinking the command value returned may not be good.

    Windows 8 Pro x64

    Please let me know what you find, thanks!

    - Nick
     

  5. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    See no problems with it here. Define "can't change" in details.
     
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Nick,

    Yep, even without checking it here it definitively sounds like compiler related issue. I'll test and fix it, thanks for reporting.
     
  7. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    All

    Guys, migration to a different VC++ compiler could cause weird issues with any part of functionality. So please report any anomalities if you notice any.
     
  8. JulioCesarSF

    JulioCesarSF Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 780 Ti
    Can you add temp limit to GTX 680 Lightning?
     
  9. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, NVIDIA supports it for GPU Boost 2.0 capable graphics cards only.
     
  10. Zaim

    Zaim Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7970 Lightning BE
    That's interesting, I thought you couldn't overvolt kepler cards anymore.
     

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,904
    Likes Received:
    2
    I seriously doubt that NVIDIA somehow left new Titan voltage control active on 690 family. Sounds like trolling for me.
     
  12. bigb

    bigb New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 580M
    OSD high CPU usage & C++ ver?

    On 3.0 beta 5 my OSD process uses about 17% of my CPU usage.

    Seems some issue with OSD server 5.0 maybe?

    I reinstalled prior build of Afterburner with 4.5 OSD and all is fine again.

    Anyone else confirm this?

    RTSS (32-bit) is the process the CPU spikes.


    Also, why include older V++ 2008 SP1 build when a more recent and secure one exsts? http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=26368 is the officially supported one as includes a security issue this build patched.

    Is highly recommended you replace the one included in the package with this one. As for compiling it will have no impact as they are virtually the same just this one addresses an issue with paths.
     
  13. RanCor TDO

    RanCor TDO Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 1080 GameRock

    I have the same problem, RTSS.exe is using nearly 40% of my CPU while just sitting on the desktop.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Zaim

    Zaim Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7970 Lightning BE
    I can also confirm its using 18% of my CPU.
     
  15. erm

    erm Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 560 1GB
    Unwinder thanks for the nice job, but I have the same problem on Windows 8 pro x64 :
    one core at 70-80%...
    localization in progress... thx
     

  16. ablev

    ablev Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro RX 580 LE
    Since a long, long time i use the gadget "GPUmonitor" with Afterburner to see my card-settings on desktop.
    [​IMG]

    but now, after install AB 3.0.0, i see only this:
    [​IMG]

    What´s wrong and what can i do?
    Sorry for my bad english.

    Edit: OK, found another way.
    I use HWINFO 64 with HWiNFOMonitor, works fine.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  17. Ltmatt

    Ltmatt Member Guru

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
    Hi Unwinder,

    I'm getting slightly increased temps with this version compared to 3.2.1. Vrm temps have gone up 4c. I also noticed that my stock voltage of 1.112 now shows as 1.113.

    Aside from that im also getting high cpu usage from afterburner while idle as per this screenshot of task manager. Windows 8, 7970.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. PirateNeilsouth

    PirateNeilsouth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 OC
    Since installing the latest Afterburner I'm getting 12fps in WarZ, previous 60fps!

    Uh oh

    EDIT : Went back to 2.3.1 I think it was, the last release... working fine again :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  19. stangowner

    stangowner Master Guru

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xMSI N550GTX-Ti Cy II OC
    The current beta has a known issue which will affect all 3rd party applications. So use previous official version for now or wait for the next 3.0 build.

    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  20. drewho

    drewho Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080
    RTSS giving me 25% cpu usage too
     

Share This Page