MSI Afterburner 3.0.0 Beta 14(2013-08-16)

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by msi-afterburner, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    Reproduced, it happens on fresh install of RTSS when there is no profiles folder created for it yet. Open RTSS GUI at least once. Then try to configure the plugin again.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2013
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    All


    NCP4206 is also used on many modern NVIDIA reference design cards (Titan, 7x0 and some 6x0). MSI don't provide official voltage control via NCP4206 for such cards, however you may try to unlock it by adding the following strings to hardware profile (.\Profiles\VEN_10DE......cfg):

    [Settings]
    VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
    VDDC_NCP4206_Detection = 4:20h

    You can easily verify if your GPU is powered by NCP4206 even without the profile modification using the following command line switch:

    MSIAfterburner /ri4,20,99

    This command reads NCP4206 ID register, if it will display "41" value - you can unlock direct voltage control via NCP using the profile modification trick mentioned above.
     
  3. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,973
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Thanks


    Guess my card (Evga 780 ATX) doesnt have NCP4206 voltage control.
    im getting this message:

    [​IMG]

    Could other people please respond with their result as well ?
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    The list of known issues in this beta:

    - Stopping video capture via QuickSync/Direct3D11 mode after capturing video in Direct3D9 applications causes application to freeze for a few seconds. Fixed in the next version of RTSS.
    - Starting video capture via QuickSync/Direct3D9 in fullscreen Direct3D9 applications causes applications to hang.
    - Restarting video capture session multiple times during application lifetime adds empty fake tracks to output file per each restart. Fixed in the next version of RTSS.
    - It is impossible to configure external plugin of VFW compression mode properly without starting RTSS GUI at least one time prior to it. Fixed in the next version of RTSS.
     

  5. silencerbob

    silencerbob New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi 780 twin frozr
    Thank you kind sir .. That did the trick!
     
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  7. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,973
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2013
  8. elbubi

    elbubi Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980 Ti G1
    Thanks for this useful info Alex, hope my card uses that reference voltage controller.

    Regards!
     
  9. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    You may try to probe alternate bus (/ri3,20,99) but the chances to see NCP there are low if not zero.
     

  11. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yes, look kind of modular , but I guess if he doesn't get 41 with command line something not supported .
     
  12. DStealth

    DStealth Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    MSI GX 1080Ti@2088/12000
    Answer 41, not invalid now.
    [​IMG]
    But voltage's still limited to +62mv a.k.a. 1.212v
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2013
  13. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Why, would you care about this, you have linghtening which has a added voltage regulator . I believe it should have support right out of box but you might need the Lightening edition , not sure on this .
     
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    If it replies on different bus then different bus should be specified in CFG as well:

    VDDC_NCP4206_Detection = 3:20h
    instead of
    VDDC_NCP4206_Detection = 4:20h
     
  15. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    So your say if a card has proper NCP4206 support you will be able to control GPU core voltage above 1.212 ?

    I always thought your limited to the bios as that is what stock voltage regulator works with . I thought that was reason MSI adds another voltage regulator to kind of bypass whole bios and just add to stock voltage .
     

  16. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,973
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    If i try this command i get this message:

    [​IMG]

    if i add

    [Settings]
    VDDC_Generic_Detection = 0
    VDDC_NCP4206_Detection = 3:20h

    in the VEN_10DE&DEV_1004&SUBSYS_27843842&REV_A1&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0.cfg the voltage in afterburner is set to auto, and manually i am able to set it up to 1.30v

    [​IMG]

    and some lines were added in the ven_ cfg file

    [I2C_BUS_03_DEV_20]
    Offset00=00 80 17 7F 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset10=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 B0 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset20=20 00 00 00 00 20 B2 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset30=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset40=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 64 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset50=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset60=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 2C 00 00 00 00 00
    Offset70=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 08 00 00 00 00 80 00
    Offset80=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 73 2D 00 00 00
    Offset90=00 00 00 00 00 00 E2 00 00 41 98 01 00 00 00 00
    OffsetA0=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    OffsetB0=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    OffsetC0=00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    OffsetD0=00 03 72 72 03 02 01 C9 FF 00 00 00 00 03 10 00
    OffsetE0=00 00 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 00 07 00 00 FF
    OffsetF0=FF 8B 00 00 00 02 02 00 00 00 00 50 3E 00 00 00

    However the voltage which i set in afterburner is not applied when i check in aida64 or gpuz. it stays at stock 1.162v
    I first tried 1.18v then went higher, but none were applied.

    Does this mean i have the wrong voltage controller ?
     
  17. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,402
    Likes Received:
    2,671
    No, it means that you have to use the tools supporting direct reading from NCP instead of just displaying driver voltages. Use DMM and ignore driver readings.
     
  18. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,973
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    ah right , stupid me. it displays the values properly in afterburner.

    Thanks Unwinder :thumbup:
     
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    The easy way is just to check max clock at stock voltage and bump GPU core voltage to like 1250 and check max clock now .
    That is what I used to do if you don't want to mess with DVM .

    I would run Heven or Valley at stock voltage , note how high before driver reset and then bump up voltage.
    I used to get good 40-50mhz plus for 1.162> +20mv

    I wouldn't use 1300mv for 24/7 , thats pretty high .
     
  20. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,973
    Likes Received:
    1,833
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    hehe dont worry, dont think i will ever run that high. )
    I need to be absolutely sure that the drivers are stable to start with before i would try anything. (which has been troublesome for nvidia lately).

    thanks for your suggestion though, will def give that a go when ill try things.
     

Share This Page