MSI AB / RTSS development news thread

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by Unwinder, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    What was the reason of experimenting with it on your side BTW? Disadvantage of new desending selection priority is that it can make overlay visible in applications using D3D rendering pattern similar to ReShade 5.6 (i.e. create both D3D10 and D3D11 devices at the same time). It is not typical for games but some applciations with hardware accelerated GUI may create such context and emulated D3D devices for 3D API interoperability (e.g. for CUDA or Direct2D usage purposes). For example Cinebench R23 uses such pattern, but you can simple exclude them from hooking like before.
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    Just received my new toy, which will be powered by RTSS in one of my rigs. Lamptron HC070 1024x600@60Hz IPS with RTSS OverlayEditor's mini overlay layout displayed there with DesktopOverlayHost. Probably I'll upgrade DesktopOverlayHost functionality a bit to improve usability on such class of devices.

    lamptron.jpg
     
  3. Tomatone

    Tomatone Member Guru

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    Nitro+ RX 580
    New RTSS default, descending selection priority, is big plus because a lot of older DX11 games
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    Couple posts above I mentioned that I’ll be brainstorming DesktopOverlayHost functionality upgrades aimed to improve usability on the systems with mini-display placed inside the PC case. The first batch of such tiny but useful GUI improvements is on the way. Technically such setup is just a traditional multimonitor environment, but it has some specifics. The specifics are related to tiny mini-display size and display location inside the case, which makes it pretty inconvenient and hard to adjust something on mini-display with a mouse cursor. In my specific case it is physically impossible to use mouse because I have multiple PCs and the one with mounted mini-display is not located on my table. So the following DesktopOverlayHost enhancements are aimed to address that:

    - Now you may use DOH tray icon menu to move host window to any display and maximize it there. So all window location adjustments are done on primary display.
    - Advanced properties of DOH are also displayed on the primary display now, if you invoke the properties from application tray icon.

    upload_2023-2-26_11-36-1.jpeg
     
    Bhudda, SanokKule, BlindBison and 9 others like this.

  5. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    A bit of offtopic related to RTSS development. As I mentioned above, currently I'm working on DesktopOverlayHost improvements related to RTSS + DesktopOverlayHost combo usage in setups with monitoring mini-display mounted inside PC case. I purchased Lamptron HC070 special for that purpose.
    However, I'd like to warn those who decide to buy such mini display devices from this manufacturer. Device is priced absolutely ridiculously, it costs about 120 € in Europe. Our local prices are even higher, it costed me approximately 160 € here. Alternately, you may simply order DIY kits from China and get similar display + controller 2-3 times cheaper (but you'll need to wait for delivery longer and create mounting yourself). Lamptorn are partially validating such pricing by software bundle, they promote themselves as AIDA partners and claim to inlclude full AIDA64 license (which starts from $60 depending on software edition) in their software bundle. However, I was puzzled to see that they bundle rather old AIDA64 build from 2019 and software key they provide do not allow upgrading AIDA to the latest version. Which maked me doubt that probably they sell pirated version of software.
    I contacted my old good friend Tamas who created AIDA to clarify it and sadly he confirmed that AIDA keys they resell are illegal. So think twice if you plan get such device from Lamptron and hope to get a legal copy of AIDA in a bundle. It is a bit shocking for me to see such thing from German hardware manufacturer. Shame on you, Lamptron.
     
    SanokKule, iNerd, toyo and 7 others like this.
  6. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    708
    GPU:
    RTX 4090
    Any plans on supporting HDR output for screenshots and video capture?
     
  7. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    Nope, sorry.
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    A few more improvements in DesktopOverlayHost on the way:

    - Now DesktopOverlayHost locks the window position, tracks display mode change events and patches monitor relative position on monitor coordinate space changes. This allows keeping overlay displayed in expected position on the secondary monitor even when fullscreen game changes the primary monitor resolution (which may cause changes in secondary monitor coordinate spaces and may cause the windows displayed there to be moved without such special locking feature)
    - Added new "Suspend rendering in idle" option to DesktopOverlayHost properties. You may enable it to save some power when DesktopOverlayHost is displaying overlay on desktop and no other 3D applications are running. When new option is enabled, DesktopOverlayHost will reduce its' own framerate to 1 FPS in idle (i.e. when no other 3D applications are running or when DesktopOverlayHost is a foreground application) but restore the full 30 FPS framerate when you launch some 3D application and switch to it.
     
  9. Earthrise

    Earthrise New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nVidia RTX 4090
    Would it be possible to add an option to allow the DesktopOverlayHost window to get behind other windows? It stays always on top, which is impractical. I use it on a 2nd monitor and everything I open, e.g. a web browser, is behind it.

    I would try to edit the source code myself, but I can't even load the project properly in VS, since there are files missing (""RTSSHooksTypes.h": No such file or directory", ""D3D11.h": No such file or directory").
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2023
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    No, it is intended to be topmost and displayed on top of all other desktop windows. It is not impractical, it is the way desktop overlay is intended to be shown. There is an option for passing mouse input through the window, which allows you to click your browser under overlay in your specific case but still see DesktopOverlayHost displayed on top of it.
    Also, no, there are no missing files and you can build it yourself. RTSSHooksTypes.h is inside SDK's Include folder and D3D11.h is DirectX SDK component header, which you obviously need to compile a project performing Direct11 rendering.
     
    Earthrise likes this.

  11. Earthrise

    Earthrise New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nVidia RTX 4090
    Well, for me and my usecase, it is impractical. I know about the passing mouse option, which I already use, but even with some transparency applied, it annoys me. Every time I want to use the full space of my 2nd monitor for something else, like a browser, a videoplayer or other things, while don't care for the Overlay at that moment, I have to completely shut it down, just to reopen it maybe 5 mins later. On Afterburners hardware monitor there is an option to enable/disable that "always on top"-thing, so I really don't get the point in not implementing it for the DesktopOverlay as well, but anyway.

    Thank you, that indeed helped me a lot! I just removed it, works like a charm! :)
     
  12. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    Understood. Ok, I'll add dedicated option for toggling topmost state (Show window always on top):

    upload_2023-3-1_20-25-21.png
     
  13. Earthrise

    Earthrise New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nVidia RTX 4090
    Thank you so much!
     
    toyo likes this.
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    Some useful info for those who experience crashes on startup in the latest ForzaHorizon 5 update with RTSS on. New game update do not tolerate Kernel32.dll LoadLibrary hooks and it won't launch if you use any application hooking that API. This applies to wide range of system applications starting from Microsoft's own ProcessExplorer, different security apps and ending by RTSS (if you applied some specific settigns to it yourself)
    RTSS is configured NOT to hook LoadLibrary by default (with application detection level set to Low, which is default setting), however it will start more deep hooking when you set application detection level to High there. So simply revert it to default "Low" settings to get it fixed. But the rest affected apps like ProcessExplorer need to be closed completely.
     
    BlindBison, Andy_K, iNerd and 2 others like this.
  15. Andy_K

    Andy_K Master Guru

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 960 OC
    Wow... imagine having ProcessExplorer set as your replacement Taskmanager
    upload_2023-3-3_7-58-41.png
     
    Unwinder likes this.

  16. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,391
    Likes Received:
    6,312
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    GTA4 would abort start with it running too, could start it afterwards.
     
  17. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    New RTSS v7.3.4 Beta 10 Build 27526 is available for download. RTSS itself didn't change since the previous beta, the same source code has been recompiled to increment build number. All improvements are related to DesktopOverlayHost, built-in profiles and installer. Full changes list includes the following:

    - Bundled DesktopOverlayHost tool has been upgraded to v1.3.0. New version provides multiple changes and new features aimed to improve DesktopOverlayHost usability in multimonitor environment in general and in specific case of multimonitor environment when secondary mini-display is mounted inside the PC case and used to display RTSS overlay with DesktopOverlayHost.
    - Slightly reorganized DesktopOverlayHost properties window, "Start with windows" option is moved there from tray icon context menu.
    - Direct3D11 rendering backend is selected by default now
    - Now you may use tray icon menu to move the window to any display and maximize it there. So all window location adjustments are done on primary display, which is expecially convenient when using DesktopOverlayHost with mini-display mounted inside the PC case
    - Now you may use '1'...'0' keys when DesktopOverlayHost window is focused to move it to displays 1..10 or 'W' to maximize it
    - Properties of DesktopOverlayHost window are also displayed on the primary display now, if you invoke the properties from application tray icon
    - Added new "Lock multimonitor window position option" to advanced properties. When this option is enabled DesktopOverlayHost locks the window position, tracks display mode change events and patches monitor relative position on monitor coordinate space changes. This allows keeping overlay displayed in expected position on the secondary monitor even when fullscreen game changes the primary monitor resolution (which may cause changes in secondary monitor coordinate spaces and may cause the windows displayed there to be moved without such special locking feature)
    - Added new "Show window always on top" option to properties window
    - Added new "Suspend rendering in idle" option to properties window. You may enable it to save some power when DesktopOverlayHost is displaying overlay on desktop and no other 3D applications are running. When new option is enabled, DesktopOverlayHost will reduce its' own framerate to 1 FPS in idle (i.e. when no other 3D applications are running or when DesktopOverlayHost is a foreground application) but restore the full 30 FPS framerate when you launch some 3D application and switch to it
    - It is no longer possible to launch multiple instances of DesktopOverlayHost. Now it will display properties of running application instance on attempt to launch the secondary instance of DesktopOverlayHost
    - Now DesktopOverlayHost's executable file is located in the root of RTSS installation folder, it is digitally signed and intaller adds shortcut to it to start menu. Please keep it and mind and ensure that you launch correct version of DesktopOverlayHost if you update RTSS without uninstalling the previous version, because in this case two copies of DesktopOverlayHost will be located inside your RTSS subfolders
    - High application detection level is now restricted for ForzaHorizon 5 via built-in application profile. More details on this issue in this post



    Download it here:

    https://download-eu2.guru3d.com/rtss/[Guru3D.com]-RTSSSetup734Beta10Build27526.rar

    Stay tuned!
     
    Bhudda, SanokKule, bigcid1 and 14 others like this.
  18. FireGate_13

    FireGate_13 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Twintech 9800GT
    hi,I am a big fan of rtss. thank you for this great tool. as it is the first program i installed on my steamdeck,and the program that has never been closed, do you have any specific plans for this device? Any new sensors?
     
  19. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    4,599
    I don’t plan to purchase Steam deck and provide any features specific to it, sorry.
     
  20. Earthrise

    Earthrise New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nVidia RTX 4090
    If I set topmost = 0, the DesktopOverlayHost Icon appears in the taskbar, additionally to the system tray. Can you change this, so that it keeps visible in the system tray only?
    Besides that, it works great, thank you!
     

Share This Page