MSI AB / RTSS development news thread

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by Unwinder, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Such positioning cannot be applied to whole overlay, but some OverlayEditor's layers can be configured to use sticky positions, which includes horizontal/vertical centering.
     
  2. ParKur

    ParKur Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090/RTX 2080Ti
    I'm talking about the global location of the overlay, for example, the overlay is located in the upper right corner, is it possible to place it in the center?
     
  3. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    “Such positioning cannot be applied to whole overlay”
     
  4. ParKur

    ParKur Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090/RTX 2080Ti
    Unwinder, It's a pity that this is not possible.

    I installed 3090FE, the choice of the video card is determined normally, but 2080Ti does not write the name of the model, but the model of the chip.

    [​IMG]
     

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,984
    Likes Received:
    6,142
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I can confirm this behavior, system with 2 non-identical cards reports the second card as its nvidia internal model instead of part name.
     
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    GPU selection popup space is limited, so compact GPU family name is displayed there for cards with full name containing more than 10 symbols. That's by design.
     
  7. ParKur

    ParKur Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090/RTX 2080Ti
    Okay, thanks for the information. Although it's a little strange that they didn't make 11 characters.

    I understand that two different cards have common profiles, as well as the construction of a voltage curve. So when I select RTX 2080 Ti, I get the lower bound from RTX 3090.
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    I’d really appreciate if I could focus on new functionality development in this thread instead of commenting multi GPU setup related specifics.
     
  9. ParKur

    ParKur Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090/RTX 2080Ti
    Good. It doesn't work, it doesn't work that way...
    We are waiting for new features that...
     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    It is not overclockers.ru. Stop that please, really.
     

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    I'm preparing 7.3.2 beta 6 to launch. Still working on changes list, probably I missed something:


    - Improved hypertext format:
    o Added GUIDs to internal autoscaling cache implementation. GUIDs ensure that autoscaling is not applied to wrong graph when you swicth between different OSD layouts containing different sets of displayed graphs
    o Added <GRMIN> and <GRMAX> hypertext tags, aimed to display minimum and maximum limits of the last rendered embedded graph. New tags are intended to be used in conjunction with autoscaling graphs to display their dynamic limits. Please pay attention to hypertext rendering Z order and ensure that you specify the tags after rendering target embedded graph to make them work as expected
    o Improved load image <LI> tag format. Now the tag parameter can be wrapped with quotation marks if the filename contains some reserved symbols (round brackets, triangle brackets and comma)
    - Improved OverlayEditor plugin:
    o Added new %CPUShort% macro. This macro definition is similar to previously existing %CPU% macro, containing compacted CPU branding string, but %CPUShort% additionally strips CPU clock frequency info starting from @ symbol
    o Added recent dynamic colors selection panel to dynamic color picker dialog
    o Text table specific color attributes are now displayed in recent colors selection panel in color picker dialog
    o Text table line name and cell text can use special symbols (e.g. newline \n symbol) now
    o Hypertext edit field in layer properties dialog is now multiline, so it is more convenient to work with complex layers (e.g. layers combining multiple embedded objects)
    o Fixed issue which could cause skipping some overlay refresh iterations
    o Added new keyboard shortcut to overlay editor window. Now you may press <Ctrl>+<Shift>+<M> to apply layout master settings. The same can be done from menu: Layouts -> Edit -> Master settings
    o Now all embedded graphs are using buffered update approach instead of asyncronous update for each graph before. This change is aimed to eliminate risk of seeing short flickering when switching between different OSD layouts containing different sets of displayed graphs
    o Overlay layout timer is now reininialized properly when switching between different OSD layouts with hotkeys
    - Added new "Percentile buffer" option to general properties. New option allows switching between unlimited and rolling ring buffer modes for 1% low and 0.1% low metrics calculation. Unlimited mode is preferred if you manually start benchmarking session with a hotkey. Ring mode can be preferred if you permanently keep the benchmark mode enabled and want to see 1% and 0.1% low metrics reflecting just a few last seconds of gameplay
    - Sample overlay layout supplied with the plugin was designed as a technodemo, showing you as many complex overlay creation techniques as it is possible. Now the plugin includes two more built-in overlay layouts, which suit better for everyday usage:
    > Classic layout is close to classic native MSI Afterburner's layout. It combines traditional text table based sensors representation with frametime graph and contains the most frequently used and the most useful sensors including process specific ones
    > Benchmark layout is entirely focused on framerate/frametime monitoring. It displays autoscaling frametime graph and dynamic distribution of the slowest frames with highlighted 1% zone. Such representation gives better visual demonstration of 1% low framerate to beginners. Dynamic distribution of the slowest frames is also useful when you're altering percentile calculation related options
    - Improved scanline sync implementation:
    o Now index of target display device for multimonitor systems is also displayed in scanline sync info panel
    o SyncDisplay profile switch, which is defining index of target display device for multimonitor systems, can be set to -1 now. In this case target display device will be selected automatically by monitor displaying 3D application's foreground window
    - Improved hooking implementation:
    o Added debug/compatibility option allowing disabling hook reinjection mode
    o Added debug/compatibility option allowing disabling hook integrity control mode and enbling hook entry point relocation
    o Changed unconditional injection delay handling approach. Now it overrides conditional trigger module based delay, previously unconditional delay didn't affect cases when conditional delay was triggered
    o D3D12 command queue hook is affected by delayed injection now, but the rest D3D12 swap chain creation hooks are still injected immediately and ignore any delays by default
    o All hook handlers have been slightly refactored to allow switching between different API hooking implementations
    o Added new "Use Microsoft Detours API hooking" option, which is allowing RivaTuner Statistics Server to switch to Microsoft Detours API hooking library instead of own one. This option doesn't help RivaTuner Statistics Server itself, but it may help to fix other third party applications which hook 3D API calls and use vanilla Microsoft Detours for that (e.g. OBS 27.1.0 and higher). So you may try to enable it you're using RivaTuner Statistics Server with some third party overlay or videcapture software and it refuses to work
    - D3D12 videocapture queue depth has been increased from 3 to 8 frames. This change is aimed to improve captured videostream smoothness in applications like Forza Horizon 4, which render more than 3 frames ahead
    - Application tray icon is DPI aware now
    - Application installer is DPI aware now
    - Updated built-in profiles list
     
  12. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Some words on the nearest future plans:
    I’ve added everything I planned to implement in RTSS v7.3.2, so it is rather close to final release state. I think that after releasing beta 6, we’ll wait a couple weeks for the major Nov’21 game releases (BF 2042, FH 5 and COD Vanguard), check the compatibility with them then release final 7.3.2. After that we’ll also release final MSI AB 4.6.4 shortly (no serious changes on that side, GPU market is semi-sleeping now).
     
  13. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Important note:
    I didn't mention it in the changes list, but new "Use Microsoft Detours API hooking" option is profile specific. Which means that you can select API hooking implementation independently for each application profile if necessary.
     
    SatsuiNoHado and Andy_K like this.
  15. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Final build of MSI AB 4.6.4 will include new Win11 themed skins by @Drerex:

    [​IMG]
     

  16. Haldi

    Haldi Master Guru

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    R9-290 CF
    that looks neat.
    Nice timing btw. Just crashed my whole Windows installation yesterday and hat to do a clean install.
     
  17. Nelly D Gamer

    Nelly D Gamer Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    You mentioned about this months 3 big game releases, I'm just hoping Horizon 5 doesn't have the same issues as Horizon 4. I guess I'll find out in a few days :):)

    Nice works as always Unwinder, I'll check out the newer beta build when I get a chance.
     
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    4,218
    Steam version of FH4 works fine since day one. It is protective system of MS store version of FH4, which is fundamentally incompatible with ANY third party hook processes strarting from OBS and teamviewer and ending by RTSS. That's the reason why RTSS includes exclusion profile for UWP version of FH4 forcibly disabling any hooking for it, also since day one of this game sales start in MS Store. And that's not something that could be addressed.
    And yes, that's the reason why I purchased Steam version only of FH5 this round. I own both UWP and steam versions of FH4, do not want to kill such huge amount of money again on both Steam/MS store versions becasuse of their idiotic tricks with game protection.
     
    SatsuiNoHado and Nelly D Gamer like this.
  19. Nelly D Gamer

    Nelly D Gamer Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Yeah I ended up purchasing FH4 on Steam as well, this time round I'm just getting the game pass version so I can run it on Xbox as well, I'll report back if Playground Games pull the same stunt again :D
     
  20. Soren01

    Soren01 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    RX480 8GB
    This new theme is beautiful! Thanks.
     

Share This Page