MS Flight Simulator 2020 storage size reduced by 87 GB through update

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 31, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,377
    Likes Received:
    9,511
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    TheDeeGee likes this.
  2. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Fortnite did the same a while ago, went from 105 GB to 31 GB.

    More developers need to look into this.
     
    nick0323, DirtyMiners and Dragam1337 like this.
  3. Silva

    Silva Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    711
    GPU:
    Asus RX560 4G
    Allot of things can be done to save space, but devs either don't have time to optimize or don't care.
    Everything can be compressed in a way you save space and don't lose noticeable quality.
    Let's end this placebo quality era, we need compression today!
     
  4. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,095
    Likes Received:
    5,054
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    When is the dx12 update coming? They should focus on that and game will finally be playable.
     

  5. wavetrex

    wavetrex Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    PrMinisterGR, Neo Cyrus and Kosmoz like this.
  6. TimmyP

    TimmyP Master Guru

    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    RTX 3070
    Its not storage size, its download size. The storage footprint is the same. Every site is reporting this incorrectly.
     
  7. scoter man1

    scoter man1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,819
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070ti
    Since we have to deal with internet provider data caps, this kind of thing should be a priority.
     
  8. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,958
    Likes Received:
    891
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    More games need to do this.

    Games are to big and getting bigger , SSD cost are still to high special those NVME drive and lets not talk about how small said drives are on the new consoles special the ps5 and Xbox s..


    NVM orignal post if true cant be bother to really look if it is or isnt
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2021
  9. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    • We performed some optimization for the initial full download of the title so the base game is only 83GB instead of +170GB
     
  10. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    When installing the game for the first time initial download was 170GB in size, installed with all the free content and previous patches my installation ended up at 130GB, downloading the new patch right now which is 5,75GB

    EDIT: And total installation up at 132GB with that patch.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2021

  11. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,900
    Likes Received:
    700
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    I've been using this for a long time. It's insane how much some things can be compressed. I've seen something that was several GB compress to 300MB.

    Most games compress a good amount, and with SSD space coming at a premium I don't why everyone doesn't use this considering I've yet to see any performance impact from it.
     
  12. brogadget

    brogadget Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    2xR9 280x 3GB
    In my case I dont´t have a problem with size, my problem is speed.... I have a 5/170Mbit up/download line limit and my ISP in fact is providing this speed (dual-stack). But at most, I get 50-60MBit/s max. download speed from MS- cloud/ Azure, MS- store?, most of the time it is about 30-40MBit/s. Right now I don´t comprehensively understand if it is limited by my ISP or MS- cloud service, MS- store...?

    edit: what I hate as well with FS2020 is, that it is using a "virtual disk" file storage format which isn´t supported by any disk partitioning application. Files from MS saved on my disk, can hardly be accessed, so I can´t control what MS is doing on my disk drives. That´s the most suspicious process, which I really don´t like and never had before with any ohter software.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2021
  13. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    That is why I decided to get it on Steam.
     
  14. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,760
    Likes Received:
    432
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    It would change alot in CPU perfornace i think .

    My example is WoW . With DX11 im getting 50/60 FPS in crowded city , with DX12 i have stable 200 FPS ( Orgrimmar ).
     
  15. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    2,957
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    I'm not sure it will help much. Most flightsims are bottlenecked by the physics simulations - which is incredibly hard to parallelize.
     

  16. brogadget

    brogadget Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    2xR9 280x 3GB
    I don´t think as well a DX12 upgrade will have an impact on graphics performance, as Denial already told, simulations heavily rely on physics calculation. If it would be possible to offload some physics processing to GPU(s) via DX12 then it may help fps performance. More important also is how software programming is done and distributing evenly amount of physics calculation among available CPU cores (e.g. one core for aircraft physics, one core for instruments, one core for weather, one or two cores for traffic, etc.) and if possible + using "GPU cores". Managing the need for processing power could be a key....

    edit: not to forget cennection speed and data download size

    2edit: my experiance with my system (Intel 12 cores @4,67Ghz ac,10years old gcard) is, that my CPU is running most of the time between 1,2 and 3,5 sometimes 4,7Ghz, 8 cores hardly beeing used between 30% and 50% max. At lowest graphics settings, I can get 20-30fps London city airport grounded with an A320. (R9 280x, 1080p)
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2021
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,988
    Likes Received:
    4,059
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    d3d12 will atleast double the performance of MFS20's starved cpu rendering threads
     

Share This Page