Mozilla Firefox, new releases, Add-Ons, tips for customisation Part 2

Discussion in 'General Software and Applications' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    In the past, I have had opening a new link in a new tab got me blank white page, refreshing it fixes it. I haven't had that issue in a really long time (must be pre 6x versions).
    If that sounds like your issue I am not sure what caused it but I would remove all addons and try for a few days.
     
  2. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I had it happen before in past but that was long time ago. this litterly start around 77.xx builds I think. but brand new profile seem to of "helped" in that it dont happen as often, so far.
     
  3. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  4. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,581
    Likes Received:
    601
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio

  5. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    So I just got "tip" pop up from firefox about "pinned" tabs where it keep the pinned as lil icons instead of "tabs" but this function does not work if firefox clears "cache" on exit is there way to set this to work with out the need for cache?

    I thought it would be like "bookmark" set to autoload up luanch of firefox in the lil icon

    I know I can do it with "home page" and set up "url | url" and it will open actual bookmarks but I want those lil pinned icon instead, but that only seem to work if cache isnt wiped in exit
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
  6. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    78.0.2 was pushed to me on 9th which might of fixed the issue with link not opening it been work since the 9th correctly and on 10th 1.28.0 ublock origin was pushed I hope the issue is fixed, I did manage to get attention of developer on bug tracker
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2020
  7. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  8. maur0

    maur0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    point of view gtx 570 1gb
  9. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    303
    GPU:
    GB 5700XT Gaming OC
    I have Firefox set to restore previous session when opening it but it is also opening the hompepage. I think it started with v79.
     
  10. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,826
    Likes Received:
    2,003
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Working fine here, v79. Just closed on this page and it restored it.
     

  11. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,748
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    yeah sometimes firefox does that, i think its some sort of popup, if you close all tabs it should open just one tab again after you launch.
     
  12. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    303
    GPU:
    GB 5700XT Gaming OC
    It seems because the tabs that I have open when I close Firefox are pinned and it's opening the homepage/new tab along with them upon restoring the session. If I have a normal tab open along with the pinned tabs when I close Firefox, it doesn't open the homepage/new tab upon opening Firefox. Can't remember if this was always the case. I think before it used to load one of the pinned tabs, probably the one I was accessing last before closing Firefox.
     
  13. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  14. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,581
    Likes Received:
    601
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
  15. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G

  16. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    That release broke my Firefox. Didn't even get any error message, just critical stop noise from win10. Refresh didn't work either. But I uninstalled and installed fresh and it seems to be ok again.
     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    How did you update FF, through auto-updater in the browser or standalone exe as in the link I posted?
    I didn't use the links I posted as I got the auto-update and it was a minor version update.
    All seems well on my end.
     
  18. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    I used the auto update and nothing happened. Then when I closed browser later it broke.
    They changed the address bar yet again I see but I can't be bothered to look for fixes one more time.

    Also I found a fix for the scrollbar on the side sort of merging into itself with the awful use of gray on gray. Using this addon called Dark Reader, it makes it visible without looking directly at it.
     
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yeah, the scroll bar could use more contrast there.
     
  20. maur0

    maur0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    point of view gtx 570 1gb

Share This Page