Mozilla Firefox, new releases, Add-Ons, tips for customisation Part 2

Discussion in 'General Software and Applications' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,142
    Likes Received:
    1,741
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2021
  2. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,869
    Likes Received:
    2,797
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX3070
    Damn this add-on is sweet, it converts every web page to a dark version , its for firefox and chrome
    https://darkreader.org/
     
    Jackalito, Tomatone and Extraordinary like this.
  3. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    5700XT
  4. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    878
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio

  5. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    741
    GPU:
    -
    Is it just me or does it take forever to close Firefox on 1809? I tested with 62.0.3 back on 1803 with the same 4 plugins as I always use?
     
  6. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Closes instantly here
     
  7. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    6700 xt
    :mad::mad:
    twitter wont completely load in chrome and Firefox.
    loads fine anywhere else.....
    cleared cache/ect.
    text loads fine. but images are broken and video wont play
    reseting firefox did nothing to help
     
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Tried loading FF in safemode? (FF safemode not Windows)

    Check the network settings in FF too for proxy
     
  9. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,071
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    6700 xt
    hmmm...
    disabling proxy fixed it.

    was set to use system proxy settings.
    switched it to no proxy and it twitter loaded correctly

    well it was working and then started doing it again.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2018
  10. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Clear cache again once you've disabled it, clear system DNS cache too?

    Try disabling system proxy too from network & internet > Proxy

    EDIT - Although that should affect all browsers
     

  11. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    878
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Don't know whats happened here, but i can no longer get overclockers.co.uk.

    I was on fine last night (around qtr to 8), browsing and posting, edited a post a couple of times fine, then went to edit it again after logging out, and that was it, when i tried logging back in, i entered my user and pass, and it wouldn't have it, just came up with an error along the top (which i forget now), on a white blank page, now everytime i try to access it, it just will not load, i just get :-

    When i click on the exclamation mark in the circle in the top left of the address bar (the green closed padlock doesn't show up there for it now either), it comes up forums.overclockers.co.uk, then underneath in Red, Connection is not Secure.

    When i select it, it says the usual about my connection to the site not being private.

    Then when i click on the More Site Info, the Generals all blank, no site identity info, can't view the certificate, as when i click on it, nothing happens, and the privacy and history is all unknown, for have i visted this site before today ?, is the website storing any info on my computer ?, and have i saved any passwords for this website, and the technical details at the bottom is also blank, and when i select the Media one, that gives me nothing of interest, and i don't have the Feeds, Permissions, or the Security ones, like i get for here, and others.

    Has anyone got any ideas ?, as i can access every other website fine, its just this one, and their shop site, as i tried that one, and getting the same too now. Secure Connection Failed.

    I also tried a different browser (Opera), and that wouldn't load it either, said something about not receiving any data.

    Thought it may have just been a problem there end, with it saying to contact them to inform them of the problem, but im still getting the same now, and ive contacted a friend to see if hes having problems, but its fine for him.

    Forget this, its working now, its just come back, the same time tonight, that it went down last night, well weird :p


    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
  12. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    878
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
  13. maur0

    maur0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    84
    GPU:
    point of view gtx 570 1gb
  14. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,377
    Likes Received:
    1,308
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    anyone else having issue getting Firefox to be the defualt app to open .PDF if I change it threw Setings>app>default apps> change defualts by file type.

    Firefox wont stick But I cant get it to change gtom edge/ie/chrome at will.

    On my personal PC this is fine but on the Surface it wont change to firefox no mater what I do
     
  15. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    878
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio

  16. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,377
    Likes Received:
    1,308
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    hmm the moved the third party cookie block, it not next to cookies now it part of browser privacy
     
  17. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,835
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    GPU:
    .
    Webrender is enabled by default for Win10+Nvidia PC's in 64 beta.

    .... and the addon manager page looks like absolute sh!t. The fox giveth, the fox taketh.
     
  18. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,377
    Likes Received:
    1,308
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    hmm that is enabled now? isnt that supposed to speed up rendering ? i dont see much of diffrence


    gfx.webrender.dcomp-win.enabled;true
    guess that means it enabled?
     
  19. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,549
    Likes Received:
    741
    GPU:
    -
    NoScript (plugin) is freaking out after having updated to Firefox 63.
     
  20. maur0

    maur0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    84
    GPU:
    point of view gtx 570 1gb

    in windows 8.1 webrender is work to? or only win10?
     

Share This Page