Mott's Free of Crap Drivers and Vulkan RT Installers (Updated June 5th)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Mott, Dec 10, 2017.

  1. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    Mott's (Exostenza) Free of Crap Drivers

    I made my account on Guru3D so long ago that on every other electronic site or service I am known as Exostenza if anyone wants to look me up or comes across me on another site.

    WHQL:

    I have decided to maintain a series of drivers based on the 'free of crap' installation method which only includes four folders in the install package (Display.Driver, HDAudio, NVI2, and PhysX) as nVidia drivers have been steadily increasing in size and bloat. This is for the people just want their drivers and none of the crap bogging down their system that they do not need.

    Vulkan Development Driver & Vulkan RT Installer:

    I have also decided to maintain a 'free of crap' driver package of the nVidia Vulkan Development drivers as it seems that enough people prefer them over the official drivers while having support for the latest Vulkan is always awesome. There is also a folder containing the latest version of the Vulkan RT installer for those who wish to have the latest version installed or simply want to make sure it is installed correctly.

    A note about Vulkan: Since Vulkan is backwards compatible, so installing the latest RT with a driver that doesn't support the feature level will at least take advantage of the bug fixes in the higher version while feature set supported by the driver will be used. This means there is no harm in installing the latest Vulkan RT libraries even if your selected driver does not support the driver number feature set and in some cases it can even be beneficial.

    Modded config for drivers 397.93 and up: It seems that our overlords at nVidia have seen it fit to require the Geforce Experience folder in the install folder in order to initiate the setup process. Thanks to a post by Guru3D member disq a modded config file can easily circumvent this so all of my drivers will include this simple change in order to keep the file size down and stick to the meaning of 'free of crap'. So, props to user disq!

    Extra information: In the shared folder I also have an info-graphic on what the different installations look like file wise and information on Vulkan version updates.

    Updated June 5th 2018:
    - 398.11 WHQL driver (free of crap) with support for 1.1.70.0
    - 397.96 Vulkan development driver (free of crap) with support for 1.1.73.0
    - 397.93 WHQL driver (free of crap) with support for 1.1.70.0
    - Edited nVidia installation configuration so GFE does not need to be present in package
    - Vulkan RT Installer 1.1.73.0
    - Vulkan RT Installer 1.1.70.0

    Free of Crap Drivers hosted for posterity:
    - Previous best WHQL drivers: 390.77, 397.93 (free of crap)
    - Previous best Vulkan beta drivers: 388.84, and 389.20 (free of crap)

    nVidia Win 10 x64 'free of crap' WHQL, Vulkan Development drivers, and Vulkan RT Libraries created and hosted by Mott (Exostenza)

    Off Topic Stuff:

    If you want to show your appreciation for me maintaining these drivers and are interested in the latest humble bundle please buy it using this link you'll get a 10% discount on it and I'll get a kickback as well so it serves us both! To anyone who does - thanks!

    Shameless plug for a friend who is making a Tower Defence game inspired by some of the popular modes played in Warcraft 3 The Frozen Throne. I used to play TD in WC3 TFT all the time and I think he is doing a great job so far! So, if you are interested you can check it out here. It is super hard for indie games to get much press so I am just trying to help him get some visibility.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018
    Apparatus, snight01, spajdrik and 9 others like this.
  2. norton

    norton Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX970 G1 Gaming
    vulkan RT is already in the "Display.driver" folder that already exist in the three method of installation according to your pic "you can't delete this folder anyway" so why upload it again or do i miss anything ??
     
  3. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    Because it won't install it unless you install the driver straight from the original package or you do it yourself. I don't run the original installer as I unpack it and install what I want so nVidia doesn't install the Vulkan drivers. I didn't realize this until the other day. Just trying to help some people out.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2018
  4. GroinShooter

    GroinShooter Master Guru

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SC
    Hmm, I've been doing this forever now and vulkan is installed every single time.
    I remove all folders except NVI2, PhysX and Display.Driver - then I install the driver using setup.exe, do a custom clean install, select everything and done. Vulkan gets installed every time. Am I missing something here...
     
    -Tj-, Vidik and norton like this.

  5. norton

    norton Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX970 G1 Gaming
    i always use DDU before installing a new driver and using the free of crap method and every time the vulkan rt gets installed no problem with this at all and playing vulkan games such as Doom and Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus with no problem or i miss something ?? i have no problem with uploading a separate installer i just asking if i do something wrong
     
  6. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    Strange as I do the same but didn't have Vulkan installed so I had to seek it out myself to get the new Wolfenstein to work.
     
  7. Snappy Phoenix

    Snappy Phoenix Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    I use the regular drivers and Vulkan stopped installing automatically since the last 3 driver updates so I manually install it from the Graphics.Driver folder
     
  8. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    173
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 GRP
    If someone doesn't know this, you can always get the latest version of VulkanRT from Lunar-G's Vulkan SDK: https://vulkan.lunarg.com/
     
    pegasus1, Lilith, AsiJu and 1 other person like this.
  9. norton

    norton Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX970 G1 Gaming
    i installed the latest SDK but i don't know why vulkan games and geeks 3d always report v 1.0.56
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Ital

    Ital Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080 AMP
    Because that's the API version the current Nvidia driver supports. The current driver doesn't support Vulkan features higher than 1.0.56 even if you install a higher version of the Vulkan Runtime.
     
    dr_rus and norton like this.

  11. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    OP updated with:

    Vulkan Runtime Libraries 1.0.65.0 up to date from the nVidia Win 10 390.65 x64 driver.

    I also added 390.65 Win 10 x64 desktop minimalistic package pre-made in rar format.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  12. cookieboyeli

    cookieboyeli Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    ZotacAE 1080Ti@2075
    Sorry to say OP but you got two things wrong, one, the latest version is 1.0.65.1, and two, Vulkan IS installing, but since a few versions ago it is intentionally not shown in the installed programs list.
     
    -Tj- likes this.
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,209
    Likes Received:
    525
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    I think the official runtime does that too, although come to think of it I never stripped out the 1.0.65.1 ones from the full SDK though it's just some smaller fixes to the installer itself as I remember from the changelog and nothing for the Vulkan loader or .dll files.
    (Which well the driver whether AMD or Nvidia likely have their own Vulkan files but sometimes the runtime fixes a few bugs and not just support for new extensions and such.)

    It can still be seen via something like CCleaner or you can just go to the C:\ Program Files folder and the Vulkan sub folders and run the uninstaller from there to remove it, which I tend to do since this system uses the Highlander rules and there can only be one. :p
    (Don't really need more than the latest runtime since it's backwards compatible after all, maybe for the SDK itself and programming or debugging through different versions but regular users likely have no need of that.)
     
  14. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    All I know is that Wolfenstein 2 wouldn't run until I manually installed Vulkan because it was not recognising it as installed. I thought I would put it up here for people in case they ever need it. Also, no you are wrong. Extract the driver and look in the display.driver folder. nVidia provides 1.0.65.0 not 1.0.65.1. I am providing the one nVidia provides with their driver not from any other source. If you install the VulkanRT from the nVidia driver it will show up in your program files as that version.
     
  15. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    For me it installed, Wolfenstein 2 worked . but I can't see the Vulkan Installer in Add/Remove programs. but all the DLLs are in System32 and SysWOW64 weird.

    And there are vulkan files in ProgramFiles (x86) \ vulkanRT\ 1.0.65.0

    I used the DDU and minimal Installation
     

  16. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    Updated OP with 390.77 "Free of Crap" package and the latest version of Vulkan that came with the drivers (still the same version but I changed it out nevertheless).
     
  17. cookieboyeli

    cookieboyeli Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    ZotacAE 1080Ti@2075
    Nope, still wrong. https://vulkan.lunarg.com/sdk/home#windows
    The official runtime is in the SDK package. You can replace the one in the nvidia folder with this one (keep the name Nvidia uses).

    I'd delete the HD Audio folder unless you're playing through TV speakers (eww) and the PhysX folder as well since it's pretty much dead and eats FPS on the older games it runs on.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2018
  18. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX 1080
    I like to use the latest nVidia approved version of Vulkan, don't need the SDK as I am not a developer (which is why I install the latest run-time - not the SDK, and I do use the TV speakers when I play couch games with my friends as I have 6 controllers; we play multiplayer games on the TV a lot. As for the PhysX I am pretty sure a lot of games still use it and will continue to install it unless you can point me somewhere that I can read about your claims.

    Thanks
     
  19. sirDaniel

    sirDaniel Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    940MX
    It was same with Intel drivers. After Installations of nvidia and intel drivers, i was ending up with two different vulkan runtimes all the time. Thats probably why they gave up with this and from some time i have no entry in Programs and Features. Games and vulkan demos works anyway. So it must be that runtime is installed anyway, just few dll in system folders or so, like with ocl.
    Its something with Wolfenstein game that does not detect runtimes correctly, or need some additional vulkan files that devs forgot to remove from requirement. Also, question with what version nvidia drivers you tried vulkan applications, because two last versions have problem reporting vulkan support - which you fix with adding one registry entry https://forums.rpcs3.net/thread-197839.html
     
  20. clouttechie

    clouttechie New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nividia
    Normally when you install Vulkan run times, it copies "nv-vk64.json" and "nvoglv64.dll" (I can't check the name of this one from here) and the 32 bit versions to "/Windows/system32/" and then sets the registry in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Khronos \ Vulkan \ Drivers" to have a dword named as the path to the json file.

    While there is this problem with installing Vulkan, it's sufficient, rather than manually copying files to system32, just to point to the json in the driverstore folder in "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Khronos \ Vulkan \ Drivers". The json points to the folder it is stored in for the required dll files, and the correct files are beside it in the driverstore.

    But in case there is variation in the folder in the driverstore, check in "/windows/system32/driverstore /" for the location of the json file in the newest driver folder,and confirm its in the registry.

    Oh but after setting the location in registry, you need to reboot or run vulkaninfo.exe which is in a sub folder in "/program files (x86)/Vulkan RT/". Them Vulkan should correctly appear in RPCS3.
     

Share This Page