Motherboard for 32GB @ 4000MHz?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Danny_G13, Apr 28, 2021.

  1. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    Hey guys, just popped a second pair of 4000MHz HyperX Predators on my MSI Gaming Edge AC and the board REALLY doesn't like them at pretty much anything above 3500MHz.

    Initial pair solid @ 4Ghz @ 16GB but can't get a second pair to be stable and happy @ 4GHz.

    Does this require a different mobo or are there any settings I can get all 32GB stable @ 4GHz?

    I know about the 'non-optimised' slots, is that unique to this board or Z390 chipset in general?

    Cheers!
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,619
    Likes Received:
    3,892
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  3. Valken

    Valken Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    Forsa 1060 3GB Temp GPU
    You might need to increase voltages slightly to maintain high frequency with certain RAM that you OC.
     
  4. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,818
    Likes Received:
    4,834
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    When you add second 16gb pair it doubles the rank so 32gb dual channel dual rank 4000mhz would be very hard to get on intel or amd.
     

  5. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    Indeed, but the Aorus brand from Gigabyte was built for that exact purpose. Question is do I want a £250 mobo just to get my 4GHz?
     
  6. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,818
    Likes Received:
    4,834
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    No you dont want that. That wont garantie you'll get the 4000mhz. Cpu/ram compatibility can also play a role.
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  7. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    No idea why I didn't see this reply. Yes, have tried voltage increases.
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  8. Kevin Mauro

    Kevin Mauro Master Guru

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    88
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super FTW3
    This. Check those QVLs for some that actually validated the combination of the two at the frequency you are targeting (I do not know why you are ... targeting 4000 as there aren't benefits I can think of) but mine is not to reason why just to try and answer best I can :)
     
    Danny_G13 likes this.
  9. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,404
    Likes Received:
    921
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,619
    Likes Received:
    3,892
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Good point.

    @Danny_G13 check the sku number
    • K8FB = 8Gb B-die
    • M8FE = 8Gb Micron Rev. E
    • 8FD = 8Gb Micron Rev. D
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.

  11. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    Exactly what I was looking for. Answers, not questions! And I checked the QVL out and it turns out my sticks are not in the list. I thought they were. Which is a bit of a bummer. So if I want 4GHz guaranteed stable I either get a board with a QVL who has these sticks or I get the right RAM for this board.

    Thank you for the insight.
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  12. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    Ended up going with some Patriot 4400 sticks, same price as a new mobo. Hopefully that gives me the numbers I want!
     
    Kevin Mauro likes this.
  13. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW 2080Ti OC
    Nope, board didn't like this at 32GB either. Clearly this board is a stinker for 32GB @ 4GHz, that's two decent brands which both had the same fail.
     
  14. Raserian

    Raserian Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    HD7750
    I would check CPU compatibility, the only thing that mobo does with the RAM is detect it in the BIOS, everything else is handled by your CPU. Older Intel chips only support DDR4-2666 specification. Everything above is not guaranteed. You are lucky you can run 4 GHz with just two sticks.
     
    Undying likes this.
  15. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    889
    GPU:
    107001070
    adjust vcsaa and vccio manually
    imo for 4x4000 start high with 1.3v and see if it works,then work your way down to get it lower for 24/7 use
     

Share This Page