Monolith's Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    PS4 version is combo of low med settings probably, it does not run 60fps solid. it runs between 30-60.
     
  2. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    391
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    PS4 runs with mainly high settings, with slightly less foliage and terrain LOD set to medium with a locked 30fps@1080p.
     
  3. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    u sure? aren't the PS4 advertised to run this game at 60fps?
     
  4. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    391
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    100% sure.

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2014-shadow-of-mordor-face-off

    EDIT: Source added.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014

  5. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    Steam forums full of the game randomly crashing (black screen with sound in the background)

    I have had this twice now. first was when i first ran a benchmark without even changing any settings in the options. Didnt think much of it as I was tabbing in and out while looking at Fappening pictures.

    Did 2 benches with High and Ultra (both vsync 60fps)

    today thought Id try the game properly. Everything going swimmingly, silky smooth 60fps gameplay, feels like an AC game. I hate orcs already :D Get about 30misn in and boom, black screen/sound in the background.

    I notice there has not been any new nvidia drivers since this game launched, could this be a reason? Also its all in the steam forums yet on here not so much crash reporting (not tried the pirate version of the game yet) why do I get the feeling the cracked one will have no issues.......... Waiting for a big patch on steam until I play again.

    To the above ppl the Ps4 version is a stuttering 30fps mess in comparison. EG did a comparison as well stating its "locked 30fps" 30fps on my friends PS4 looks shocking literally minutes after playing at 60 on my PC. EG state the PS4 version is the same as high on PC, i dispute this. It looks more like medium, some of the textures are horrible although perhaps its the horrible 30fps framerate thats affecting the quality im looking at.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
  6. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    5770 was DX11 too iirc
     
  7. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    Looking at evnet viewer this happens just before the crash

    Warning:Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered.

    I did not see this popup as usual when this kind of driver crash happens but its right there in the event viewer followed by

    Error:The program ShadowOfMordor.exe version 1.0.1636.20 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Action Center control panel.
    Process ID: ad8
    Start Time: 01cfdfd1ec15143e
    Termination Time: 310
    Application Path: E:\Steam\steamapps\common\ShadowOfMordor\x64\ShadowOfMordor.exe
    Report Id:


    guess its time to wait for a new nvidia driver. Or perhaps an old one? You guys all on the latest WHQL?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
  8. hopeful

    hopeful Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE
    Hey all, I am fairly happy with the overall performance based on settings I am using however combat seems to drop FPS a bit, to where it's no longer at 60.

    It's just regular sword fighting, no big action as such. What could this be?

    1600p
    Full screen 100% resolution
    All settings at Ultra except these on High : AO, Shadows, Texture Quality
    Everything else ticked
    V-sync off in-game / Refresh rate synched in Radeon Pro

    I was going to try new drivers however 14.4 have been very solid for me and 14.9 shows no mention of SoM profiles or advancements.
     
  9. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    1600p. Try 1080p like the rest of us peasents :)
     
  10. hopeful

    hopeful Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE
    Sadly I don't think that's a viable solution. The combat drops happen in either setting.
     

  11. jimdove

    jimdove Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Windforce 1080ti
    does it happen with SLI disabled?
     
  12. MonarchX

    MonarchX Banned

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 @ 1480Mhz GPU
    I apologize if I reported this already, but 3GB of VRAM handles Ultra HD 4K Textures & Ultra settings @ 1080p PERFECTLY fine even in big battles with a dozen enemies! I bench avg. FPS = 88, and min. FPS = 44 , but gameplay FPS does dip to 35. However, there are no stutters, no degradation of any kind! VRAM usage is static @ 3014MB, but it doesn't matter because the game runs really smooth! I don't know about 1440p and higher resolutions, but 1080p with Ultra textures & settings is smooth with just 3GB of VRAM!

    I bet that Evil Within will also run perfectly fine @ 1080p with Ultra quality settings.
     
  13. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    Ref 6900 XT
    Hmm, odd..if i select 200% i have 8192x4320 res...
     
  14. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    It depends on what resolutions you have in your control panel, if your max res is 1920x1080 it will be 3840x2160 when you select 200%. If you create a custom resolution of 3840x2160 it will be 7680x4320.
     
  15. hopeful

    hopeful Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE
    I disabled Crossfire and it did not lose frames during battle.
    Interesting..
     

  16. Nirvana91

    Nirvana91 Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 @ 1210/1500
    That´s why I traded 2x 280x for a 290.

    Crossfire and SLI sucks... Single card´s seems to be a better option right now. I was a long time SLI and CFX user but it seems that multi-gpu technology is getting worse instead of improving.

    Here it runs flawlessly. No dips in FPS, nothing at all. Just fluid every time at 1920 maxed.

    The only thing that ruins this game is the lack of AA.
     
  17. Hisenburg

    Hisenburg Banned

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 290x
    Upgrade to 4k and you won't see any aliasing.
     
  18. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    980Ti @1505/7600
    Indeed, but it came out later. I don't think he meant it was the lower DX11 cards.
    5870 and 5850 were released the same day as the very first DX11 cards. Mid-level and entry-level cards came out later, as well as the "very-high end" 5970. The full HD5000 series were most likely all DX11 even entry level.
    AMD was alone for a year on the DX11 territory, so better offering a full range of products when there's no competition to try to get the most consumers. I think they did well at this time.

    What bits are you using ? If you're using Fear 3 or Batman it's crap for this game so that's normal.
    I have had a flawless experience with my SLi here using just 0x000000F5 with no GPU count set or forced SLi mode (not a single drop below 60 fps in 40vs1 fights). 0x000040F5 gives much better scaling (not dropping below 100 in the same conditions) but introduces flickering. It may very well be a driver bug with Maxwell like for 3DMark, but you never know..

    BTW, I'm running everything maxed with high textures (only 2GB VRAM).
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2014
  19. nanogenesis

    nanogenesis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
    Aha finally tolerable SLI bits!

    The flickering is tolerable, and the scaling is superb. I can finally play with a higher level of detail.
     
  20. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    980Ti @1505/7600
    @nanogenesis
    Glad I was helpful to you ;)
     

Share This Page