Monolith's Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p=132208286&postcount=107

    you're cute. I don't know jack ****...

    I said countless times it'll not get anywhere near 6gb (tops out at 3.6gb for this user). I also said here that ultra will have about 5fps performance hit against high. which is confirmed by this post. What is the excuse for your outburst now? Go mess with someone else, kid.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014
  2. Hisenburg

    Hisenburg Banned

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 290x
    I wonder how it'll run in 4k...
     
  3. Whiplashwang

    Whiplashwang Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    214
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti
    Man, finally!! The downside of GMG is that you never get your key until the day of release or the day before. Really annoying! Now I won't be able to play it until Wednesday because my connection is a slow DSL line. :(
     
  4. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    3,614
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
    thats where the 6gb of video memory will actually make a difference. Hell I just started using a 1080p monitor like five months ago, so I'm sure I'll be happy with the performance on high.
     

  5. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    grunt > vram at 4k in every game. including this one.
     
  6. Hisenburg

    Hisenburg Banned

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 290x
    Yeah if I can run watchdogs decently at 4k I am confident in my 290x's ability at 1100/1550.
     
  7. Hristi

    Hristi Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 770 2GB
    Guys please tell me how it runs on a 2gb 770. I can live with high/medium mix.
     
  8. BigAlBeast25

    BigAlBeast25 Master Guru

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 970 SLI OC
    Pre-loading, looking forward to it!
     
  9. wrathloki

    wrathloki Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980 Ti G1
    Any word yet if crossfire works in this game or not? I was thinking about getting a second 290 for it.
     
  10. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I heard from someone that it may need 6GB VRAM if you also combine SSAA. That number would make more sense then, we'll find out soon enough if the game has SSAA or not... or if that much VRAM is really what the game uses (inefficiently).

    Here's hoping for the former...
     

  11. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    So it runs fine in ultra with 4gb... when not suffering those monstrous vram swaps. Lol, this is just like AvsP with my 1gb 9800, the occasional nasty swaps really ruined the experience and finally had to turn textures down. Waiting for 6-8gb maxwells...
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014
  12. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    If the swapping is that noticeable, the engine just isn't very efficient and is trying to load too much at one time. The best engines like the CryEngine 3, Frostbite 3 etcetera have very efficient memory management and VRAM swapping issues are practically nonexistent unless you're running really anemic hardware.

    I wish I could say the same for Watch Dog's engine :bang:
     
  13. brunopita

    brunopita Banned

    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming R9 270X 2GB
    2gb Vram here and running smooth @1080p with everything on High, inclusive textures, Medium for Ambient Occlusion and no Motion Blur. No option for AA, though - or I didn't find, but it seems to use it. Only played 30 minutes, the graphics are amazing, quite similar to Batman and AC in terms of gameplay.

    Only thing is: Medium textures look great if necessary.
     
  14. BigAlBeast25

    BigAlBeast25 Master Guru

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 970 SLI OC
    Mine is stuck updating..........it wont launch........wtf
     
  15. antonyfrn

    antonyfrn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Just had a quick game looks to run very well on ultra looks to be a solid 60fps.
     

  16. Slikar

    Slikar Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 WF3
    Might be very dumb question , i may missed something, but..

    If the download size of super HD textures is 3.6gb , how can ultra preset require 6gb? That's almost like it needs to store them two times into VRAM before showing them on screen? Also not every texture is surely used all the time i'd bet
     
  17. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,859
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    .
    Happy to see that the game has no significant issues. I won't get to play until evening though :( Could someone check if HT makes any difference to performance?
     
  18. BigAlBeast25

    BigAlBeast25 Master Guru

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 970 SLI OC
    My game just keeps downloading and taking gigs off my HD even thought it's already done.....

    It finally finished.......whew.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014
  19. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    I´ve seen 7zip compress bff files with textures 6:1 :)
     
  20. BigAlBeast25

    BigAlBeast25 Master Guru

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 970 SLI OC
    Is the texture pack not available yet for DL?
     

Share This Page