Modder doubles GeForce RTX 3070 memory from 8GB to 16 GB GDDR6

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 9, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    40,635
    Likes Received:
    9,001
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,778
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    I was thinking: either Chinese or Russian modder.
    Has to be. Why?
    Close resources available and tools. And the guts.
     
  3. kapu

    kapu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    Radeon 6800
    Finaly the card has the vram it deserves :D
     
    Airbud, EspHack and Undying like this.
  4. ruukjis

    ruukjis New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080/8GB
    As the modder said it is not really an issue of BIOS but rather a driver issue. His conspiracy theory was that it is done intentionally by Nvidia so that AIBs could not release some custom cards with more RAM than Nividia has allowed. His hopes was that with the release of RTX 3070 (which supposedly will have 16GB VRAM) the modded card will also work flawlessly.
    He is Russian.
     

  5. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    611
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    @ruukjis the aibs for sure can design and release a 16gb card . But if they do with out nvidia's permission ....i do not think they will keep releasing nvidia cards for long :p
     
    Noisiv likes this.
  6. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    LOL thats stupid thinking from someone smart enough to make 16GB mod. I mean they don't even have to put it into contract, Green Light program whatever.
    All NV has to do is tell AIBs: pls don't do it, OR ELSE.

    !!!
     
    Venix likes this.
  7. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX1070 Zotac mini
    Nice find.
     
  8. EspHack

    EspHack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    ATI/HD5770/1GB
    maybe the EU could take a look and determine this is blatant planned obsolescence and rule that big expensive GPUs come with socketed memory
     
  9. Zeka

    Zeka Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 280
    I was just thinking that, what would it take to put slots in there, so you can expand memory, same as for system memory?
    I assume there's nothing much in the way, but I guess they prefer to sell whole cards ;) must be for user satisfaction and protection, compatibility and [insert another bull.hit reason here]
     
  10. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Its actually not that crazy, it would be pretty weird if the timings do not apply properly and the chips themselves are used on an existing card ( like a quadro variant of the same silicon), though that remains to be seen
     

  11. asturur

    asturur Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    310
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    I do not think ram quantity is ever an obsolescense factor with GPU.
    My geforce 770 4GB was obsolete as soon as the 2gb version, not one day later.

    When 16GB are needed for a game, there is the chance that the 3070 does not do enough FPS with 16GB either at the target resolution for 16GB.
     
    Aura89 likes this.
  12. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX1070 Zotac mini
    Yeah,I guess it would be a good idea to get rid of DDR and just go for GDDR and inset the gpu into the mobo as with the cpu. massively cheaper and massively faster. Game Over.
     
  13. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,115
    Likes Received:
    607
    GPU:
    5700XT / GTX1070
    The bigger question, does this mod actually help with games in any definitive way?

    Good thing he looked at whether "crypto-mining" was affected though. That's what modders really wanted to know.
     
  14. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GB 2060S,Gsync,3DV2
    Modding is modding, taking ideas to actual practice, good one, regardless if it has "bugs" etc it's..modding!
     
  15. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,931
    Likes Received:
    535
    GPU:
    .

  16. ruukjis

    ruukjis New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080/8GB
    Here is what I would do if I would be a greedy AIB:
    1. Create a second company deep in some abandoned African gold mine where laws don't apply.
    2. By up my own cards
    3. Reball VRAM
    4. Profit by selling them as superior versions of the same graphics card.
    This is a very crude scheme, but I hope you got the idea.
     
  17. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,785
    Likes Received:
    615
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Yeah, it's hard for a RAM limit to truly make anything obsolete, but that's basically the bottom of the garbage can. True obsolescence is the absolute extreme. That's like arguing an i5 2500K is not obsolete to this day, technically it's not.

    But if we're talking about realistically annoying performance impact, especially when it could have, and should have been avoided... tell that to the R9 Fury/X... or to those who bought an RTX 3080 for 4K gameplay. Two high end products which took a dump on performance, on release, by having literally half the RAM they should have.

    I'm getting over 9GB VRAM usage in an ancient shitbag title like Monster Hunter World at 1440p, WITHOUT max settings which would use more RAM. That's 2.25x lower resolution than 4K.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2021
    EspHack likes this.

Share This Page