MLAA on 48xx series

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fez, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    Maybe it has gone trough this forum, but didnt really find it with search and thought i'd share it with others, maybe get some older cards to work too.

    So i googled and found this thread
    HTML:
    http://forums.o verclockers.co.uk/showpost.php?p=17689875&postcount=1
    (close the space after "o", guru fcks links up)

    to enable MLAA and Surface Format Optimization for 48xx series ATI cards.
    The 1-7 parts i skipped - just installed latest Catalyst 11.1 /w hotfix and did the Regedit part, since i have 4870 and Win7 it was easy to follow that guys post.
    I did get the options to enable that, BUT does it actually work?
    [​IMG]
    No clue since i dont know how to check it, it might aswell be the regular antialiasing. Someone smarter could try it :p. If you get stripes, disable "use application settings" in ccc.
    Without MLAA:
    [​IMG]
    With MLAA:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  2. mao5

    mao5 Guest

    good news for 4xxx users
     
  3. bart5986

    bart5986 Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 290x OC
    the link is broken, what is it! i'm excited!
     
  4. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    fixed
     

  5. jskyg

    jskyg Master Guru

    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    powercolor 5850@775/1125
    thats cool, it seems to work as good as the newer cards.
     
  6. Pestul

    Pestul Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac 970
    EDIT: Hmm, this post formated strangely.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  7. yaji

    yaji Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon 4850 512MB
    Does not work for me ;(
     
  8. animatrix999

    animatrix999 Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS ATI 4870 512Mb GDDR5
    Can someone make a reg file for this?

    Nevamind ill make one my self an test it......
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  9. Pestul

    Pestul Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac 970
    Test it out on a few games and let us know.
     
  10. boyriot

    boyriot Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD5770 IceQ5
    OMG...finally
    thanks! gonna try it
     

  11. KyleStilkey

    KyleStilkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT N+
    I'm not amazing at changing Registry files so how the hell do you change the AntiAliasMapping_SET and AntiAliasSamples_SET part?
     
  12. bart5986

    bart5986 Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 290x OC
    So I've put it on, and while it makes my FPS very low, it doesn't seem to be working?

    What I think you've done it enabled "box" anti aliasing, but you also have this checkbox enabled, making you think its actually doing something?

    In counter-strike source, enabling it seems to just disable vsync.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  13. prateek2chandra

    prateek2chandra New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD4850 512MB DDR3
    guys i hve tried before.. am getting flickering issues.. and since the guy has posted only dead rising 2 menu screens.. bcazz in every game when i enable MLA seem to go well till in game menu.. but when i start playing any game lots of flickering takes place... instead of these registry fixes you cn install von tweaks.. it will show mlf in ur cc.. but unfortunately for me its nt working... hve tried with CCC 10.10 c,d,e nd now twl 5.10. dont knw abt 11.1. i dont thnk so it will mak any difference. or is it only for 4870+ cards.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  14. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    thats what i said :p
     
  15. KyleStilkey

    KyleStilkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT N+
    AMD said it wont work as it's for the 4xxx cards do not have enough power to handle it as to why most of you get the Flickering Issues.
     

  16. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    like when you can unlock shaders on video card :p
     
  17. prateek2chandra

    prateek2chandra New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD4850 512MB DDR3
    am getting gudd framerates. am running css on 1280*1024 res. so i dont thnk so mla will create problem for my config running counter strike source. Flickering issue occuring bcaz maybe it do nt support dx10.1 API.
     
  18. animatrix999

    animatrix999 Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS ATI 4870 512Mb GDDR5
    Getting Flickering issues bull**** nonsence on my screen...........
     
  19. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    If you get stripes, disable "use application settings" in ccc.
     
  20. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    Try Fraps. If it's making the frames counter chubby it's working.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page