MLAA? No thanks, FXAA please

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by ziddy123, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. Penal Stingray

    Penal Stingray Banned

    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680 Tri-Sli-S27A950
    agree fxaa is better than mlaa few games already have fxaa implented and can actually select it on games options like fear 3, duke nukem forever, age of conan unchained MMO, Battlefield 3 and more to come soon.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  2. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Code:
        // FXAA_QUALITY__EDGE_THRESHOLD_MIN
        // Trims the algorithm from processing darks.
        //   0.0833 - upper limit (default, the start of visible unfiltered edges)
        //   0.0625 - high quality ([B]faster[/B])
        //   0.0312 - visible limit ([B]slower[/B])
    Performance [ 0.0833 + ? < ------------ > 0.0312 ] Quality

    Maybe I did misunderstand what you meant with giving FXAA the benefit thou. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  3. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    733
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Lolwut, can someone explain the settings to me and tell me which file I need to modify.
     
  4. MDewy

    MDewy Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 5650M Bios OCed
    I tried the FXAA files on my mobility setup and I have to say very neat IQ ... but if that was intended for people with weak GPUs to compensate the MSAA fps hit ... it is cool compared to 4x AA fps drop but when compared to 2x MSAA it has 10~25% drop in fps (but extremely better IQ) testing Dragon Age 2 running @ DX11

    Anyway I have to admit it is very interesting alternative to MSAA & can compensate heavily the good o'l games that have no AA option ... and the hotkeys for enabling/disabling is EPIC :D

    EDIT: for some reason didn't work with some of my very old games like Warcraft TFT & Cossacks - Back to War
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011

  5. Konrad321

    Konrad321 Banned

    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0

    Some reason? FXAA is working with DX9/10/11. Your DX7/8 games are tool old.
     
  6. ziddy123

    ziddy123 Banned

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5770
    It needs at least shader 3.0. It's all done on the shaders. It's a good idea to actually read how it works before saying it's weird it doesn't work on a dx7/8 game... Since it's not weird at all and it's not just some reason, it's a really good, specific, well known reason.
     
  7. MDewy

    MDewy Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 5650M Bios OCed
    <-- Retarded ... I forgot that these were **** old :D
     
  8. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    It can be port injected to older API's, but that is rather complicated.

    Just added an Anaglyph filter to it btw.
     
  9. fez

    fez Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D Radeon 7870 2gb
    to what?
     
  10. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti

  11. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    733
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
  12. ziddy123

    ziddy123 Banned

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5770
    What's the difference between yours and Some Guy's that has been posting in 3DCenter Forum with his beta10? I'm using the Beta10.
     
  13. kazama

    kazama Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 X
    Mineria im using the some dude inject beta 10 and i can combine it with msaa.

    PPI may be incompatible with any other form of antialiasing!
    Can be combined with downsampling!

    It states in the readme, is the same form of FXAA, used in same way?


    Btw, there are no files in dx11 folder, is supposed to use the dx10 files with dx11 games?

    Like i sayed im with beta 10 and using the dx11 files with games on dx11, are the same but with more pp options?
     
  14. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    It's the same but with more options.
    Dx11 and OpenGL folder are there for later, for now use the Dx10 files, can be chain injected via the SSAA Tool.
    Really, just try instead of asking questions that you can find the answer to by trying it out.
     
  15. kazama

    kazama Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 X
    Thx, will try when arrive at home :)
     

  16. guy_uoft

    guy_uoft Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey, I tried using DX10 file for BC2 DX11, however it doesn't seem like the FXAA is working, any ideas?
     
  17. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    you can force AA in WarcraftIII TFT just fine, well at least by nv.
     
  18. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Did you turn in game and CCC forced AA off?
    You need to use ToMMTi-Systems SSAA Tool v1.0 too, else it won't inject to the DirectX11 path.
    Remember to this in the SSAA config:
    Code:
    [enabled settings]
    [disabled settings]
    S_ETTING_FORCE_SSAA=2.0
    S_ETTING_TRIPPLE_BUFFER
    S_ETTING_VSYNC
    S_ETTING_LIMIT_FPS=30.0
    S_ETTING_FORCEWARP
    S_ETTING_FORCEREF
    
    And add the game exe with full path to games.txt
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2011
  19. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    733
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Hello? Anyone? No one is going to tell me what the official place to get them is? The sourceforge page is empty.
     
  20. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,999
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    The inventors page:
    http://timothylottes.blogspot.com/

    And [some dude]'s latest version: http://hotfile.com/dl/126721760/6694e76/injectFxaa_by_some_dude_10.7z.html
    He is the guy that made the injection dll's, shader.fx and presharpening.

    My teams project page (which is fxaa combined with some other filters and easier to adjust for the average gamer): http://www.assembla.com/spaces/fxaa-pp-inject/documents
    Current revision 37 should be pretty fast with all filters on most DirectX 9 games now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011

Share This Page