1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Microsoft Windows Vista DirectX 11 update

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Guru3D News, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,489
    Likes Received:
    795
    GPU:
    -
    Yes, if you already got it through windows update, it will give you that error, i tested it on two different computers
     
  2. Buss_Shots

    Buss_Shots Member Guru

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570 1280 MB
    Check dxdiag. If it says 11 you got it.
     
  3. Passion Fruit

    Passion Fruit Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6950 Unlocked 900/1250
    there is only one version of DirectX 11 and it came in the August 09 redist.
     
  4. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    but it didn't enable DX11 on Vista, it only sat there.

    As for DX11 on DX10 cards, at least you can run WDDM 1.1 which alleviate a lot of stuff like system RAM hog when you have multiple windows. Now it only uses your VRAM instead of system RAM. For people like me, that's quite useful.

    deltatux
     

  5. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,166
    Likes Received:
    1,343
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti
    GDI/GDI+ are still their old software rendered Vista versions - even after the platform update. So you don't get the benefits of Windows 7 memory performance in that department.
     
  6. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    Where did you get that info? From what I understand they ditched GDI for software designed for Vista. The DWM doesn't use GDI at all, so I don't see why not.

    All display improvements of Windows 7 is brought over to Vista as far as I know.

    deltatux
     
  7. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,166
    Likes Received:
    1,343
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Vista_Platform_Update#Platform_Update

    http://blogs.msdn.com/directx/archive/2009/09/10/windows-7-transition-pack-for-windows-vista.aspx
     
  8. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,880
    Likes Received:
    563
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1660Ti
    What Hilbert posted a few weeks ago was the Aug 2009 DirectX update....not DirectX 11. DirectX 11 requires the Vista Platform Update, as well as the Aug 2009 DirectX update (unless MS changed something).

    The Aug 2009 DirectX update doesn't give you DX11 at all. It's only a DX11 SDK....meaning, it contained the files necessary to start developing DX11 software. The platform update actually contains the end-user runtime for DX11 and does the actual DirectX 11 "upgrade".
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
  9. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
  10. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,153
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I don't even see SP2 in Windows Update. Where do I get it? I haven't manually installed any of that stuff in an eternity.
     

  11. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
  12. xxDATAxx

    xxDATAxx Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 260 core 216
    I have the same error as some of the posters above:

    "installer encountered a problem: 0x8007065e
    data of this type not supported"

    I don't know what would cause this, I'm on Vista 64 sp2 with everything fully up-dated through windows up-date, current WHQL drivers, and the latest DX version.
     
  13. MM10X

    MM10X Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,237
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    i get this. is it a 64-bit bug? does anyone w/ 32-bit get it?
     
  14. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,153
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Thanks. I was mostly wondering if it doesn't show in Windows Update because I'm missing something required to update to SP2 or something. I was expecting a "You did this wrong" response rather than a link to download it. :wanker:
     
  15. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,153
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Sorry for double posting, but lol:
    [​IMG]

    I have a Russian language pack installed? I learn something new every day!
     

  16. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    me too the same s.h.i.t. but I have dx11 installed before and maybe if detects that you already have installed you got this. I cannot test dx11 know:bang:cause either the program stop responding or needs W7:puke2:. I'll just have to wait for DIRT2:wanker:.
     
  17. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,421
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    -
  18. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
    yeah, already tried this and it's odd, that it's saying update doesn't apply to my system, instead, that i already have it!
     
  19. chaotic1

    chaotic1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
    i get that with the 32bit version
     
  20. MadGizmo

    MadGizmo Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290X 8GB 2560*1440
    Works fine on my Vista x64. I did have the beta and today Windows Update installed the final. No errors.
     

Share This Page