Microsoft will announce Windows 11 today, you can watch the announcement here

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 24, 2021.

  1. itpro

    itpro Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    729
    GPU:
    AMD Testing
    Whatever you say. You insist it's for oem.

    But microsoft tracks you and won't give you updates if you don't revert.

    If they stamp your rig as not windows 11 compatible, it's over.
     
  2. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    lmao. I bet I will make it run on a 13 yo CPU without TPM, secure boot and WDDM 2.0.

    PS: if it can run on a VM, as they state in the OEM documentation, it can run upon a potato.
     
    itpro likes this.
  3. itpro

    itpro Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    729
    GPU:
    AMD Testing
    I don't doubt you can and you will. But you must install updates manually for ever. If you are on the mood, it's fine.
     
  4. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    no it just update itself they will never care if you bypassed their crap setup (in case they will force something) that is made by a 3rd part junk company ('cause they aren't able to do that after XP era). and I tell you more: I defer monthly updates by 30 days and semestral by 1 year. in all my systems. And I will continue to do that. If necessary, I will "upgrade" all my licenses, legit pro licenses, to enterprise. feel free to waste mony of a third party useless tpm 2.0 module... that also requires a 2.0 header on the MB (and a compilant BIOS).
     
    itpro likes this.

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,399
    Likes Received:
    5,311
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There will be patches for any updater checks before long.
    same as BypassESU
     
    itpro likes this.
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,399
    Likes Received:
    5,311
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Proof that Windows 11 runs fine on Legacy Bios

    [​IMG]

    EFI is not set to on.
     
    CrazY_Milojko, itpro and Alessio1989 like this.
  7. itpro

    itpro Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    729
    GPU:
    AMD Testing
    I hope it will work. I am tired searching tpm module. I made contact with 15 shops to find one. Ominous times.
     
  8. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    windows 12.. such a troll xD

    biggest check to do is if it will run without SSE 4.1 and if gui hardware acceleration will work on WDDM 1.x (I don't see no reason why not, gui should stay upon by d2d/d3d11). They ask for sha-256 or better (as TPM 2.0 asks).


    there is no technical reason to check for tpm for patching windows. especially if the option to disable it can be present in BIOS as MS documentation states. They asks for 2.0 since 1.2 is deprecated for sha-1 encryption deprecation.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2021
    itpro likes this.
  9. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,403
    Likes Received:
    638
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
  10. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,403
    Likes Received:
    638
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Has already be done, you just got to replace the appraiser and stay away from using the build encryption.
     

  11. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,183
    Likes Received:
    4,878
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I'm not really sure what tpm 2 is but... I upgraded motherboard + cpu + memory at the start of year, would it have this tpm thing?
     
  12. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    yes and it is disabled by default in consumer motherboards (you can enable it)... unless you are in a country where TPM is banished (ad hoc bios or MB are sold without tpm support).
     
    KissSh0t likes this.
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,399
    Likes Received:
    5,311
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Takes more than this to install on Legacy Bios (gotta do the Wim swap)
     
  14. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,403
    Likes Received:
    638
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
  15. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    448
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon 6900 XT
    Windows 21H2 is now Windows 11 which is coming fall this year not next year.
     

  16. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,403
    Likes Received:
    638
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Probably what Rufus does?

    EDIT: Replacing appraiser does not help with a legacy BIOS, install.wim does.
     
  17. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    it is like a fine reshade filter that output on a non-SDR RGB RT but a proper supported color space (like either int 10 bit or FP16 channel formats) DXGI output device to take advantage of extended gamut. that's why you cannot run on a SDR monitor.
    that's just a tool to make bootable usb sticks in 1 click.
     
  18. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,403
    Likes Received:
    638
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    It does also allow to make the bootable USB be specifically targeted at either an UEFI or Legacy/CSM system.
     
  19. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    guess what.. for the IA-32 haters, there is still d3dImm for DX6 and previous version inside syswow64 folder xD
     
    NvidiaFreak650 likes this.
  20. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    835
    GPU:
    .
    installed pro vesion fine in VB with uefi emulation disables, 1core only, 2GB only, ICH6 chipset (no-ahci), ps2 mouse mode, PAE/NX disabled (except it should be enabled since AGES), no nested pages exposed, not NAT/virtual adabter. It took 5 minutes on my cheap NVME 1TB drive I use for games (SP P34A60)... on a 50GB emulated drive (so below 64GB). TPM on host is not enabled. too bad I cannot hide the cpu ID
     

Share This Page