Microsoft Surface 2

Discussion in 'Tablets and Smart Phones' started by StealBalls, Dec 18, 2013.

1. StealBalls

StealBalls Banned

GPU:
    MSI 280x CrossFire
    Hi,

I am brand BRAND new to tablets I have never even seen one in person.

What are a few things you can do with one? and how much more can a desktop PC do over a tablet, besides the obvious like play BF4....

May I also ask, with the Microsoft Surface 2, what is RT and should i get RT or a none RT one?

I saw this and was really REALLY impressed http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wG1b0yBJHLM

How easy is it to surf the web on these things?

Cheers.

Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  2. lucidus

lucidus Ancient Guru

GPU:
    One thing I can tell you is to stay away from Surface RT. Windows RT is a dead platform and will be merged with the Windows Phone OS. If you wish to get a surface, get the Surface Pro 2 as it does everything a laptop can do and arguably better.

3. StealBalls

StealBalls Banned

GPU:
    MSI 280x CrossFire
    It's MORE than double the price.

At the end of that video, he actually says it's more powerful than windows RT yet in his description he lists Windows 8.1 RT

Confused I am.

Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  4. lucidus

lucidus Ancient Guru

GPU:
    At least it won't be a paper weight like the RT :p

Then your options are Android and iOS. Tabs are best for consumption. They have editing capabilities but the size of their screens and even touch screens in general don't make them suitable for much work. I use my iPad primarily for safari and the iWork office apps.

5. Tat3

Tat3 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GB GTX 1660 Ti OC
    I have been using Surface (1) Pro for like half a year. It's great. It's like best features from small laptop and tablet combined. :)

And I agree, stay away from RT and get Pro version. RT = Office for free and thats about it (no desktop). Dekstop application will not work. Pro = Desktop applications work, proper Windows 8.1.

6. jeffmorris

jeffmorris Ancient Guru