Microsoft prepares to remove the Classic Control Panel in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 30, 2020.

  1. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    2,835
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There is if you use your OS given right to create and organise directories within the start menu.

    Put Uningine Folder and UL folders into a toplevel Benchmarks folder and watch all of them be mixed together.

    Its no wonder people have no idea whats missing when they never even went about organizing their programs menu structure.

    Example, the structure below would instead list every shortcut for every sub folder under 3D Performance Tools on W10. This wasn't always the case, up until about Creators update, it still had the expected folder chain

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,045
    Likes Received:
    7,051
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    LMFAO, so you create chaos in your start menu yourself!
     
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    2,835
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I made use of a function going back to Windows 95, I expect it to be present in Windows 10.
     
    KissSh0t likes this.
  4. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    This is terrible news considering the settings panel breaks all the time.
     

  5. Sideswipe_24

    Sideswipe_24 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    No absolutely Not! this change is not necessary.... just more clutter and confusion. Why break a system thats been the core base of windows OS for the past 30 or so years? is removing control panel really this necessary? there are many more things MS can clean up like the buggieness of the OS amongst many other things. Cortana is more useful than control panel? cmon bruh! PUNT this idea seriously!
     
  6. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,971
    Likes Received:
    684
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    meh I have classic cp linked to startmenu, cause I can actual find things with that find thing in this metro ui is horrid and pain

    If the gona force that they damn well better make it easier to find things in the mess that is metro ui settings

    lets not forget this either it breaks way to often and that just from updates...

    as for the start menu in current form I prefer it over win 7 now. most my icons that littered my desktop back then are now on the startmenu tiles
     
  7. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,837
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
  8. Kevin Mauro

    Kevin Mauro Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R5
    I imagine even if MS were to remove the codebase for it (which they aren't) companies like Stardock would offer products to restore functionality.
     
  9. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,479
    Likes Received:
    1,398
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    I despise to my bones the new "settings" interface.
    I don't like the navigation, the user interface flow (lack of breadcrumb), the fact that the actual informative content has been contracted into a smaller column that you sometimes have to endlessly scroll,... That's way too much vertical effort for everything.

    My go-to move is write "control panel" in the search bar all the time.

    I know which one has to go, and that's not the one at the top for christ sake, what a step back !

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2020
    mbk1969 and JAMVA like this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    2,835
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    its still searchable in 20h2, but 21hx+ intends to remove it.
     

  11. Kevin Mauro

    Kevin Mauro Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R5
    So it won't run in explorer 21hx+ at all? (Hopefully third parties can rectify that)
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,045
    Likes Received:
    7,051
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @XenthorX

    No need to search the Control Panel, just press <Win>+<Break> - that should bring "System" window from Control Panel.

    PS
    Also you can create a shortcut to Control Panel on desktop and then assign it a keyboard combination.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2020
    XenthorX likes this.
  13. wavetrex

    wavetrex Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    910
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    Version 20H2 removed more Control Panel stuff.

    For example, the old "System" panel is gone...

    (Even when opening from the still-existing Ctrl Panel)
    upload_2020-11-3_23-41-45.png

    |
    v

    upload_2020-11-3_23-42-37.png


    RIP "System" panel 1995-2020
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
    mbk1969 likes this.

Share This Page