Microsoft prepares to remove the Classic Control Panel in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 30, 2020.

  1. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    No, cmd.exe is not command.com ... if you meant that. ;)
     
    HandR and Turanis like this.
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    7,095
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    It is not a part of Windows. DOS is operating system with its own API - there is no DOS API in Windows. When you start cmd.exe (command prompt) and execute commands or console apps all of them use Windows API.
    You can`t execute app created for DOS in 64-bit Windows, but you can in 32-bit Windows because DOS is emulated there.
     
    HandR, 386SX and Turanis like this.
  3. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    BTW.: I bet the same will happen like back then when they first removed the start menu from Desktop on Win8:
    Some "ClassicShell ControlPanel" will pop up out of the shadows ...
     
    olymind1 likes this.
  4. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,203
    Likes Received:
    2,245
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Dude it's the only thing that made Windows 8 bearable...... and the same is still true with 10.

    [​IMG]
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

  5. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Exactly. I haven't used the old control panel since Windows 10 came out. Pressing the Windows 10 key or right clicking on the Windows icon gives me everything I want much faster.
     
    metagamer likes this.
  6. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    I fully agree on Win8 (and 8.1), but if you take 1 minute on Win10 you can uninstall / remove all the pinned apps from the initial start menu and basically have a Win7 start menu with some extras (which I personally enjoy, really).
     
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,482
    Likes Received:
    2,844
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no you don't
     
    Order_66 and 386SX like this.
  8. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    To me the start menu in 10 is superior to 7. For one, its expandable and more configurable. Also can live without the CP easily too, since the applets still exist outside of the CP and can make shortcuts to them. In the natural evolution of things, people will grumble and resist change, but more often than not, when they get used to it things begin to feel more natural or logical.
     
  9. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Yes I do. :D
     
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,482
    Likes Received:
    2,844
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    No, you really don't.

    Why don't you actually poke around startmenu's on both, or actually, just test with and without start10, the Win7 start menu has numerous things it does better than 10's.
     

  11. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,981
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    980
    I just like control panel having everything in one place neatly and easily accessible. Settings lacks many things you can access via control panel still. Which is annoying.
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    7,095
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    From your point of view. There can`t be objective approach here.
     
    Order_66 and 386SX like this.
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,482
    Likes Received:
    2,844
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There isn't an objective approach from anyone claiming 10's start menu is comparable to 7 or 8's.

    There is functionality not only changed but also missing in 10's.

    Open Location for instance opens the shortcuts location in the startmenu directory, not the applications location on 10, where as it opens the applications location on 7.
    Start folder expanding shows everything on the top level folder even if they are set in additionally deeper paths on 10.
    There are frequent occasions where a newly made shortcut in the Programs root folder will not appear in the start list at all without purging the startmenu's registry cache.
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    7,095
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Not a single example of missing functionality.

    Open Location opening the shortcuts location is more practical action - here you can (1) change the shortcut properties and (2) jump to actual executable file location.

    And menu in Win7 not showing everything on the top - obvious minus because you should dig further.
     
    alanm likes this.
  15. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    Damn it.. I knew this was coming eventually but I had hoped we were still a few years away from them getting rid of the old control panel.
     

  16. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    On both you click on the logo and it opens. Your argument is invalid. :)

    Any statement here is a personal opinion, besides some hard facts (but not in my comment). So why don't you leave my opinion be? What's so important to change it?

    Yes, I do have this opinion. If you take a minute you could change the Win10 start menu so it almost looks like the one of Win7, plus some extras on top. That's what I said and believe, therefore I made the comment.

    Forcing someone to believe dictated opinions is so 1933 ... ;)
     
    alanm likes this.
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,482
    Likes Received:
    2,844
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    No, you can't.

    Lol. No.

    I shouldn't have several hundred shortcuts to scan through in a Startmenu > Games folder that used to break those games down by publisher or studio just because Windows 10 decided to be autistic.

    Applications that also have Uninstallers, readme's or webshortcuts created on install which make sense under their own folder but not listed all together.
     
  18. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,203
    Likes Received:
    2,245
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I was told elsewhere that the control panel will not be removed, just hidden... more than it already is... for the reason of.. "so people don't go messing with things they don't understand"......

    Has Microsoft said anything officially what the intent is regarding the Control Panel?
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    7,095
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @Astyanax

    LOL Yes. I have plenty of free time so I can continue "YES - NO" contest if it pleases you.

    I don`t get the obsession with start menu at all. Since WinXP I use it may be once in several months. All shortcuts I need (no more than 20) I have at my desktop and taskbar.

    What are you talking about
    [​IMG]
    - there are folders in start menu, and there is no Games folder in my start menu.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2020
  20. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,963
    Likes Received:
    963
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Where can I get Win 10 1933?
     
    386SX and mbk1969 like this.

Share This Page