Metro Exodus

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by scatman839, Jun 11, 2017.

  1. angelgraves13

    angelgraves13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,073
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti FE
    PC will always be better, especially with newer hardware.

    Imagine what gaming will be like in 10 years when we can play all of our old games in 8K natively. You can maybe run a few titles now in 8K with DSR.
     
  2. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,570
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Big update coming down now, must be the DLC, 3.7GB. :p

    EDIT:

    Yup, just loaded her up, its the DLC :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
    HARDRESET likes this.
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,859
    Likes Received:
    2,417
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/412020/allnews/

    Not bad.


    EDIT:


    20th August 2019
     
  4. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,570
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Not bad at all, thats a lot of fixes :D
     

  5. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    About @^$%&*! time! :mad::D
     
    HARDRESET likes this.
  6. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    They mean the stutter ?
     
  7. HARDRESET

    HARDRESET Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    3090 RTX / 1080Ti
    Yes 4.88 GB at EPIC , man i can't wait!

    can't play DLC , what da fuc! come on !!!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  8. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    DLC still says unavailable for me.
     
  9. paulonone

    paulonone Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Already available:)
     
  10. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    Yeap, looks good so far.
     

  11. HARDRESET

    HARDRESET Master Guru

    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    3090 RTX / 1080Ti
    Got it now, 4.88GB last night, plus additional 1.23 GB this morning .
     
  12. Xtreme512

    Xtreme512 Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX1060 6GB
    does dlc story need main story be finished beforehand?
     
  13. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    I agree, the first game to not have Hairworks cause fps drops was long due :p
     
  14. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    That's what I thought they meant, but apparently not. I tested it, and the stutter effect is still there :(

    I don't think 4A Games have a clue about fixing this problem. It probably has to do with how their engine handles real time shader compilation, because the only thing I've found which ameliorates the stutter is turning shader cache on.

    A good 3D engine will farm out shader compiling to worker threads which do it in the background. I guess their engine is very inefficient in that process, hence the jarring stutter.
     
  15. macatak

    macatak Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    can you test the benchmark ? it always hitches at the point where the deer runs through the forest with any preset as long as hair works is enabled

    example:

     

  16. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    I've never run the benchmark, but I did test in game. Right at the beginning of the Volga when Artyom is walking with Anna and two rabbits pop up, it always hitches because those rabbits have hairworks.
     
  17. macatak

    macatak Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    ok thanks
     
  18. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    108
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Gaming X
    Weird i dont have such problems, u using sli ?
     
  19. macatak

    macatak Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    can you run the benchmark and see if it hitches where the deer runs through the forest ?
    need to have hair works enable for whichever preset you use

    you can see the hitch i'm talking about in this vid


     
  20. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    No I'm not using SLI. You probably don't notice the hitch because you have shader cache turned on. With shader cache turned on, the effect only happens once after encountering an entity with HW enabled. After that, the compiled shader is saved to disk and so the effect is greatly diminished or outright negated.
     

Share This Page