Metro 2033

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Synks, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. Texter

    Texter Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    256
    GPU:
    Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
    Turn off 4xMSAA and turn on AAA. This game has 2011 hardware requirements at maximum settings.
     
  2. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,235
    Likes Received:
    2,077
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    there , ive corrected it for you :D
     
  3. Texter

    Texter Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,175
    Likes Received:
    256
    GPU:
    Club3d GF6800GT 256MB AGP
    Then let me counter-correct you with:

    Edit: great way to reach the 1k posts marker...
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  4. Gembel

    Gembel Master Guru

    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2

  5. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    So, this game is really cheap at the moment on Steam. But I'd like to know if I'm gonna enjoy it on my rig. Is it enough for this game? Besides, does it have gamepad support (xbox360)? thanks.
     
  6. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Yes, it does support the 360 pad.
     
  7. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    Check my screenshots in games screenshot thread, it will give you an ideea of how insane demanding this game is at highest possible settings. You can play it however good on that setup on lower settings.
     
  8. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    But man, does it look great in motion when maxed out. Metro's graphics impressed me much more the first time than let's say seeing Crysis for the first time.
     
  9. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    You are right, in motion it looks MUCH better then in screenshots. I took me 12 hours for my first playthrough because I was literally staring at ''walls'' every level. Still, it's a tad too taxing or unoptimized at highest settings, even with my system I had times when in dropped in the 30s even a minimum of 25 in first level (think there is a memory leak or something there because it sucked all my vram and it didn't even look that great than let's say library or D6).
     
  10. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    How does Metro 2033 perform with an core i5 750 stock and GTX580? Please need a quick answer else i want to buy it off steam now it's 75% off :D
     

  11. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    You won't play it at the very maximum at 1920x1200 at least, but if you put down AA to 2x and maybe dof from dx11 it should be playable with the rest to max.

    PS - Metro doesn't give a **** about cpu, it's a heavy gpu game. :p
     
  12. Arioch

    Arioch Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI
    DOF should be turned off as a minimum as it has a real high impact on performance.
     
  13. Tat3

    Tat3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,770
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    GB GTX 1660 Ti OC
    Works well enough. Buy it. CPU clocks wont matter in this game and I was fine with 1920*1200 res with GTX480. Not going to max it with solid 60fps, but still. Worth it.
     
  14. tvavra

    tvavra Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX460 768MB
    here are some tips:) hope it helps

    1) Go to AppData / Local / 4A Games / Metro 2033 and open user.cfg
    2) r_gi 0 change to 1
    3) r_vsync off change to on ( the most important setting coz its bug in this game, so turn it on )
    4) sick_fov 45 change to 60

    my fps gained from 30 to 75 with the same quality :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  15. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    Hmm thanks for posting this, that confirms my sorrows about VRAM :(

    Can you explain what the 2nd point does?
     

  16. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    just checked my self, its something with lod settings

    r_gi 0
    r_gi_distance 16.
    r_gi_intensity 2.
    r_gi_overlap 0.5
    r_gi_quality 0.4

    this is default..
     
  17. StrikeQ

    StrikeQ Master Guru

    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080 Waterforce 2139/5500
    It's Global Illumination I believe, has to do with light sources afaik.
     
  18. tvavra

    tvavra Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX460 768MB
    ye, StrikeQ is right,it's global illumination. If you're running a weaker CPU, this might actually be a performance hit, but in most cases it actually acts as a gain. It changes the lighting to a different system that works better with DX10 and 11.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  19. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
    Ok, thanks. But which one would look better? :p

    And there is definitely a memory leak in the first level. I mean I can play for a few minutes and then it start to be all choppy independent of where I am in the map at that particular time.
     
  20. tvavra

    tvavra Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX460 768MB
    Sorry, don't know it, just try it and u will se what is better for u :) i prefer high fps before low fps with the same quality ;)
     

Share This Page