Memory Dual Channel and Command Rate

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Calle2003, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. Calle2003

    Calle2003 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX560 1GB+GT430 1GB
    I guess I would benefit if I upgrade to 4 GB of RAM in my system when playing Crysis Warhead, it lags to about 3 FPS in some places but originally Crysis ran just fine with everything set to Very High. In Warhead when running everything on Enthusiast but lowering Objects of Detail to Medium i.e. less detailed textures i.e. comsumes less Memory, Crysis Warhead runs fine but it's very blurry compared to the Max settings. I run the game at 1280x1024.

    My question:
    2x1 GB runs at CR1 but 4x1 GB would only run at CR2 but still Dual Channel, am I correct?
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2008
  2. Knox

    Knox Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Red Devil RX580 8GB
    Yeah that right, but 2x1GB should be running in T1 any ways :p
     
  3. Calle2003

    Calle2003 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX560 1GB+GT430 1GB
    Oh I see you run 4x1 RAM, so you are very qualified to answer this question, so you are running Dual channel and CR2?
    Preferably you should also have RAM of same brand so I have to ditch my 2 current sticks of RAM since they are not available on the market anymore (in Sweden).
    Maybee I should wait and upgrade my whole system, thinking of AMD Deneb and 2x2 GB Dual channel CR1 :p
     
  4. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    well when i had 2gb it ran in t1 but now i have 3gb it runs in t2 so i'm not sure how it works
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Some AMD boards won't run 1T with 4 sticks of ram regardless of the size unless the timings are relaxed, because the memory controller can't handle it.
     
  6. Terrorizor

    Terrorizor Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX260 SC
    if you want to keep your full memory clock w/ all 4 dimms filled, 2T cmd is what you want.

    and to add to what pill was saying, some AMD motherboards will also require you to lower the clock + 2T set to retain stability @ the dimms rather than the memory controller,. because on AMD systems the memory controller is in the cpu.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  7. Calle2003

    Calle2003 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX560 1GB+GT430 1GB
    So I have 2 choices:
    1. Buy 4x1 GB PC3200 Corsair value (the only cheap DDR1 available) and ditch my 2x1 GB PC3500 Kingmax (I guess the 4x1 Corsair can't reach as tight timings and high clocks and CR 1T as my 2x1 GB Kingmax)
    or
    2. Upgrade motherboard+CPU and get 2x2 GB DDR2 that are cheaper than DDR1

    What would you do? :)
     
  8. must_kill_ati

    must_kill_ati Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 2060
    Personally, I would upgrade. I think you'll see a performance upgrade...I don't see why you wouldn't going with newer tech...and where's the fun in life if you don't get your hands on new computer tech from time to time?


    I guess it depends on what operating system you're using also...the 32bit versions are only going to use 3gb of ram anyhoo...
     
  9. Terrorizor

    Terrorizor Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX260 SC
    if you can afford to upgrade do it, your power supply, gpu, and sound are all worthy for a better core system.
     
  10. Calle2003

    Calle2003 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX560 1GB+GT430 1GB
    When i upgrade I was thinking of donating my computer to my parents, everything except some harddrives and GPU and soundcard, I am currently visiting them and using their AMD Athlon K7 Slot A@500 MHz, 512 MB SDR, Geforce4 MX440 LOL :p
     

Share This Page