MB not detecting new GPU

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Parasite21, Dec 27, 2017.

1. Parasite21

Parasite21 Member

GPU:
    BFG 8800GTX 768MB
    So I have Asrock B75 Pro3-M motherboard with a Intel i5 2500k and 12GB of DDR3 1333MHz RAM. I have been using a Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 for the last 5 years and it has worked fine in my 16x PCI-E slot and still works fine.

I just got a used Gigabyte Geforce 960 GTX 2GB and the motherboard won't detect the card in the 16x PCI-E slot as in I get a no signal on both DVI and HDMI outputs but I it works fine in the other PCI-E slot on the board but the problem with that is that it is only x4 2.0 so it is limiting me. I have tried disconnecting everything and resetting the CMOS but no luck.

Before you ask yes the 6 pin power connector is connected and it works fine in the other slot and the MB shows it in the BIOS. But if I try to use the x16 slot I need to connect to the integrated GPU to get anything on the screen and the bios says there is nothing connected to the x16 slot.

The BIOS is also on the newest update.

So any ideas?

2. Chastity

Chastity Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    I think the card is probably bad, and that is why someone sold it. Sorry.

3. Parasite21

Parasite21 Member

GPU:
    BFG 8800GTX 768MB
    Yeah I have thought of that but I've never encountered a card that works in a x4 slot and not in a x16 slot and I live in a really small country and got the guys phonenumber and home address so..

And except for this it works fine in games, audio passthrough and movie watching..

4. Agent-A01

Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    MB bios is the latest or the GPU bios?

Double check both.

Unless you can test it in another PC you can assume it's faulty if your previous card works in 16x slot.