1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maybe a little step from 7800 to Quadro

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by Blacksmurf, Dec 4, 2005.

  1. Blacksmurf

    Blacksmurf New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 7800gt vivo
    First of all many Thanks to Unwinder for his exellent Work.
    Maybe this is interesting for you.

    ( sorry for my "suboptimal" english, i come from Germany )

    Try follow:

    Start Riva Tuner 15.8 and go to Nvstrap driver settings
    Set Graphics adapter identification to custom
    Use Rom straps for PCI DeviceID programming is set to 009D (unknown device)
    set unlock professional capabillitis to on, and install NVStrap driver.

    Uninstall yor previos Nvidia driver and restart your PC
    after restart, install the 77,56 quadro driver or 78,01 driver

    It works only with 77,56 and above till 79,11,
    the 8x,xx driver dont work in this case.


    SPECViewperf 8.1 results before and after the Mod :
    (Opteron dual CPU Workstation)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run All Summary 7800 gt on 81,95 driver



    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 6.051

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 4.378

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.977

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 2.965

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 1.108

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 6.772

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 5.677

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 8.549

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run All Summary 4500 Quadro driver 78,01



    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 16.94

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 11.04

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.66

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.353

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 19.09

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 17.11

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 13.72

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.051


    This is not really much, but I hope we will get more out of the 7800's

    Greeting's Blacksmurf
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,618
    Likes Received:
    682
    I'd like to see full diagnostic report (including GPU registers dump)
     
  3. Blacksmurf

    Blacksmurf New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 7800gt vivo
    Diagnostic Report

    Hello,

    here are the Report from NFStrap with id 009D and 79.11 Driver

    I would like to say that the results with Dual monitor configuration were made.
    I think with one display, it will be faster.
    If you liked, I can also post the report of the 8x.xx Driver later
    When the NFStrap Driver with the option Quadro installed , he select a wrong hardware ID (009n or similarly) but there is nothing with id 009n in the nv4_disp.inf

    Greeting Blacksmurf
     
  4. zakk5

    zakk5 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FX 5800 @ SQ quadro 2000
    Hello Blacksmurf!

    if this is true, it would be fantastic ...

    can you enable the pro features (hardware overlayplanes etc) in the driversettings?

    and might it be possible to post some single monitor results?

    Thanks Zakk5
     

  5. Blacksmurf

    Blacksmurf New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 7800gt vivo
    Hello Zakk5,
    I unfortunately found no such entry in the Driversettings,
    since I have a German menu, but in the system32 folder
    I found one nvapps.xml file, were the pre-setting of the programs (Maya ProE etc.) are stored.

    Perhaps you can say to me, which entry it is.

    i think the Ogl Values are stored in this file,since I did not find anything in the Registry.

    Here are the Values for 3d studio Max for Example

    - <PROFILE Label="3D Studio Max">
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_buffer_flipping_mode" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_render_quality" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_force_generic_cpu" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_single_back_depth_buffer" Value="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_app_softimage" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_app_support_bits" Value="0x00000080" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_overlay_support" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_application_key" Value="0x00000003" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_overlay_merge_blit_timerms" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_stereo_support" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="conformant_texture_clamp" Value="0x00000000" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="ws_aa_line_gamma" Value="0x00000010" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="4" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="multichip_ogl_options" Value="0x0000ffff" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="multi_mon_config" Value="3" Itemtype="predefined" />
    <PROPERTY Label="vsync_default" Value="0x60925292" Itemtype="predefined" />


    p.s. the Performancegain with one Monitor is between 10-20%
    Geeting Blacksmurf
     
  6. lordhostile

    lordhostile Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA 8800GTX Superclocked 621/2000
    I noticed something from your dump that might be affecting performance, then again it's probably due to the mod.



    Clock speeds seem to be locked in 2D mode for low power 3D and high power 3D. I looked around at other softmod quadro dumps and all those seemed to have the right clock speeds listed. This may just be due to it being a 7800


    Hos...
     
  7. zakk5

    zakk5 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FX 5800 @ SQ quadro 2000
    Hallo Blacksmurf!

    ich komme auch aus Detuschland!
    Hast du im Treibermenu Einstellungsmöglichkeiten für versch. CAD software?
    kannst du die da auswählen? MAya, Softimage, cinema etc??
    hier kannst du afaik auch hardwareoverlay planes aktivieren.
    Benutzt du CAD software?

    Gruß zakk5

    sorry guys for speaking german her: i did just ask about driversettings for CAD apps and if the "maybe-softmodded 7800" can enable Hardware overlayplanes.

    Zakk5
     
  8. Blacksmurf

    Blacksmurf New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 7800gt vivo
    Hello

    to lordhostile:

    I make another dump with 81,67 quadro Driver:

    $ffffffffff ----------------------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
    $ffffffffff ----------------------------------------------------------------
    $0100000000 Graphics core : NV47 revision A1 (20x1,7vp)
    $0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0090 (ROM strapped to 009d)
    $0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
    $0100000003 Memory type : DDR3 (RAM configuration 05)
    $0100000004 Memory amount : 262144KB
    $0100000100 Core clock domain 0 : 438.750MHz
    $0100000101 Core clock domain 1 : 405.000MHz
    $0100000102 Core clock domain 2 : 405.000MHz
    $0100000006 Memory clock : 501.188MHz (1002.375MHz effective)
    $0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    $0f00000000 Vendor : NVIDIA Corporation
    $0f00000001 Renderer : Quadro FX 4500/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW!
    $0f00000002 Version : 2.0.1

    Here are the Core clocks right, but this Driver runs much slower than all the
    7x,xx driver.
    Another interesting thing, the nvoglnt.dll Version 2.0.0 from 7x,xx has about
    4,90 mb during the one from 81,67 Version 2.0.1 has only 2,58 mb
    The Ogl Driverversions and the Core Clocks are the only difference between
    the Dumps.
    it seems, that something took the brakes in 81.67

    Cinebench 2003 79.11 OGl Hardware results : 3192

    Cinebench 2003 81.67 OGl Hardware results : 2211

    To zakk5:

    Hy,ich habe alle Auswahlmöglichkeiten für div CAD und 3D Renderprogs,
    aber unter den erweiterten einstellungen taucht kein hardwareoverlay planes
    auf.

    translate: Hy, I has all options for div. CAD and 3D Renderprogs, but under the extended settings is no hardware overlay.

    Blacksmurf
     
  9. zakk5

    zakk5 Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FX 5800 @ SQ quadro 2000
    Hi Blacksmurf,

    does it look something like this?
    here is a little checkbox where you can enable
    hardwareoverlay planes.

    Thanks Zakk5
     
  10. Lord Banshee

    Lord Banshee Master Guru

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XT 512 @ FireGL 7350
    Sorry but no quadro here,

    your orginal driver install must have been F'ed.

    Your reg dump says no true quadro, and your quadros don't either.

    I also tired 7800 81.94, 7800->quadrofx 81.94, 7800->QuadroFX 78.01

    all my scores were basicly the same +- 2%

    Run All Summary

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\3DSMAX\SUMMARY.TXT
    3dsmax-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 19.28

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\CATIA\SUMMARY.TXT
    catia-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 12.89

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\ENSIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    ensight-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.22

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\LIGHT\SUMMARY.TXT
    light-07 Weighted Geometric Mean = 11.54

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\MAYA\SUMMARY.TXT
    maya-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 21.25

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\PROE\SUMMARY.TXT
    proe-03 Weighted Geometric Mean = 17.17

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\SW\SUMMARY.TXT
    sw-01 Weighted Geometric Mean = 14.71

    ---------- SUM_RESULTS\UGS\SUMMARY.TXT
    ugs-04 Weighted Geometric Mean = 9.615


    We can only wish someone finds a way, but i can truely say this method does nothing.
     

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,618
    Likes Received:
    682
    Sorry, but it is not a Quadro:

    $0200001084 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_1 : 00205649
     
  12. Damn_U

    Damn_U Guest

    so if it did turned into a quadro, would it be faster/better?
     
  13. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Only if you are using CAD/DCC software. If you are gaming, stick to GeForce, since Quadros are actually performing little slower in games.
     
  14. daskog

    daskog Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon 9600Xt @Firegl
    Hello, any update on this or what? please don't give up!
     
  15. aodh

    aodh New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If there is no softmods for the 7800 gt/gtx then is there any hardmod??

    Regards AOdh
     

  16. daskog

    daskog Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon 9600Xt @Firegl
    i doubt that..but i could be wrong
     
  17. daskog

    daskog Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon 9600Xt @Firegl
    I Change everything i've sayd so far! i just had to trye besides Unwinders statement of not posible etc..

    I use Softimage XSI 5

    and i did a little tweaking with Rivatuner and some Quadro drivers i got a hold on and all i can say is SWEAT JESUS! i suddenly have a 70% increase of Region Render speed!
    My card is a Gigabyte 7800 Gtx 256mb

    Not all specs are in place yet but im sure close to a real Quadro 4500 soon!
    Stay tuned =)
     
  18. daskog

    daskog Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon 9600Xt @Firegl
    Everything i throw at the Region tool just Render Blazes awayyy =)
     
  19. daskog

    daskog Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati Radeon 9600Xt @Firegl
    I hit some hard facts.. Stability! forget about i say to myself =P
    i rather pay for the 4500 instead. no biggie realy when you do gfx work.

    My new system will hopefully have dual quad or somthin + Quadro 4500 or somthin greater.

    I had overal 20-30% increase in speed but stability is not somthin i would sacrifyce.
     
  20. clokkevi

    clokkevi Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 680
    Btw: When you do "Render Region" you are rendering with Mental Ray, using your CPU(s) only.
    There should be no difference in the "Render Region" speed,
    no matter what your graphic card are -
    be it Quadro FX 4500, Riva TNT or Matrox G200..
     

Share This Page