Max. Resolution of old 360s on PC monitors

Discussion in 'Consoles & console games' started by Australis, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. Australis

    Australis Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    I believe that I have discovered a miserable truth which may be a basic knowledge among the community. Here I seek your approval or disapproval for my findings.

    Lately, I became fascinated by 24" widescreen LCD monitors with a resolution of 1920 x 1200. This native resolution even tops what offered by the 47" HDTV (1920 x 1080) in the living room. I thought I can finally enjoy HD gaming on the 360 without concerning about the eyes watching over my shoulders. My recent discovery broke this dream but I still have to thank those users who lead me into it. Otherwise, it would be all too late until I discover things go terribly wrong.

    My Xbox 360 is the premium type before the 65 nm "Halo 3 edition", codenamed Falcon, was announced so it has no HDMI support. To connect it to a LCD monitor, a VGA connecter is used. Users on this forum looked down on it and I went to Wiki to check what VGA is made of. It said VGA was the display mode before we install Forceware or Catalyst, providing a maximum resolution of 640 x 480. I recall that and that is terrible to conceive.

    Then I type "Xbox 360 LCD" on Google and found IGN's guide two years ago.
    (http://gear.ign.com/articles/703/703073p2.html)

    The hardware mentioned still matches today's! The big thunder hit me when I read that VGA connecters can only provide resolutions this low even on HD LCD monitors!

    [​IMG]

    Heart broken, I will still buy that LCD monitor for PC gaming but the Xbox 360 has to remain next to the HDTV. Meaning I have to bargain with the rest of the family for its use. Shoot.
     
  2. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    Umm that looks VERY wrong.

    Mines Shows 1920*1200 as a Selectable Res.

    On my CRT via a VGA cable
     
  3. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,108
    Likes Received:
    493
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    It doesn't matter selecting 1920x1200, only three games support it.
     
  4. Australis

    Australis Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    Do you mean it is better off to put the HDTV to good use alongside the Xbox 360 instead of the 360+LCD solution?
     

  5. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,879
    Likes Received:
    477
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    You either need to replace your vga-hd cable as other people are also having resolution problems with the official cable such as here, or you haven't updated your xbox firmware, though the latter's unlikely as the firmware update has been out for quite a while.

    I picked up my vga-hd cable with coaxial/optical output for sound off of ebay quite cheap, gives me a range of resolutions up to 1920x1080. Just make sure you get the correct cable that supportss data transfer rates for 1080p, though most do these days.

    To answer your question you can't beat a 40" screen for console gaming.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  6. Australis

    Australis Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G
    I am grateful for the replies. The complexity and expenses in using a LCD monitor with the 360 compel me to give up. As you pointed out, it can't be better than a 47" HDTV.
     
  7. TheBoss84

    TheBoss84 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 + GTX 970
    There is something wrong with your cable. Mine shows 1900x1200 too.
     
  8. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,029
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    What 3 games support it? I didn't think there were any...D:
     
  9. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,108
    Likes Received:
    493
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    http://www.makeyougohmm.com/xbox360-1080p-games/

    [native 1080p] Boogie Bunnies [Xbox Live Arcade]
    [native 1080p] Street Home Court
    [native 1080p] Virtual Tennis 3

    There might be a few more now, that was 6 months ago.
     
  10. Stukov

    Stukov Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6970/4870X2 (both dead)
    It might not 'support' native gaming at that resolution, but it will still play all 360 games at that resolution. It may just put black bars, stretch, or scale it properly.
     

  11. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,108
    Likes Received:
    493
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    But there's still no point in it.

    If a game doesn't even support scaled 1080p then it just switches the resolution to something lower.
     
  12. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,511
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    Pretty sure it stays on 1080p and scales the image using the inbuilt scaler

    So the res Will be 1080p
     
  13. Sprecker

    Sprecker Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotech 680 4g
    Not on the 360. The PS3 does and it's quite annoying but the 360 scales quite well.
     

Share This Page