Max Payne 3 problem

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by Olvik, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    Not shown on the screen playing Max Playne 3, why...? :bang:
    At a resolution 5760 x 1080 in MSI Afterburner 2.2.1

    A greeting.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  2. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    Works just fine here on my computer.

    Also for FPS readings I suggest using latest version of FRAPS (3.5.4) due to MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision X reading the framerate of Max Payne 3 wrong.
     
  3. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    The fact is that in all games work perfectly, but not having direct Payner Max 3, which does not show anything on screen.
    I changed the options in the MSO On-Screen Display, but nothing.

    A greeting.
     
  4. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    Maybe it has something to do with the HD7970 drivers?

    I did not need to change anything, I just installed the game (Steam) and it worked perfectly.

    Although the FPS reader is broken, so I suggest using Fraps for that.
     

  5. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I also have the retail version and overlay/OSD does not work with retail MaxPayne3.exe.

    It does however work with cracked MaxPayne3.exe and this is what I am using to have MSI Afterburner,fraps ETC overlay/OSD working.

    Also social club works fine with the cracked MaxPayne3.exe and saved games are fine.

    The one I am using is the steam one.
    Max.Payne.3.Special.Edition.CRACK.ONLY.Fixed-Full Link
     
  6. Eluder

    Eluder Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 680 Lightning
    Same here, retail version of MP3 and the OSD doesn't work.
    Guess an update to AB is needed, or to the game.
     
  7. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    Tell you that I have the Max Payne 3 original, not a copy.

    A greeting.
     
  8. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Just trying to help.If you want MSI Afterburner working now this is how you do it.

    I used this
    Max.Payne.3.Special.Edition.CRACK.ONLY.Fixed-Full Link

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    Thanks...! :bolt:
    A picture is worth a thousand words ...

    But do not get it to work, I get to the desktop, can you get the instructions?
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  10. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Download
    Max.Payne.3.Special.Edition.CRACK.ONLY.Fixed-Full Link
    at piratebay.org.

    Backup these files in Max Payne 3 folder
    SecureDownloadAPI.dll
    CommunicationNet.dll
    FirewallInstallHelper.dll
    GameuxInstallHelper.dll
    MaxPayne3.exe
    MP3GDF.dll
    PlayMaxPayne3.exe


    Open Max.Payne.3.Special.Edition.CRACK.ONLY.Fixed-Full Link and copy all the files to the Max Payne 3 folder and replace the when it ask too replace them.
    commandline.txt-> add whatever language you want it is set to english
    CommunicationNet.dll
    FirewallInstallHelper.dll
    GameuxInstallHelper.dll
    MaxPayne3.exe
    MP3GDF.dll
    MaxPayne3_Steam
    PlayMaxPayne3.exe
    steam_api.dll
    Steamclient.dll


    It makes no difference if you copy the steam stuff
     

  11. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    Thanks... :)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  12. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Glad you got it working
     
  13. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,491
    Likes Received:
    2,833
    Incorrect framerate monitoring under DX11 in STEAM version will be fixed in the next build. Missing OSD in non-STEAM version is a result of retail copy protective system and it will not be fixed. So either use cracked exe (at your own risk of course) or contact Rockstar and ask them to unban third party hook tools or just live without OSD/videocapture in this game.
     
  14. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Unwinder your software is used by millions of people and are a natural part of gaming.
    I am sure if enough people contact Rockstar they will change the retail exe.
    Thank you for continuing with your great software for all to use.
     
  15. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    Max Payne 3 LEGAL

    Yes, I totally agree, we use legal software and having to resort to illegal patch to visualize the parameters of our graphics card, is not normal.
    For my part I have already sent an email telling them the fact unusual.
    I thought we'd join here or where our discomfort to participate by a failure to be corrected soon.
    Outraged by SOFTWARE FAILURE... :bang:

    A greeting.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,491
    Likes Received:
    2,833
    It is absolutely normal for any software vendor to protect their product. It is entirely up to Rockstar to choose the way they protect retail version of the game. So you may ask ask them to remove the restiction, but may not demand anything.
     
  17. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    I understand, but there is no question of demanding anything strange, it works perfectly in every game because in Max Payne 3 NO...
    I just want to see the FPS and the parameters of my graphics card CrossFire, is it so complicated ...? For example I am comparing the OC with other games and see if I go too the frequency of core temperature rises much. From 2230MHz and 1.25v
    Anyway thanks for the clarification.

    A greeting.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,491
    Likes Received:
    2,833
    It requires a third party (OSD/videocapture etc) hook library to be injected into the game process. If the game protection system restricts such thing - let it be so.
     
  19. Olvik

    Olvik Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX Titan Black
    What do you mean, you can do through the game itself ...?

    A greeting.
     
  20. slamscaper

    slamscaper New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 SLI 2GB
    He's just explaining the process involved when you use the OSD feature for monitoring GPU attributes in-game. It's far more complicated than you may think and most game developers don't fancy the notion of allowing end-users to inject random code into their software (for obvious reasons).

    PC gamers should be clamoring for developers to support in-game GPU monitoring natively via their game software. This would allow in-game GPU monitoring without having to resort to unsupported third-party software that the developer may or may not allow.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012

Share This Page