Lucid Virtu MVP - Quick question regarding Virtual VSync

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by SlackerITGuy, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    UPDATE :

    Holy s**t this things WORKS now !!!

    I had another play with this on the 310.70 drivers and Lucid 2.1.221.
    Before how could I miss that you need ingame Vsync on :bang:

    Anyway with in game Vsync on and Virtual Vsync on, there is no tearing yet fps is high (in BF3 70-120fps)
    However it wasn't totally smooth, but quite good.
    GPU usage is at 100% though which is bad for power and heat.

    Sooooo.....
    I had a play and have found limiting fps in inspector to 65fps solves both problems, game is smooth and GPU isnt maxing out unnecessarily.

    Other settings are;
    NV panel = render ahead 1
    BF3 user.cfg = Triplebuffering off

    result = the smoothest lag free gameplay ive ever had in BF3 in over a year off trying different configs.

    Thanks VBS for the heads up.

    Im converted, when this works, boy its good.:banana:
     
  2. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    Does your GPU still max out with Hyperformance on?
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,306
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    100% agree with this, nv inspctor aka nvidia's own frame limiter is just as bad as BF3 build in or even worse, Afterburner did a excelent job with it - top $hit :D

    I tried nv inspctor limiter in L4d2 and it jittered all over the place with vsync on (looking around), once i enabled MSI afterbruner limiter it was so smooth i couldnt believe it. Nice job Unwinder :thumbup:
     
  4. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Yeah just tested this now, gpu usage is at 97-100% all the time.
    This is with Hyperformance + Virtual Vsync on (ingame Vsync on)

    Hyperformance Off + Virtual Vsync on (ingame Vsync on) also maxes the GPU.

    Hyperformance brings nothing useful to the table.

    Best config ive found is Hyperformance off, Vitual Vsync on, ingame Vsync on, FPS limited to 65fps.

    Just a little update,
    I've had a few random crashes in BF3, Shift 2 and Max Payne 3 whilst using this today.
    So whilst its good it may be a bit temperamental still.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2013

  5. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    I've found out that Hyperformance works better with some games more than others. When it's working properly you'll see reduced GPU usage while keeping the same (high) framerate.

    I've tested BF3 awhile yesterday and today, and 306.97 WHQL were the ones that were the best with it -- the 307.45's had some hyperformance glitches, but the 306.97's were just perfect! :D
     
  6. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Just gone back the the 306.97's and tried again.

    Hyperformance was the same, not smooth and gpu still maxed at 100%.

    Im going to keep these drivers for a while and see if they crash or not after long period of play.
     
  7. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Ok just to update this with the 306.97's BF3 crashed again after a long period of play (1hr or so)
    I got a DX error about lack of available ram (note 16GB in sig !)

    So i did a bit of monitoring with inspector.....

    1080p, 2xMSAA, 2xTrSSAA, SMAA high, all settings Ultra.
    On the map 64 player Markoz Monolith Map, with Virtual Vsync on VRAM usage was sat at 2000-2020MB.

    Disable Virtual Vsync and its 1300MB.

    I think the problem is either a memory leak, or to use Virtual Vsync you need lots of free VRAM.

    Shame, gonna uninstall this now, but as I said before when it works.... it works good.
     
  8. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    Really strange then. Are you using d-Mode or i-Mode? I've been always using i-Mode. A really great benefit of i-Mode is that the whole nV gfx VRAM is available, since the desktop is stored in the integrated gpu shared mem, so it's even better than using the "disable desktop composition" trick.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  9. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    Worked pretty good for me in some games, a few it caused issues. It's definitely worth having if you happen to have it, but considering only some games benefit, not worth going out of your way or expense to have it.
     
  10. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    I guess it really depends on how much you value its benefits. Using it in "d-Mode", with the monitor connected to the discrete GPU, gives you:
    1. Virtual V-Sync -- proper triple-buffering (minimal input lag) when using v-sync on DirectX;
    2. Hyperformance -- dGPU not rendering frames that won't be seen, so the rendered frames will also have even more minimal input lag, while saving power;
    Additionally, if you use it in "i-Mode", with the monitor connected to the motherboard (integrated GPU), there are some extra advantages:
    1. Browser and desktop acceleration using the iGPU, leaving the dGPU always on the lowest power state;
    2. dGPU ram usage free of anything except the game you are playing;
    I've been using MVP in i-Mode for awhile now (HD3000+GTX560Ti). Like I said, the first versions were pretty buggy, especially Hyperformance, but they are much much much better now.

    The only thing you have to remember when using i-Mode is to add the game's executable to the MVP list, and tick whether you want to use Hyperformance or not with that particular game.
     

  11. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Im using d-mode, not tried the i-mode yet, but i'll test it out in the week.

    Regarding the memory leak in BF3 i have found 3 different threads (2 on OCN and 1 OCUK) where other people have noticed a memory leak in this game and the eventual crash.

    Emailed Lucid, but dont expect a reply.

    Will try out i-mode though, prob Tuesday now and see how that goes.

    Frustrating though, looked so promising at first !!
     
  12. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    Remember to also update to the latest Intel HD drivers, 15.28.12.2932
    http://www.station-drivers.com/page/intel graphics.htm

    Also, Lucid MVP must be the last thing to be installed. If you change the nVidia drivers, reinstall MVP.

    Check your UEFI (BIOS) to see if you have enabled support for multi-monitor in the integrated gpu settings, its needed for Virtu to work properly.
     
  13. SlackerITGuy

    SlackerITGuy Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 Fury
    Very informative thread as always fellas, keep it coming....

    Quick question: Maybe someone here knows, with the release of their 2.0 version of Virtu MVP soon, will they also develop/deploy a new chip/chipset in the new wave of motherboards coming this year?

    Since I'm in the market for a new motherboard, I don't want to purchase something now to find out that they'll be updating their stuff on both the hardware and software side of things for the new wave of motherboards.

    Anyone?
     
  14. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    I haven't seen any new info regarding them developing new hardware (Hydra chips); they seem focused at the moment in their MVP 2.0 and VGware remote rendering platform. Since they are moving MVP licensing from the OEM to the retail market, I think they really want to support their real customers better.

    Lets see what they show up in CES this week! :D
     
  15. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Just thought id pop back and mention i'm not even going to bother testing i-mode out as i said i would, based on a bit of googling and this review it seems to incur a performance penalty of ~15%..... which to me is counter intuitive.

    I'll just keep fingers crossed to memory leak in BF3 gets addressed, but wont get hopes up as users have been reporting this since April, and there have been a few revisions since then.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

  16. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    Sorry but that review is severely outdated! It's from May 29, 2012 and it was done using Virtu MVP 2.1.111.21241. Latest Virtu MVP is 2.1.221.25032. Those ~15% of performance hit are loooooong gone! :D
     
  17. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    ^^ Hmmmmmm sounds like i need to check that out.....
    Suspect i know the answer thou ;)

    Well had an email back from Lucid support :) regarding memory leak in BF3, they ARE AWARE of the issue and are working hard to fix it !!!!
     
  18. click4dylan

    click4dylan New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY Geforce GTX 580 1.5GB
    i have tried i-mode with my monitor connected to the onboard, and i still get about a 15% performance hit that way. i'm using 2.1.221.25032. in far cry 3 for example, on d-mode i get 45 fps maxed out with my gtx 580. load the saved game in that exact spot at the exact game time with i-mode and its about 28-30 fps. and if i look at the sky i get about 500 fps in d-mode, and about 90 with i-mode. so it's not for me unfortunately.

    i do love virtual vsync though. although i found out most games require you to turn on in-game vsync (source engine games for example), which still causes input lag even though the FPS is > 75 (my refresh rate), while others dont seem to require ingame vsync and theres still no tearing with virtual vsync enabled.

    so far the only game i've got to work properly with HyperFormance is call of duty 4. with it enabled i get about 850 fps, and in the same spot with it disabled i get about 250.

    on my asrock extreme4, i was able to increase the allocated integrated gpu shared RAM to 1 GB in the bios, and virtu still works.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  19. Vbs

    Vbs Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 970, 1506/7806
    Which drivers were you using?
     
  20. click4dylan

    click4dylan New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY Geforce GTX 580 1.5GB

Share This Page