Kingston HyperX reaches Fastest 128GB DDR4 Memory Kit

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 12, 2015.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,465
    Likes Received:
    10,274
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. deathroned

    deathroned Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    950
    Hilbert WTH who needs 128gb of ram sheesh.:banana:
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2015
  3. Laci

    Laci Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti AUROS
    For servers.. Or only as a demonstration of the DDR4 capabilities..

    Or maybe for some rich bastard who want's to be future proof :)
     
  4. d_mouse

    d_mouse Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF EVO 5700XT
    People who use workstations generally need all the RAM they can get
     

  5. zinc99

    zinc99 Master Guru

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850
    MS SQL 2014 has a new all RAM database system. A boat load of high speed RAM would be awesome for that.
     
  6. Cartman372

    Cartman372 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1660Ti
    Future proof? 32GB is still future proof, even 64GB is beyond future proof.

    I got 32GB back in 2012 and I still haven't even come close to utilizing 75% of it at once.
     
  7. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,396
    Likes Received:
    60
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Useful only for CAD & video editing otherwise for having a record in benchmarking...
     
  8. Valken

    Valken Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,933
    Likes Received:
    276
    GPU:
    Forsa 1060 3GB Temp GPU
    I would love it for a RAMDISK!
     
  9. Laci

    Laci Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti AUROS
    Well, same here..

    For a regular user, this amount of RAM in just insane. But on the other hand, professional user, who use it for Servers, like SQL Database, or even large SharePoint servers, they could us more than 64 GB of RAM with ease :)

    So I would say these are meant for professionals or hardcore enthusiasts.
     
  10. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,203
    Likes Received:
    2,516
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    For those of you saying this is for servers - no, it isn't. You don't put 3GHz of un-buffered non-ECC RAM in a server, that's just stupid in most cases. Also as far as I'm aware, the HyperX series was never intended for servers. Gamers obviously don't need anywhere near this much - 8GB is enough for just about any game as long as you don't run many background tasks. But if you have AV or a knack for multitasking, 12GB is a safe maximum for games.

    That being said, this memory is really only "useful" for workstations. Unless you use RAM disks or virtual machines, no workstation is going to need 128GB, and 3GHz isn't necessary. If you honestly think that whatever task you're doing will take up that much memory, you either have very poor task management or your software has a memory leak.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2015

  11. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,073
    Likes Received:
    2,955
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    hear hear.
     
  12. EspHack

    EspHack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    128
    GPU:
    ATI/HD5770/1GB
    future proof? I'd say by the time you start using 50% of it, it will be useless, DDR6 will sweep the floor with it even having a quarter of the memory
     
  13. Megabiv

    Megabiv Master Guru

    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX980Ti SLI (h²o)
    Obviously haven't used many scientific applications then. Ansys software would eat that up easily and the workstation used at work currently has 128GB for this reason.

    Everyday users, no this is completely pointless. Servers again wouldn't ever use this but powerful workstations sure as hell could use this.
     
  14. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,073
    Likes Received:
    2,955
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    Source?

    All scientific applications I heard so far using clasters of servers.
    What kind of application would it be to run on single machine and use up to 128GB of RAM.
    Unless there some crazy Virtual Machines running within, it just doesn't make sense.
     
  15. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    639
    GPU:
    5700XT / GTX1070
    Ram drive.
     

Share This Page