1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kernel memory leaking' Intel processor design flaw forces Linux, Windows redesign

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by zero_cool, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    4,290
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You mean that article is written metaphorically?
    Sentence "map to address space of a process" is pretty much technical one, so when Wiki writes "operating systems map physical memory, kernel processes, and other running user space processes into the address space of every process" I perceive it technically and not metaphorically. I am sure that operating systems do not map every user space processes into each other address spaces.
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  2. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,983
    Likes Received:
    633
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    That's an OS level micro-code update. According to information from Intel themselves, a firmware level update is necessary and firmware is never altered by Windows Update for liability reasons.

    The microcode update changes how the processor itself functions. According to Intel, that has to be done at the firmware level, not OS level, to be a proper fix. It would be a massive liability issue for MS if Windows Update were to start modifying hardware in such a manor. Even Linux doesn't alter the firmware level CPU microcode.
     
  3. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    .
    OS level microcode is better then no BIOS microcode update at all, which will happen to most affected products (who will update the bios for nehalem and sandy bridge motherboards? no-one)
     
  4. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,983
    Likes Received:
    633
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    If there's no bios update released, you're right. However, if Intel sees no reason to update the microcode for those processors, no updated microcode will exist at all.
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    4,290
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    There is no difference how updated microcode is loaded to CPU. It can be uploaded at computer boot stage from/by BIOS, and it can be loaded at OS boot stage from/by OS. After updated microcode is loaded to CPU it starts to work. CPU is not changed, its microcode stays there, it just being replaced (may be parts) at every boot.

    PS I mean that updated microcode is not flashed to CPU, it is just loaded there at boot.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
  6. Darkiee

    Darkiee Master Guru

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    1080 Ti
    Well, i think i´m abit lost, but i´ll quote this, and go with that.

    How lost am i, if i say, that the fix should come from OS? Atleast for older cpu´s. (Sandy here)
    And my Bios is from 2012, i do not think, Asus will push a new bios for this board, since it´s just 160e board.

    Did i get it right, that you can "mod" a bios with correct "stuff" to get things right, or was that just a wishfull thinking?

    And, well, i´m kinda lost, since this above my abilities; what do you mean, if Intel sees no reason to update older architecture? Does that mean i´m pretty scewed?

    Cheers in advance.
     
  7. unlimited

    unlimited New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 550TI
    CPU flaw fixes
    KB4056898 for Windows 8.1
    KB4056897 for Windows 7 SP1

    Win10 without fix

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 6.0.0 x64 (C) 2007-2017 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : https://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
    * KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes

    Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 555.392 MB/s
    Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 525.471 MB/s
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 404.612 MB/s [ 98782.2 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 370.375 MB/s [ 90423.6 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 271.282 MB/s [ 66231.0 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 214.418 MB/s [ 52348.1 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 30.821 MB/s [ 7524.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 66.149 MB/s [ 16149.7 IOPS]

    Test : 1024 MiB [C: 15.8% (37.5/238.0 GiB)] (x5) [Interval=5 sec]
    Date : 2018/01/04 11:59:02
    OS : Windows 10 [10.0 Build 14393] (x64)

    Win10 with fix

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 6.0.0 x64 (C) 2007-2017 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : https://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
    * KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes

    Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 557.153 MB/s
    Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 527.779 MB/s
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 405.077 MB/s [ 98895.8 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 332.007 MB/s [ 81056.4 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 274.843 MB/s [ 67100.3 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 218.715 MB/s [ 53397.2 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 30.767 MB/s [ 7511.5 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 66.389 MB/s [ 16208.3 IOPS]

    Test : 1024 MiB [C: 15.8% (37.5/238.0 GiB)] (x5) [Interval=5 sec]
    Date : 2018/01/05 17:21:09
    OS : Windows 10 [10.0 Build 14393] (x64)
     
  8. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    Omg! thank you so much @Tomatone . I downloaded bios file and did write/copy the instructions to a notepad, also bookmarked video. I don't have any working Usb Stick now (i have an old one but it's not working all the time, so i don't wanna risk this with it), but i called my friend, he will come here tomorrow night with 2 usb sticks and will help me for updating your edited bios. Thank you so much for this!

    And i have a question if you have time. Why my code is showing 22 instead of 23? I just checked UBU also on my C hdd (it took some time but i managed to make it work, i had to download a file and rename it to mmtool.exe.

    And when i checked the option 7 "update intel cpu microcode" > "Update cpu microcode haswell ..." on UBU, it only gives me max "version 22 - 27-01-2017" >>> https://i.imgur.com/YNbDkWI.png . No 23 option there...

    When i use "s" "Search for available microcode in DB" it gives me 23 there in the list >>> https://i.imgur.com/vjeGLJf.png

    And WMware method gave me also 22... > https://i.imgur.com/J3HdtIl.png
    Also RW read and write utility shows 22 > https://i.imgur.com/O1NdaKg.png

    I used "microcode-20171117.tgz" from intel website. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/27337/Linux-Processor-Microcode-Data-File?v=t

    What am i missing here please? This is so confusing for me. I really want to know what i am doing wrong or did wrong.

    Thanks again for your time!

    edit: i slowly begin to understand what is going on. I am really noob sorry. https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/intel-microcode/3.20171215.1
    sig 0x000306c3, pf_mask 0x32, 2017-11-20, rev 0x0023, size 23552

    edit2: and nightmare... http://www.overclock.net/t/1645289/...mance-and-stability-differences#post_26534561
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    4,290
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You can mod BIOS with stuff (and not only CPU microcode, but other UEFI modules/drivers). You can even load updated CPU microcode from Windows. Problem is - will Intel release updated CPU microcode for older CPUs?
     
    Darkiee likes this.
  10. Darkiee

    Darkiee Master Guru

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    1080 Ti
    Okay, so while beeing, i´ll just wait patiently, and keep reading. Ty.
     

  11. user1

    user1 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    427
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Darkiee likes this.
  12. unlimited

    unlimited New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 550TI
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
  13. Darkiee

    Darkiee Master Guru

    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    1080 Ti
    And this is, "IF" they push a microcode update?
     
  14. user1

    user1 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    427
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    yes, sandy bridge is EOL, only reason i think they may do it, is the shear number of people still using sandy and ivy era hw, both businesses and regulars consumers.

    they should really patch all of their former cpus, all the way back to the pentium 3 for safety's sake, you'd be surprised how many critical systems (government especially) depend on dinosaur hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
    airbud7 likes this.
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    4,290
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070

  16. Tomatone

    Tomatone Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 580 8GB
    @Sergio That version of UBU don't have microcode 23 in and when you add that file in UBU you need to edit/add some lines in Sel1150.bat. Just download this UBU version and add MMTool.exe in and you are redy to edit your bios.
     
    Sergio likes this.
  17. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,983
    Likes Received:
    633
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Whether it's done through OS or firmware updates, the CPU manufacturer is directly responsible for microcode updates. The only way for updated microcode to exist, is for Intel, AMD or ARM to create and distribute it.
     
  18. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    Thank you so much @Tomatone and @mbk1969 . I know now what to do. Again, thank you so much for everything and for your times.
     
  19. The Goose

    The Goose Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    Evga 1080FTW
    Well...i dont use a vm, never tried and probably will never need to but thx for the info
     
  20. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,528
    Likes Received:
    320
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    looks more complicated then i like I give it look when all this stuff is released, i rather the micro code be pushed threw windows update cause last i checked it did come threw that it just rare, I remeber that coming threw on my i7 920 system a few times. there or there can be no mistake on my end that could cause issues. I really not looking forward to any BIOS updates to fix this if all is needed is the micro code update.

    seeing as I use VM this is something I will keep an eye on.


     

Share This Page