Just did raid 0 m2 ssds

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by Volteron, Mar 1, 2021.

  1. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    Hi I just raid 0 2 samsung 970 evo plus drives but my performance seems very low?

    When I saw it on youtube the read and write was almost double, but mine seem to be almost the same speed as a single ssd, what am i doing wrong?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ocsystem

    ocsystem Member Guru

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI1070Ti
    doesn't seem its running in raid. double check bios. what MB?
     
  3. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    Rog strix x299 egaming, I made the raid 0 stripe in bios set to raid mode, just seems slow.
     
  4. Caesar

    Caesar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    523
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    ....you used the EZ Tuning Wizard (F11)?

    ...you need to select "Super Speed" which is RAID 0
    ---------------------------
    BIOS :
    Version 3201
    2020/11/06 - FIXES SOME ISSUES

    ----------------------------
    Intel(R) Virtual RAID on CPU Driver V6.2.0.1239 DRIVERS
    ----------------------------

    CHECK
     

  5. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    Don't I need a vroc key for that?

    Just using the 2 m2 ssd slots atm, don't have a asus pcie card.
     
  6. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    Heres the video, its defo not working properly, same drives double the speed?

     
  7. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx Master Guru

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    HD7700
    Looks like you are running those 2 drives in PCIe 3 X 2 lanes mode instead of by 4 mode. You have to be careful when setting up something like this that you are you not creating some kind of shared resource restriction.
     
  8. Volteron

    Volteron Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    2080ti sli
    With a 44 lane cpu?

    update just found this in intel rst software.

    This has to be a driver problem now right?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2021
  9. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 FE
    I am curious what application you use benefits from 6gig vs 3gig of io bandwidth.

    Your issue is likely due to a bus bandwidth limit.
     
  10. Truder

    Truder Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT Nitro+
    Are you sure you've set up your SSDs to use the CPU pcie lanes? You need to check your motherboards documentation to see which m.2 bays use CPU PCIE lanes. Perhaps you've got one on CPU and one on chipset (though technically speaking, it shouldn't be an issue unless you have many other devices running on the chipset).

    Otherwise, it could indeed be a bus limitation.
     
    386SX likes this.

Share This Page