Just Cause 3 Engine Incompatible with SLI/CFX ?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 2, 2015.

  1. BlueRay

    BlueRay Master Guru

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Nvidia has nothing to do with is. Blame the stupid Devs for not making support multi gpus. There are gameworks games with no problems with multi gpus setups. It's just another crap made ported title from lazy devs.
     
  2. Hughesy

    Hughesy Master Guru

    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Twin Frozr 980
    JC2 and Mad Max both supported SLI-CFX, it's the same engine so this comment from Nvidia is bull.

    Exactly, such a weird comment for Andrew to come out with...
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  3. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,688
    Likes Received:
    5,172
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Wow, reading so much rubbish in this thread that simply is put in there to blame somebody for stuff not even related to a GPU vendor.

    On another note, is it even possible to program such a patch to incorporate multi gpu use into an engine that doesn't have it yet? That sounds like a big problem, and that they would have to go back to basically the start of development and incorporate any cfx/sli support. I'm not really counting on a dev to go back that far, invest hundreds of hours of work from multiple people into coding, when they are probably more concerned about dlc season pass crap.

    So I don't really have high hopes for any changes in multi gpu support, unless it's somewhat emulated by the driver (which I don't know if even possible).

    Hmm actually true, but of course, what else should he say if not the truth, that the dev didn't include multi gpu support? The only other thing would have been to not say anything, and we would expect an SLI mode or CFX support and blame drivers for it... which wouldn't be right, in this case.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  4. Relayer

    Relayer Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RX3870 512
    So an nVidia guy blames the game engine, which obviously does support MGPU and that makes it so?

    If nVidia doesn't want any blame in this they need to quit associating themselves with these crappy Devs. GE titles seems to work fine with everyone's GPU's. Single or multi.

    And I agree with the post that says quit buying these games until they are out and patched. That's the only way the Devs will stop doing this.
     

  5. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    511
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    just if you haven't read all the article:

    it is incompatible with AMD crossfire too...

    so should we avoid AMD too and stay with intel IGP for this ? lol
     
  6. AndreasGuido

    AndreasGuido Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,986
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Dammit Nvidia, coming here, taking our SLI!

    But on a serious note, we should stop buying those raw games on release.
     
  7. Pretty much PC needs such an old thing... as DEMO versions back... They must release a example stage for testing things out. Usually the final game doesn't differ that much.

    Kojima did good with Metal Gear Ground Zeroes, that actually acted as such thing. A fine example, how to make proper game engine and debug it... Buying Phantom Pain was pretty much safe.
     
  8. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    383
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    GameWorks has nothing to do with this not having multi GPU support. At the moment the truth is that multi-GPU rendering is a badly working hack in DX9-DX11. I learned my lesson with dual GTX 680's.
     
  9. Barry J

    Barry J Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    RTX2080 TRIO Super
    I agree bring back the demo
     
  10. bigfutus

    bigfutus Master Guru

    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti
    Here we go again, bad Nvidia, bad! It's cold and rainy outside, i am pretty sure its Nvidia's fault :D
     

  11. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    Ideally, Nvidia should make it mandatory to support multiple GPUs in their Gameworks/sponsored titles, so should AMD.
    Microsoft should also make it mandatory for DirectX 12 games to utilize multiple GPUs if present.
    Also, it would be great if the next generation of consoles was based on multiple GPUs so developers will have to code for those anyway and will have no excuse for not supporting multi GPU on the PC.

    In addition to that, developers should get their act together and make sure their engines and games are properly optimized on the PC and support a wide variety of available technology.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  12. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,122
    Likes Received:
    319
    GPU:
    6800 XT
    So they dropped the support from the engine or something got borked? :D Since I have no clue why would they drop the support for multi-gpu with avalanche 3.0 vs 2.0 and whatever was used for Mad Max.
     
  13. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,323
    Likes Received:
    6,097
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Its an Nvidia who promoted this games a gameworks, SLI, 4K gaming tittle. They should've known that engine isnt supporting multi GPU's.

    They even released SLI profile in new drivers and game still dont support SLI. Talking about false advertising.
     
  14. gUNN1993

    gUNN1993 Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GTX 670 Windforce 3
    Is it even possible to make an engine incompatible with SLI/X-fire? SLI is a DX thing isn't? so what has the engine got to do with it, clearly the engine is compatible because JC2 and Mad Max both support it.

    What he clearly meant is that they haven't got a driver profile sorted yet, which is more likely to be Avalanche's problem connected with the shoddy state of the release.

    The release itself is confusing, Mad Max is one of the bests ports of the last decade so it kind of implies Avalanch put more effort into a game they were contracted for than their own IP.
     
  15. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Game just needs a patch for multi gpu from the game developers, but sure blame nvidia, seems to be an awful trend here.
     

  16. EL1TE

    EL1TE Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    GTX1080 SH X 2.1GHz
    He's right tho, and it's funny that pretty much every Gameworks gme does have issues, let's see, Fallout 4, no SLI support at launch (poor guys didn't had time), Arkham Knight (cought), Just Cause 3 no SLI.

    The way i see it, things are going downhill, i haven't seen a Beta or performance drivers in ages, people were much happier back then (go check old threads).

    This won't stop me from buying nVIDIA, but this is stopping me from pre-ordering games and even buying. :bang:

    Fallout 4 didn't receive a patch for SLI, but in the latest nVIDIA Driver they added an SLI profile, i guess it says a lot.

    Even if it's not supported they could somewhat emulate it which would result in less performance but would still be better than one GPU, similar to what AFR2 did to Fallout 4 and people said the game didn't support SLI.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  17. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,688
    Likes Received:
    5,172
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Did they really? Not trying to flame bait but I didn't follow the news and ads prior to the game launch, so I don't know.


    What most people are right about, don't preorder, don't buy season passes until you really get something for it, and don't buy games on day 1. Have been doing this for years now, and at least I got to play the games I wanted with at least a few patches afterwards, and they just worked.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  18. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  19. baasgene

    baasgene Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Asus 3080 Tuf OC
    It's sad, but this is the reason that I never do SLI/CFX anymore. Fact is most of the console ports will either have bad or no support for multi setups. So I just buy the best single gpu of every gen.
     
  20. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,629
    Likes Received:
    3,182
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    The amount of dumb in this thread is mind boggling.

    Gameworks has nothing to do with SLI. Newer deferred rending techniques that use previous frame data to generate next frame data essentially kills AFR multi-GPU setups because neither card has the others previous frame.

    There are ways around this but it requires low level reshuffling of components and the developer itself to spend a ton of time getting it working across multiple GPU architectures and vendors. DX12 has a few tricks for handling this and as DX12 becomes mainstream, it should help alleviate some of these issues.

    In the mean time though, deferred rending significantly speeds up render time on single card setups -- which is a far larger group than SLI/Crossfire users. Pretty much every newer UE4 game will be this way as well -- so you should probably get used to it.

    That's weird.

    http://www.geforce.com/games-applications/pc-games/just-cause-3

    Clearly doesn't show SLI, but I guess it's fun making stuff up, which has become par for the course for you.

    It's not an engine problem, it's a rendering pipeline problem. There are UE4 games that disable deferred rendering and also have SLI/Crossfire support. In this case JC3 is using rendering techniques that aren't compatible.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015

Share This Page