It's true. 8800GTS is a perfect Quadro now (3DSMAX9 ONLY!!!)

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by Bluefirexp, Apr 11, 2007.

  1. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Again, it's true- at this time only for 3dsmax. Big THX to Unwinder for his hint in one of the previous threads ;)

    The typical slowdowns/hangs (a protection, which Nvidia added to the OpenGL API to stop softquadroing) don't exist in D3D (yet) - however, they are still present in OGL. So that means i could not disable this protection at this time. That's why Specviewperf and OGL appz would crash your system after the mod- so don't run it/them. ... But as Maxtreme is now built on D3D, there is no problem for 3dsmax 9 users.

    How-To of the mod will not be posted here due to possible BigBrother watching and integration of new protections. But all you need is just RivaTuner, some drivers, "search" and a little... thinking ;)

    and if you figure how-to, just..pssst. Don't spread it or you loose it...

    Stay tuned for benchmark comparison with and without Maxtreme 9 driver. Benchmarks will be bmark4 and later SpecAPC.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  2. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Normal 8800GTS Mode:

    =================================================
    Video Card: Core2@3200_stock8800GTS 640MB
    Display Type:1280x1024
    Driver Version: 100.87

    D3D Setting: !!!DISPLAY ALL TRIANGLES DEACTIVATED!!!


    File Name | FPS
    =================================================
    4viewports.MAX | 85.3242
    8direct.MAX | 641.026
    8omni.MAX | 555.556
    8spot.MAX | 533.333
    blitting.MAX | 1116.07
    dualplanes.MAX | 1137.44
    geometry1.MAX | 436.681
    geometry2.MAX | 255.973
    multitex.MAX | 7.70119
    rasterize.MAX | 633.714
    textured1.MAX | 479.846
    textured2.MAX | 157.048
    textured3.MAX | 206.441
    transpar.MAX | 320.102

    wireframe1.MAX | 24.6144
    wireframe2.MAX | 23.5868

    Comp High: 202.83
    Comp Low: 206.061


    FX4600 Mode with Maxtreme D3D running perfectly:

    =================================================
    Video Card: Core2@3200_stock8800GTS 640MB@FX4600
    Display Type:1280x1024
    Driver Version: 100.87

    D3D Setting: !!!DISPLAY ALL TRIANGLES DEACTIVATED!!!


    File Name | FPS
    =================================================
    4viewports.MAX | 108.46 ~+27%
    8direct.MAX | 609.756
    8omni.MAX | 583.09
    8spot.MAX | 533.333
    blitting.MAX | 1096.89
    dualplanes.MAX | 1104.97
    geometry1.MAX | 417.246
    geometry2.MAX | 249.377
    multitex.MAX | 7.53864
    rasterize.MAX | 688.231 ~+8.6%
    textured1.MAX | 564.759 ~+17.7%
    textured2.MAX | 174.14 ~+10.9%
    textured3.MAX | 216.263
    transpar.MAX | 363.901 ~+13.7%

    wireframe1.MAX | 34.0406 ~+38.4%
    wireframe2.MAX | 32.1612 ~+36.2%

    Comp High: 219.753 ~+8.3%
    Comp Low: 225.358 ~+9.4%
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  3. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    Good work! :thumbup:
    Too bad a lot of us are not using Max and still depend on OpenGL based software... :(
     
  4. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Autocad 2008 would also benefit from the mod, as it's D3D too. (when Powerdraft for 2008 comes out)

    I'll try to fix OpenGL when i come home today- i think i maybe did a lil mistake (NVStrapantiprotection is not needed i guess)...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007

  5. okmijun

    okmijun Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7900GTO
    Bluefire, can you bench it w/"D3D Setting: !!!DISPLAY ALL TRIANGLES ACTIVATED!!!"
    as it is much faster, just for measuring w/other cards.
    Yeah!
     
  6. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    @okmijun

    When activating this setting (i don't do this, as it makes it much harder for my eyes to work in scenes with many polygons), there is no real diffenrence between Maxtreme and normal D3D anymore: but both become a lot faster, yes. Maxtreme is just 0-5% faster when activating all triangles compared to the normal D3D driver.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  7. Leonid

    Leonid Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bluefirexp
    Open RivaTuner RegEditor,then "OpenGL"->"OGL_App_SupportBits" and set bit 6 to 1. It's reconfigured GPU before OpenGL starts to specific mode and must be pervent OGL hangs and crashs on SoftQuadro GeForce. (Not tested on 8800).
    Try it, but remember, with "bit 6" ForceWare speed optimization for Quadro has disabled.
     
  8. dapperdan

    dapperdan Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    softquadro 5900XT

    I'm using 3dsmax everyday. Maybe more then 6 hours a day. Maya and Rhino sometimes (5 or 6 hours per week), less then photoshop or word. :D

    Anyway, interesting news !!!

    Bluefirexp, I woul appreciate a email with the trick. I mean, can you give me the solution to use it as a quadro. I'll go to buy one in a week or so.

    Many thx

    my mail : umaxmail@gmail.com
     
  9. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Hmm, the bad thing is, RT gives an error that it "can't find the database for Forceware 388.02" and it also can't find a closest version. So i have no acces to OpenGL in the Power user tab...I tried it with the 97.78 (which has FX4600 nd FX5600 support) driver also but it's the same problem...97.44 is the last database in RT, so i'll try with it. I will try with an earlier driver also but this might give some performance loss...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2007
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,113
    Likes Received:
    184
    388.02? Seeing that 38802 decimal is 9792 hexadecimal, I can guess than you used ForceDriverVersion and entered 9792 hexadecimal instead of 9792 decimal. If you're editing value in hexadecimal system, enter 2640 instead ;)
     

  11. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    seems i was drunk yesterday when i did that! thanks! :grad:
     
  12. weston

    weston Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 275
    why do workstation cards work so much better than their gaming counter parts if they are essentially the same piece of hardware? That's crazy because the workstation cards are twice as expensive at least!
     
  13. Infested Nexus

    Infested Nexus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon™ HD 8850M
    ....​
     
  14. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    @Leonid

    setting bit 6 to 1 was successful here on my 8800 - and yes, OGL performance is not faster than GeForce then...

    But my bigger problem are the spontaneous reboots which i'm getting after the mod. They can happen even when the system is idle...My system is highly overclocked but completely stable without the mod. Strange things.
     
  15. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    The real answer to that question is because the NVIDIA & ATI disable hardware acceleration on certain operations which are not used in gaming and increase precision on some operations which are needed for pro applications but not noticable in games.
    By doing that they easily create a "new product". The increased cost is due to several reasons:
    - hardware manufacturers are required to follow very strict guidelines when manufacturing pro cards (they are requred to use better quality components)
    - each driver revision undergoes expensive certification (=bug fixing) for a lot of the popular pro applications.
    - the user support for professional video cards is far better - they actually listen carefully to customer complaints when a bug is reported and try to fix it ASAP (on gaming cards, the support is much more relaxed)
     

  16. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    i need an old version of RT (maybe RC12.3) which still has the SoftQuadro Antiprotection scripts for OGL. I can't find the backup CD with my old versions...Maybe someone of you could share a link?
     
  17. dapperdan

    dapperdan Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    softquadro 5900XT
  18. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    thx!:)
    but am i blind or do i just believe there were SQ antiprotection scripts included in this version? I don't see them in the patchscript folder...? I need more old version it seems..or maybe i already haluzinate and there never was such script
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  19. INGINE

    INGINE Master Guru

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Quadro 2800m
    send me the stuff at (email removed)
    testing Vista at the current time....
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011
  20. dapperdan

    dapperdan Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    softquadro 5900XT
    there was a SQ4 script that changes mini.sys if I remember and you can surely find it in the 14.3 package but you are probably talking about something else.
    google for it, it still exist on the web.
     

Share This Page