It's time to upgrade but should I take the green pill or the red?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Redawgc187, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,413
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    ATI drivers aren't terrible, they just aren't as good as Nvidia's ones, they just tend to have less features, and are abit slow with game support, but in my experience they actually work better with an HDTV and a refresh rate of 23.976.

    I'm round sorting issues for my mate and his 4870 every week or so, and its rarely a problem with ATI drivers, and the one who has a 5870 has yet to even mention an issue.

    So many of these threads seem to just be full of people repeating the same stuff over and over....
    "Don't get a 5870, the drivers suck" or "Don't get a GTX480, its hotter than the sun"

    If ATI drivers were that bad, they would have people defecting in the tens of thousands daily, and if the new Nvidia cards were as too hot, then no one would buy them.

    We all know Nvidia has better drivers, and we all know ATI have cooler cards, no point repeating the same info over and over.

    Sat night rant over :wanker:

    Edit: TruMutton_200Hz ah, well, no idea how well it works though, but didn't know that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2010
  2. IPlayNaked

    IPlayNaked Banned

    Messages:
    6,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFire 7950 1200/1850
    For the record, I don't know that Nvidia has better drivers, I see no stability improvements. And I came from a Crossfire system, so that's saying something.

    Empire's campaign screen no longer flickers as they did in crossfire, but the movement arrows in King Arthur do.

    In fact, I'm not sure if its related or not, but after switching drivers from the old ones to the newer betas, Crysis and Demigod not only refuse to start, but insta-crash the entire computer on launch. I've yet to figure out that one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2010
  3. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,413
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Never said anything about stability, just quicker support for new games, and more features.
     
  4. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I would say it's very common knowledge that nvidia has, at least for the last 5 yrs, had better driver support than ATI...:)
     

  5. TruMutton_200Hz

    TruMutton_200Hz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    820M/2GB
    This is how I got it to work in Windows 7:

    In Nvidia Control Panel, navigate to Display | Change Resolution and click the Add Resolutions button, then the Create Custom Resolution button, then the small button labelled 'Timing'. Select manual timing and enter the following:

    active pixels horizontal: 1920 | vertical: 1080
    front porch horizontal: 638 | vertical: 4
    sync width horizontal: 44 | vertical: 5
    total pixels horizontal: 2750 | vertical: 1124
    polarity horizontal: positive | vertical: positive
    refresh rate: 23.978

    Now click the Test button and you should be able to complete it.

    Note: Most likely, your 32 bit color modes will disappear from your list of resolutions but you can correct that by adding them back manually as additional custom resolutions and 24.000 Hz will also disappear but you can correct that by removing all of the custom resolutions that you've made (using the small red cross buttons).

    It's a little McGyver-ish but at least I'll live... :D

    That link was posted here on guru3d forums a while ago but I can't remember by who. Anyway, that's how I found out about it myself.
     
  6. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,413
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Cheers, gave that a try, but no success, will still report 24.00 to 24.04 in ReClock, while my friends 4870 will show up as 23.976 95% of the time.

    Not a huge biggie, as ReClock sorts it anyway.
     
  7. TruMutton_200Hz

    TruMutton_200Hz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    820M/2GB
    That's probably a known bug in ReClock. Try opening a 23.976 movie in MPC-HC and then hit CTRL+J to see what the first number in the upper left corner reports.
     
  8. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,413
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    The first number is the framerate of the video though, im talking about the refresh rate of the card.

    In my experience with ATI cards it will report 23.97 in MPC HC and ReClock, but Nvidia its usually around 24.01, this can be fixed by ReClock or with MPC-HC, just always annoyed me that it had to be fixed.

    Sorry for going too off-topic guys, but im sure some people may want to use either vendors cards as some sort of HTPC, so might be good for some to know.
     
  9. Redawgc187

    Redawgc187 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 470 X3
    Well here is what I have decided on. I really only chose gtx 465 because of physx, folding,DX11 and cuda. If nvidia gtx 465 still has issues when hooked up to an HDTV through HDMI like my 8800 GTX did. It would only display 4 resolutions where as ati would work on all resolutions. I might return it for a refund and go with an Ati 5850. The new EVGA mobo looks sweet I'll include the links so you can check them out.

    EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-KR LGA 1366 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

    EVGA 01G-P3-1465-AR GeForce GTX 465 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5

    Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

    OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Voltage

    CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-1000HX 1000W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2010
  10. gescom

    gescom New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro FX1800

    The funniest part is that you're asking what to buy in nvidia forum!? Lol.
     

  11. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Mate Physx and CUDA aren't worth a damn....
     
  12. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    Ya know, if the resolutions are bugging you and the "Custom Resolution" thing isn't working for you:

    - Open up regedit
    - search for "nv_modes" (without the "")
    - insert your resolution
    - reboot

    It's basically the same as editing the inf file prior to installing the drivers, this is the same registry value that's located in the inf file. When working it's also the same as the custom resolution option, it just adds resolutions in there. The only difference it that it requires a reboot.
     
  13. theimported1

    theimported1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti SLI on EK Blocks
    That looks like a decent board, they must have just put it up there.
    Mem looks good.
    CPU looks good.
    PSU looks nice.
    465 I dunno.
    Get the 470 or 5850 5870 if you have that extra little bit of cash, it is worth it.
    If you plan on doing SLI, which by you buying that board it seems likely get the 470, they have GREAT scaling.
    Just make sure you have sufficient cooling.
     
  14. Redawgc187

    Redawgc187 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 470 X3
    Actually I posted in ati and nvidia section lol to much fanboyism these days.
     
  15. Redawgc187

    Redawgc187 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 470 X3
    I had to go with the GTX 465 due to money I felt the mobo cpu ram as a given since I upgrade video cards quite often will prolly have to upgrade on the next round either fermi refresh or ati 6000 series.
     

  16. Redawgc187

    Redawgc187 Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 470 X3
    Cool will definatley give that a go sold my 8800 gtx as I could find no way to make it work right with my 52 in samsung plasma hdtv only 4 resolution would display. 1080p and 720p where ati renders all the way down to 640 X 480
     
  17. theimported1

    theimported1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti SLI on EK Blocks
    That makes perfect sense then. Should be quite a fun setup.
     
  18. RS-X

    RS-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 2060
    There was only one question "Which card to buy?" And we have 4 pages of which is better?

    Still I think You should go for ATI. If not go with NV and call it over.
     
  19. TruMutton_200Hz

    TruMutton_200Hz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    820M/2GB
    I know that but the first number will report a constant 23.976 if your card runs at 23.976. If not, the number will be either different or unstable.
    ReClock changes the framerate of the video though, I'm talking about the refresh rate of the card. :)
    The OP didn't say the pill won't be used to play any 23.976 fps movies on it at all. All I'm saying is that it's possible without judder on the green one too lol.
     
  20. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,413
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Yes, and it always does show 23.976 if the the original video is, its the refresh rate that shows 24.001.

    Yes, i know that, but without ReClock, the video will be 23.976, and the refresh rate willbe 24.001

    Maybe for you, but i cannot get ReClock or MPC-HC to show the Refresh rate of the card as 23.976, no matter if i pick the NV 23 or 24hz settings, or if i create a manual one, it will show as 24.001 or thereabouts with both app's.
     

Share This Page