Issue with 5600X i think?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by ATOJAR, Jun 25, 2021.

  1. ATOJAR

    ATOJAR Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Hey all,

    So i just upgraded to a 5600X from a i7 6700K.

    Started installing Insurgency Sandstorm and BOOM all system fans sound like they are going 100% ... System sounds like its about to take off.

    This happened for the whole 6 munities the game takes to download? Also the temp at over 76c?

    How can just installing a game make the CPU work that hard?

    Is something wrong?

    Also just to add i am running the stock cooler for now.

    Screenshot of AMD Ryzen Master below.

    https://imgur.com/a/JSmxouE
     
  2. WolfPT

    WolfPT Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 3070 GAMING X
    Have you checked the cooler mounting? Made sure there's enough thermal paste and it's spread evenly?
     
  3. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    3,621
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    What type of cooling are you using for the cpu?

    It took me a little while to get my head around how ryzen temps work, I ended up making a custom profile in the bios for the cpu fan so it's not so loud.. I found by default it ramps up and down very fast because the cpu temperature can fluctuate very very fast.. well.. at least faster than I am used to seeing with an FX chip.
     
    SplashDown likes this.
  4. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    1,741
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Sounds like you didn't install the CPU cooler correctly?
     

  5. ATOJAR

    ATOJAR Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Its the stock cooler that came with the chip that im using so the thermal paste came pre-applied, i mean i tightened the screws pretty tightly so im pretty sure the cooler is on correctly.

    I'm starting to think the cooler provided is just really poor and not quite up too the job.
     
  6. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    342
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Not normal that temperature goes up that high with the stock cooler while the CPU isn't even up at boost frequency speeds assuming that peak is for all cores.
    What are your idle temps?
     
  7. bobnewels

    bobnewels Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    168
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    It is normal operation when you install a PC Game the CPU will work harder.
    Set a fan curve in the BIOS for CPU . Stock CPU fan works up to 95°C according to AMD.

    I suggest the following but adjust to your own sound level comfort and there should be 4 CPU fan speeds you can set manually in BIOS

    1. 30% @ 55°C
    2. 40% @ 70°C
    3. 75% @ 80°C
    4. 100% @ 90°C

    AMD-Temp-Chart.jpg
     
  8. Smokey25

    Smokey25 Member Guru

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    GTX970 EVGA FTW+
    You probably didnt mount your cooler right

    The cooler is fine. You probably really didnt mount it correctly,make sure you put some good pressure on the backplate while mounting the cpu cooler,dont just lay it flat with no pressure behind it.
     
  9. Night Hope

    Night Hope Member Guru

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 8GB
    check your thermal paste correctly
     
  10. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Agree with KissShot mine was same till I adjusted my fan's curve. I'm using ASUS Crosshair VII Hero x470 and it acted same way till I adjusted.
     

  11. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,973
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    His 6/12 core CPU is at 76C while not doing that much and the fans are behaving how they should at 76C.
    Reducing fan speed will cause the CPU to get even hotter, not the solution he needs.

    The problem, the CPU is running too hot for the load.
    The cause will be either not good enough air flow through the case, too hot a room / case is recirculating hot air, or the CPU cooler is badly fitted. Possibly a mix.

    Also, it depends what the stock cooler is on the 5600x.
    The one that came with my 3600 was complete sh**, I spent £20 on a DEEP COOL GAMMAXX 400 V2 and cured its woes.
     
    Mineria likes this.
  12. Zooke

    Zooke Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    3090FE + EK Block
    The thermal paste thing is a bit of a red herring, unless you have only applied a minute amount then it will work.
    Misalignment is much more likely, I even had it happen myself with a motherboard monoblock and I am pretty careful with this stuff, although in my defence I followed the manufacturers instructions of tightening the die after the other screws securing the block which in my mind is stupid, get the cold plate on the die 1st.
    Tighten slightly via opposite corners, wobble it about, tighten a bit more, more wobbling, continue until done. Take your time, it's a 5 minute job to last potentially years.
    These chips do run hot though, I'd hate to think what my 5950x would be like without the loop.
     
  13. metagamer

    metagamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    903
    GPU:
    Palit GameRock 2080
    Potentially badly installed cooler. I'd double check that.

    I'm new to Ryzens myself but I'd definitely suggest you also tweak your CPU/case fan curves once all properly installed. By default, they'll be too loud. I've noticed this as even opening Steam or web browser or anything like that can cause a momentary heavy load on the CPU and fans will spin up. This will last for a few seconds and then the CPU will back down. By default, you'll have your CPU and case fans spin up way too much for no reason.

    I'm not sure if I explained it properly but basically, adjusting fan curves would be of benefit.
     
  14. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
    i dont know what wrong with this app, not showing numbers corectly. am using ASUS B550i mini itx wiht 5600x

    [​IMG]
     
  15. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    @akbaar you already flashed beta bios for your motherboard from 2nd July?
     

  16. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
    yes first thing i did when i got the motherboard

    is there any concerns ?
     
  17. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    298
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 SUP
    It's a Beta bios, means untested.
     
  18. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    Don't remember seeing this kind of issue, looks to me more like HW (sensors) issue.
     
  19. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    GPU:
    107001070
    yes it is,and no amount of bios tweaking will change the fact that it's absolutely inadequate except for running desktop work.
    it's worse than the 13 eur spartan LT

    [​IMG]

    edit: I just checked 5600x comes with stealth not spire,good grief,why even bother including it.even 3600x had spire.why would they downgrade the cooler if the cpu is both hotter and more expensive.
    get a proper cooler.

    I mean,people in this thread should get real,look at it
    how well do you think this is gonna do ?
    [​IMG]

    it's the same sh***y stealth except on a hotter cpu
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2021
    Mufflore likes this.
  20. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
    ya i didnt se anyone on rog forum had this strange issue, might be motherboard problem?

    should i try to clear CMOS ? iam so unlucky
     

Share This Page